Conehead Woes

So…it looks as though I may have a conehead.

Every time I try to wear a workout hairband/sweat band (are they still called sweat bands?!) it starts out all good above my forehead and then slowly works its way off of my head.

Every. Time.

I want to wear a band when I work out so badly, and I am so jealous when I see people successfully sporting these bands, but it never works out for me.

I have tried every kind.

The two black bands are just from Goody, and so far those have been the worst.  They slip off my head in seconds.  The green Lululemon band isn’t much better.  I have had mild success with the multicoloured Lulu one, because that one has rubber grip underneath.  I wore it on my 5k, but still had to put it back on twice as I was running, because it also slipped off.  Stupid bands.  Stupid conehead.

One time when our intern Mary was still working in our office (I MISS MARY!!! 😦 She was my partner in crime!), we were about to go take part in lunchtime yoga and she fixed me a band made of athletic tape to hold my hair back.

She assured me that all of the girls on her rugby team wore athletic tape on their heads while they were playing, and she had never seen one slip off (and rugby is ROUGH).

It worked better than any of the previously mentioned bands…but 20 minutes in (and remember this is just yoga), it was sloooooowly starting to slip off my head.  I looked over at Mary while in downward dog and she stared back at me, shocked.  She may have mouthed the word “freak” at me, but I can’t be sure.

Coneheads are severely unattractive, so I’d like to think that’s not why the bands are slipping off my head… although…

But I think it may also be because of my extremely fine and thin hair.  There is just no grip to it at all, and nothing for the band to hold onto.  I thought I was destined to never be able to wear a head band.

Until I heard of the BIC band (don’t get too excited, this story doesn’t have a happy ending just yet).

BIC Band

In following other blogs, I heard all about the BIC band craze.  Everyone, EVERYONE who has tried a BIC band says they stay put…for some people an entire marathon!

The website says:

B.I.C. Bands are headbands that will not slip~ (SERIOUSLY!) They are great for any workout, a trip to the coffee shop, going out with friends, work….
you name it, your B.I.C. Band will keep your hair looking FAB! They are headbands that stay in place and help others win their race!

Sounds pretty awesome, right?  Except for that bit about helping others win the race…shouldn’t it stay in place to help YOU win the race?  Anyway.

I was excited.  I thought maybe I had found the ticket out of my endless searching for a band that would stay in place on my conehead/slippery hair.  I was going to order one.

But then, a miracle happened, and I entered Alyssa @ Life of Blyss‘s BIC Band giveaway, and guess what?  I WON.

Sparkle Bic

I chose the pink sparkly BIC band, and anxiously awaited its arrival, thinking my days of having hair in my face were over.

It arrived, and I immediately put that sucker on and went for a run.

Excited for my Band!

And guess what?  It slipped off.  Not immediately.  In fact, it stayed on longer than probably any other band I’ve ever tried.  But still, it slowly slipped off my conehead/slippery hair.  Son of a…

I was disappointed.

Disappointment

What the frig?

So tonight I am doing an experiment.  I have boot camp tonight and I want to wear the band.  Last night I showered before I went to bed and braided my hair so that it would be “kinky” today.  I even put a bit of mousse in it to help it out.  I am hoping that this gives my hair a bit of texture and therefore more grip for the band.

That is my “I mean serious business face” so it better stay in place.

I am off to boot camp to check this out!  I will report back with my findings.

In the meantime…

I have a recipe for you!

I knew I didn’t have a lot of time tonight to make dinner, so I used my trusty slow cooker to create an easy and delicious dish!

Yummers

Crock Pot Santa Fe Chicken!  I originally say the recipe on Skinny Taste, but I made some changes to mine so it would be a little more like a soup.  You can click here to view the original recipe, and here is mine with my modifications:

Crock Pot Sante Fe Chicken

  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (mine had celery and green pepper added)
  • 1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 can low-sodium chicken broth (actually probably more than that for me, I had some in the fridge in a carton that I wanted to use up)
  • 1/2 – 1 cup salsa (I didn’t measure, so I’m just guessing here)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp hot red pepper flakes (to taste)
  • salt to taste

Combine everything in the crock pot.  I put my chicken breasts in frozen and then shredded them when I got home and added them back into the mix.

It was awesome!

I had a whole wheat English muffin on the side for dipping purposes.

Alright, off to boot camp!  Wish me luck!

Questions of the evening:

  • Do any of you have trouble getting workout bands to stay on your head?
    Please tell me I’m not alone!
  • If you do, have you found a brand that works?
27 responses to “Conehead Woes

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    HAHA! I remember being scarred by Conehead advertisements as a child. But not you– you make it work 😉

    If tonight fails, I would just bobby pin it. That pink sparkly band is just too cute to go to waste

  2. I really think you oughta try the pro wrap stuff again. You didnt tie it on your head, you tied it and them put it on, and that’s not how it works silly.

  3. I have this problem too but its because I have a big ol’ head and I stretch the damn things out! Maybe your hair is really shiny and healthy and that’s why they slip??? Not a bad thing if that’s the case!!

  4. I know the headband dilemma all too well. Seriously — with all the technology we have today, why can’t this be figured out? The one I find that stays though, is the braided headband from lulu.

    Unless I’ve jinxed it now.

  5. Since the bic bands are thinner (unlike the lulu’s)…maybe you could bobby pin it into place? I usually twist the front portion of my hair to the side, then pull the entire thing back into a tight ballerina bun – it’s a great workout hairdo because it keeps all of my thin hair in place where headbands leave it flying all over!

  6. You are so not alone… that’s why I don’t wear them!

  7. hahah! Even the BIC Band fell off! I bet it’d fall off my crazy head too. People probably make so much money in the headband industry because we keep buying them to find something that works. Maybe the braided, messy hair WILL help it stay… I hope it stays for at least your bootcamp class. 🙂

  8. I won Alyssa’s bic band giveaway too! That thing definitely stays on my head way better than any other one has. I think it’s only come off once. But, you are not alone! Usually the bands don’t work and I just wear a regular head band of some sort. The dinner looks awesome!

  9. Hahaha ❤ That pic of you as a conehead. Nothing short of amazing.
    I too can't wear headbands! Not only do they slip but they really tend to highlight the fact that my head is rather funny shaped… :/

    Sending you good hairband luck for your bootcamp!

  10. Sad! Can’t believe the BIC band didn’t stay on for you. I’ve heard so many good things about them. I use the plain black goody headbands and they seem to work fine for me. Ah, I hope you find one that you like soon!

  11. I’ve never tried a BIC band but I’d like to because I have trouble keeping head bands on my head while working out..

  12. Awesome pic..love your photoshop skills!! I can’t keep headbands on either. I feel like they should be no-fuss b/c when you mess with them so much it’s almost counter productive. I also blame it on my stupid thin hair that has no curls or waves!

  13. I am SO a cone head too. The only thing that works for me are bondi bands…but I will admit they aren’t the cutest things in the world.

  14. I definitely have a cone head. Every headband just slips off and looks ridiculous!! The only one that works even remotely well for me are the wide lululemon headbands, but even then I have to readjust them. I hold them in place with bobby pins too.

  15. Alyssa @ Life of bLyss

    IT BETTER stay on. I have super slippery soft hair, and mine always stay put!!!

    AND. tape? in your hair?! OOWWW?

  16. Uh, I have never found a headband that will stay on my head for more than 5 minutes, while sitting. I don’t even need to move and any head band ever will slip right off! Every now and then I will try to wear a headband and I find my self fixing literally every five minutes and then just feel stupid for looking like I need to fix my hair all of the time. I have solved my problem by simply giving up on headbands.

  17. Pingback: A Gnocchi Newbie | Happy or Hungry

  18. It looks like we’re soulmates in this area as well. Headbands NEVER stay put for me. And I don’t have not-grippy straight hair like you. I’m interested in this BIC band. Can I borrow yours for a day if it works?
    Maybe I will try the Lulu braided band that people were talking about too.

  19. Pingback: Last Day of Boot Camp (+ Healthy Milkshakes) | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

