Raising Moolah for Breast Cancer

Bonjourno! I hope you guys are all having an awesome Friday so far.

I am pretty pumped for this weekend, as I have some exciting things going on, including Run for the Cure on Sunday, which is a 5k race in support of breast cancer!

You guys may remember me blogging about this a little while ago. I am running with Andrew’s sister Sharlene, and we are running for her aunt Marlene who has just finished treatment for breast cancer.

Guess how much money our team alone has so far raised for breast cancer.

Yes, $23,577.

Ridic. That is crazy! I am so proud to be part of Marlene’s Pink Warriors!

Thank you so much to everyone who sponsored me personally :).

This is my second 5k race, and I am not taking it as seriously as my first one. It’s more of a fun run, and I haven’t decided yet if I am going to run the whole thing or stay back and party with the rest of our team. Either way, I won’t be going for time (not that I was the first time either).

But I did do a little prep for it today. When I got home from work I immediately changed into my running garb and hit the pavement for a practice 5k.

I gotta say, the fall is quickly becoming my favourite season to run outside.

That was a pretty little fall tree along my running route. I love it when the leaves change, it is so pretty. And I am loving the cooler weather. I don’t have to schedule my runs for the early morning or the late evening, as it’s no longer sweltering in the afternoon. No wonder fall is considered race season in the running community (which I am extremely new to, and never realized before).

I completed my 5k in about 34 minutes. It was a pretty light and easy run, though I struggled a bit in the beginning and had to talk myself through until I hit about 2k. This seems to be happening to me lately. But then I felt good!

I was pretty darn hangry when I got back, so I roped Ando into making us an easy dinna.

Eggs for Dinner!

He is the perfect egg cooker, after all.

An egg sandwich on a toasted cheese bun with sliced ham and cheese made its way into my belly (note: I am really not a fan of the word ‘belly’ and I’m sure why I used it just now…)

Not exactly a healthified Egg McMuffin, but super yummy and super filling.

Lunch was leftovers from yesterday:

Leftovahs

And breakfast was a banana wrapped in a whole wheat tortilla with peanut butter. I wasn’t feeling very hungry this morning for some reason.

I enjoyed a few snacks throughout the day as well, and some leftover cookies from a meeting found their way into my office this afternoon. Obviously I cannot say no to hand delivered cookies… Or any cookie…

Welp, I am off to do some Friday evening leisuring. Have a great night!

12 responses to “Raising Moolah for Breast Cancer

  1. Loveeee fall colors! You got a perfect shot!

    I can never say no to a cookie either 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your Friday!

  2. way to go!

  3. That picture of the tree is so pretty!! That is so awesome that you guys raised so much money!!! And have fun with your 5k 😀

  4. I love the fall colours! It looks so beautiful there. We’re currently experiencing brutal winter right now, wtf?
    Have fun with the 5k and congrats to your team for raising so much moolah!

  5. Wow, congrats on all the money your team has raised!! The Race for the Cure is such an inspirational race. I ran it last year and was amazed at how many people came out to support such a great cause.

  6. survivingcandyland

    Daaaamn that is impressive. Way to go. I work with Colleges against Cancer at my school, so we always try to run (ha yeah right more like walk) the race of the cure. I love doing stuff for the cause because hopefully one day there will be a cure.

  7. Enjoy the run tomorrow!! I think its amazing that your team raised so much money. Way to go!!!

  8. Thats a lot of moolah..congrats!! Thats so awesome! 😀

  9. Good luck on your race!! That is amazing your team raised that much. Congrats!
    You know I love meeting cookies too. Must be tough not having me there to help you finish them off 🙂
    Fall running is awesome! It’s why all the races are then. Enjoy because winter running SUCKS.

Leave a Reply

