Spaghetti Carbonara Party

Hallo 🙂

I got an email today from Marlene (the star of Marlene’s Pink Warriors) letting me know that the total amount of money our team raised for Run for the Cure yesterday was over $30,000.

I had previously written over $25,000, but I thought I would let you guys know this update because THAT IS CRAZY. I can barely wrap my head around that number. Marlene is an awesome motivator, I will tell you that.

Spaghetti Carbonara

So my eats were pretty ho-hum today. Good, but nothing too exciting. A banana + peanut butter wrap for breakfast, leftover chicken noodle soup for lunch with a toasted whole wheat English muffin, and a ginormous salad for dinner, plus a few snacks thrown in.

All good eats for sure, but nothing too blog-worthy.

I’ll tell you what was blog-worthy though. My dinner on Saturday night.

My friend Lisa had a few friends over for a petite dinner party, including Ando and I, and she made us that delicious plate of spaghetti carbonara (<- go there if you would like to see the recipe. Lisa made hers with spaghetti instead of fettuccine, but I think that was her only change.)

It was really, really good. Really, really.

Just a note that it is not the healthiest of pastas. It does include heavy cream, bacon, cheese, and two egg yolks, but if you want to go all out, EAT THIS. It’s dynamite.

Sometimes it is so good it is okay not to care about the health factor, in my opinion. You better believe I cleaned my plate, and I didn’t go back for seconds only because I ate a ton of these before dinner:

Amazing Little Pastry Puffs

Little pastries full of cream cheese, bacon, and parsley that my friend Fran made. Those were also very good and extremely addicting.

And then there was the dessert table that I had to think about.

Dessert Spread

Cheesecake, the pumpkin spiced cookies and chocolate chip blondies that I brought, and these little Portuguese custard tarts (I can’t remember the name, but they were delicious!)

Lisa’s boyfriend and his brother are Portuguese and were raving on about those tarts, so I thought I should give them a try.

Tarty Goodness

And they were not wrong. They were amazing. Like custard-filled butter tarts!

And PS – the chickpea blondies? No one could tell they had chickpeas in them. I’m pretty sure they were a hit.

I had a great night with my two college pals 🙂

College Pals

I am off to read in bed. I am seriously so tired today and I have no idea why! I definitely want to get tangled up in the sheets early.

Have a great night!

22 responses to “Spaghetti Carbonara Party

  1. Sounds like you had an amazing day/night!

  2. Oh and congrats at the $30,000 that’s amazing!

  3. Wow $30,000 is amazing!!! All of that food looks delicious…and it sounds like you had a great time 😀

  4. $30K is a big effing deal. That is so cool to give back in such a BIG way. Congrats!

  5. Congrats on raising that much money! That’s really incredible : )

  6. Over $30,000 that is an awesome effort, congratulations to Marlene’s Pink Warriors!!!

    I hope you warmed up quickly, it’s not nice to hang around outside when it’s only 6 degrees, but the cause is worth the cold. I think you are a champion just for entering the race and then to finish in under 30 mins, that is fantastic!

    I’m glad you are enjoying your new found love of pumpkin. I really need to puree some and try out those cookies and thanks for the pumpkin pie spice tips too.

    I agree with you – 5kms is a huge deal and you should be so proud of yourself. Congratulations on a great race 🙂

  7. Shannon @ Healthiful Balance

    Wow! That’s a lot of money! Congrats! 🙂 What you all did was awesome!

    All your eats look sooo good! Glad you had a great time with your college friends 🙂

  8. congrats

  9. $30 000 – THAT IS AMAZING!!! Congratulations.

    Looks like you had a great time with your friends – all the food looks sooooo good.

  10. Hey hey! Way to go on the fundraising, that’s incredible.

    In Portuguese those tarts are called “pastel de nata”.

    We had so much fun with you guys, thanks for coming!

  11. I miss my college friends so much! Do yours live close by? Sounds like it. I’m pretty sure I need to do a whole week of Portuguese food after reading this post…

  12. Wow that is so awesome about the money raised… what wonderful news 🙂

  13. Eating healthy all the time is slightly alienating… Sometimes it’s cool to just eat what everyone else does. Having said that, I would have been allllll over those blondies!!
    And congrats to your team on $30k! That’s amazing!!

  14. that pasta looks to DIE for! i am such a sucker when it comes to pasta! must be the italian in me 😉

  15. Awesome on the fundraising efforts! Wow!!!

    That pasta looks really good. And those cream puffs. I used to hate cream puffs. Then, I married an Italian and fell in love with them.

  16. Yumfest!! I love dinner parties! We too went to a dinner party on Saturday night. We had bangers and mash and Yorkshire puddings. It was awesome and very kid friendly. There were 5 kids under 2.5. We started at 4pm and ended by 7:30pm. Your dinner party eats sound great too.
    Congrats again to you and the team for your fundraising! That’s amazing! Me, my mom and all ladies and their boobies thank you!!

Leave a Reply

