Cowboy Jack & Jill

Last night was FUN.

My friends Dave and Leanne (or you may know her as “Uncle Leon” in the comments section of my blog) are getting maaaarried in a few weeks so last night was their Jack and Jill! (also known as a Stag and Doe, and possibly Stag and Drag?)

I don’t know if Jack and Jill’s are primarily a Canadian thing, but basically you rent a hall, invite a many people as possible, sell a ton of booze, raffle a ton of prizes, and host a ton of games, with the goal of helping the bride and groom make money for their wedding.

I LOVE Jack and Jill’s, mainly because it is a giant party with an awesome mix of people: grandmas, grandpas, aunts, uncles, family friends, and of course the younger crowd of the bride and groom’s friends.

High School Friends

Last night was like a childhood reunion for me.  Most of my good friends from high school were present (pictured above), as well as some rando’s thrown in who I haven’t seen in forever, some since elementary school!  It was a lot of fun catching up with them.

Before we hit up the J&J, Ando and I dropped by our friend Emily’s for a little barbecue dinner action.

Slider Burrrrgs

Slider burgers grilled up by Emily’s grillmaster boyfriend, and potato and Greek pasta salad that I brought along.  Those little burgers were gooood, and I scored a third without the bun that went unpictured.

Since the J&J was cowboy themed, we girls busted out our cowboy gear after dinner before heading to the party.

Cowgirls

There were some games going on, and I was looking forward to Musical Chairs all evening.  When it was finally time to play I was the FIRST ONE OUT.  I felt like the first person voted off Survivor.  Tres disappointing.  I probably would have shoved someone off their chair and stolen their seat had it not been the first round, but I felt it would have been a little over dramatic (though if the prize was food-related, I would have).  Ahh well, ya can’t win ’em all!

Ando thought the incident was quite humourous.

Ando and I

I also snagged another plate of food later on at the J&J…

Food Plate!

Those little chocolate chip cookies were amazing, and I ate at least four of them.  I couldn’t stay away!

I didn’t snap a pic of the lovely couple, so here

We didn’t clear out of there until about 2 am, and Alejandrew and I headed back to Emily’s for a sleepover and a little hot tub action.

After waking this morning a bunch of us headed out for a late breakfast at our old breakfast stomping grounds in our hometown.

The breakfast, and the price, haven’t changed since high school!

5 Dolla!

Sign me up!

Breaky

I am a big fan of going out for breakfast the morning after a night out.  I love rehashing the night, retelling the funny stories, and hearing about things that went down that I may have missed.  I am always laughing almost the entire way through breakfast.  Fun times.

Welp, I am off to enjoy my the rest of my Saturday.  I hope you all enjoy yours as well!

Later gators!

13 responses to “Cowboy Jack & Jill

  1. Looks like a great time. I’ve heard some of the most ridiculous stories from J&J parties!

  2. Wow, I’ve never heard of Jack and Jills! That sounds like a really cool idea, and it looks like you had a great time! Hope you have a great Saturday 🙂

  3. Hey chica!! I feel like a star to be featured in your blog!!! Thanks sooo much for coming 🙂 muah!

  4. Um, that bfast looks heavenly! I want to come to a jack and jill….I have never even heard of that. PS you look GORGEOUS!

  5. I’m a big fan of going out for breakfast too. Always makes the fun seem to last longer.

    And I have never heard of a jack and jill party. That is SUCH a great idea though! Wish we had done one for our budget wedding.

  6. Never heard of a jack and jill party – but what a good idea!! Looks like everyone had a fantastic time … and there is nothing better than a good breakfast the morning after.

  7. Doing breakfast after a long night is always so much fun! I love the cowgirl attire! It looks like you guys had a very fun night! 🙂

  8. That looks like such a blast! They look like quite the partiers 😉 hahaha
    I love Jack & Jills as well but I’m not sure if they are a Canadian thing. If they are, awesome! They’re usually just a drunken, game filled night.
    And going out for breakfast the next day is amazing. It always has to be some low-key place too. Everybody gets to soak their hangovers in greasy breakfast food together, my favourite 🙂

  9. Love Jack and Jill’s. They are more of a country than a city thang so I haven’t been to many. Ours was so much fun. I did love the mix of people. Even our boss was there! I think I also love them so much because they usually have finger foods, which I love!
    I CANNOT believe you were first out for musical chairs!! What happened?! I’m just going to pretend this didn’t happen, as it goes against everything I believe about you and your amazing random stuff awesomeness ability.
    Mark loves cheap and greasy breakfast. He is in search of one around our house and keeps suggesting all these dives I’m too afraid to go to. I do love morning after breakfast though! So fun!! We used to do that all the time in university. It was great!

  10. Pingback: Don & Marcia’s Tropical Jack & Jill | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

