A Gnocchi Newbie

Heyo.

I was so relieved to hear that I am not the only conehead out there who has trouble keeping headbands from squeezing off my head!  I’m not alone!

But I actually may not have as big of a conehead as I thought, and I think the problem may lie more with my fine, slippery hair. Last night my experiment worked!

Success!

As I posted on my Twitter and Facebook pages (yeah, a shameless self plug. I know you want to follow me), a little bit of grease in my hair, and texture from my overnight braid, was all it took. The BIC Band successfully stayed put all throughout my bootcamp class.

It barely slipped at all, and there was tons of jumping around going on. I was pumped, and felt much more confident than that time my hair elastic broke and I had to raw dog it with my hair down all casual Friday, throwing my head around like a stripper (which you may remember, gave me a huge kink in my neck the next day).

Carnival Eats

Today at lunchtime there was a hotel tradeshow going on in my building that included free lunch. Since I love free food, and any activity that includes a free lunch, I abandoned my leftover Santa Fe Chicken and wandered down with my coworker Beth to see what kind of eats were kicking around.

At the smaller lunch tradeshows, I can usually slip in, score a quick plate and a cookie, and slip back out, but this one was a big affair. There were 20 hotels there, and it was one of those tradeshows where you go around with a little “passport” and get the vendors to sign it. Only once it is signed can you enter into a draw, and then get your lunch.

I’ll do pretty much anything for a free lunch, so I hit up every booth, and listened to all their spiels. It took about 20 minutes but I left with this:

Free Lunch!

The food was carnival themed, and included hotdogs, slider burgers, corn dogs, potatoes (I don’t know why potatoes), macaroni salad, cole slaw (which I am not really a fan of), popcorn, cookies and cake pops.

Yummy Little Pop

Cake pops were definitely the highlight! I scored a cookie with that as well :).

I couldn’t clean my lunch plate. I don’t like to complain, especially not about food, and especially not about free food, but…it wasn’t great. Nearly everything was cold. The best food item may have been the corn dog, which I didn’t even think I would like.

Pretty unhealthy lunch also…but ah well, free lunches can’t always be the best lunches ever! After my weekend of treats though, this really needs to stop happening.

At least I got a bag of “swag”! (read: business cards and brochures)

Swag-Bag

Oh okay, and Malteaers, which I haven’t dug into just yet…

A Gnocchi Newbie

So I tried gnocchi tonight for the first time, which if you don’t know (and I didn’t really) is a little potato dumpling.

I saw gnocchi on sale in the grocery store over the weekend, and I’ve been meaning to try it out for a while, so I decided to pick some up.

Tonight I chose to make kind of a gnocchi pasta with a marinara veggie sauce topped with parmesan cheese.

Gnocchi Yumminess

I sautéed half a small yellow onion and two cloves of garlic with a teaspoon of olive oil, before adding a chopped red bell pepper and two handfuls of baby spinach. Once everything was cooked through, I added a jar of Prego pasta sauce and continued cooking until everything was nice and warm. I then added it to the gnocchi. And then I ate it.

Plate O' Gnocchi (looks kinda gross...but you guys like it)

I was a fan!  It was yummy and surprisingly (or maybe not surprisingly) filling…I once again could not completely clean my plate. Ando was a gnocchi newbie as well, and I think I turned him into a lover!

Welp, I’m off to watch The Walking Dead. Alejandrew and I started watching the first season last night and I am already hooked. It’s a bit on the scary side, but I like it! And apparently it makes TrueBlood look like iCarly (according to the promos, which made me laugh).

Questions of the Evening

  • Have you tried gnocchi, and are you a fan?
  • How far have you gone to score free food?
15 responses to “A Gnocchi Newbie

  1. I love gnocchi! I also bought it one time on sale at the grocery store….but with mine I bought a wee little jar of pesto sauce and threw in some feta cheese. It was yum-tastic! 🙂

  2. I love gnocchi! I haven’t ever made it for myself though, I may need to change that when it starts to get cold out (that’s when I prefer to eat pasta). Glad the headband stayed last night!!

  3. I am a fan of gnocchi (and the cute little illustration you made with it ;))…and for free food, there are a lot of things I’ll do. The Healthy Living Summit was great for free food…also a big Costco gal for the samples. 😉

  4. Walking Dead, so good.

    Some of the best Zombies out there, including movie zombies! You will love it! I am dying for season two to start!

  5. I have no idea what I did to my gnocchi, but it was so nasty! 😦 I tried it for the first time Monday night. Mine was pumpkin flavored and I thought I would love it. 😦 What should I do to make them better? Did you boil or bake them?

    • I boiled them like pasta! The best part was they only took 3 minutes. I also boiled them in salted water, which may have helped the taste. Prob should have mentioned that. They reminded me of little perogies, without the cheese in the middle. Andrew said next time I make them I should sauté with onion and bacon and then add cheese and sour cream. I’m sure that would be pretty delicious.
      Maybe it was the pumpkin flavour that ruined it for you 🙂

      • I boiled them too! They were sooooooo nasty!! I will have to try them again since I eat almost the same stuff you do daily. haha! Please let me know if you try any other ones!! I bought mine at World Market…not sure if ya’ll have one in Canada. It is a super awesome store! Oh and btw, I’m eating a pumpkin and cream cheese muffin from Starbuck’s. It is freakin amazing!!!! 🙂 You should try one!

  6. I love gnocchi!! I first discovered it when a roomie in college bought some and made me dinner one night. I was hooked after that. I actually have a gnocchi dinner with italian sausage planned for one night this week. We’re on the same eating wave-length!

  7. I dont think ive ever tried Gnocchi before but it looks delish!

  8. Well I am a newb too because I have never had it!! Must try though, as it looks awfully tasty 🙂

  9. Mmmmmm, gnocchi ❤
    It's been a while, but I looooove it so.

    I go to Whole Foods for free food, because they are stacked with chip & dip samples, cheese samples, smoothie samples, etc. But I also go to the LCBO for free wine samples =) if that counts. .

  10. I’ve done similar things to get free stuff…no shame!

    I have had gnocchi, but not in awhile. I have a weird urge to make my own sweet potato ones..

  11. Ah, tradeshow lunches and listening to hotels. They must hate it as much as we do. Too bad it wasn’t a good one. The cake pops look awesome though. I’ve been wanting to try one of those.
    Love the gnocchi! The potato makes it supper filling. Just a week or two ago we made it at home for the first time. Funny.

Leave a Reply

