Thanksgiving Swag

Hey guys! Happy Thanksgiving to all of my fellow Canadian pals! Or Eat Day, as it is otherwise known :).

My big eat day was yesterday.  We headed up to Ando’s parents in the early afternoon to start the celebration. It is also Andrew’s sister Catherine, her fiance Corrie, and Taylor’s birthday’s within the next week, so we had a lot to celebrate!

The table was beautifully set in honour of the occasion.

Taylor, Ando’s nephew Devyn and I made those pumpkin place settings in honour of Thanksgiving four years ago, and they are still kicking around.

Taylor is always the birthday girl on Thanksgiving, so her pumpkin is extra special.

The weather was GORGEOUS. This entire weekend has been absolutely ridiculous on the weather front. Pretty amazing for Thanksgiving weekend. I can’t get enough of it! Since it was so nice, Taylor, Caitlyn and I hung out in the backyard for most of the afternoon until dinner was ready.

We had a pretty serious handstand and cartwheel contest, and some other games that Caitlyn made up.

She is seriously the cutest ever, and such a little ham for the camera.

Buzz Lightyear (aka Sam) made an appearance as well.

But he is only Buzz while he is in costume, just FYI. I made the mistake of calling him Buzz when he was back in his regular clothes and he said “NO!!! I am NOT Buzz anymore!” all angrily. I guess it is like a Superman thing. You need your costume for special powers.

Taylor really wanted to teach us how to be “swag”.

Which I’m pretty sure I fail at.

Andy seems to have it down though.

It is all about the pointing, I guess.

Papa (Andrew’s Dad) is clearly a natural as well.

Actually, I think he may be even more “swag” than Taylor.

We definitely worked up a pretty huge appetite after our backyard shenanigans, which is a good thing because Thanksgiving dinner is a BIG DEAL.

That giant plate of deliciousness is alllll mine. From left: ham, squash, carrots, corn, mashed potatoes, turkey, and Andmo’s grandma’s amazing sausage stuffing in the centre (I had never tried sausage stuffing until I had Andy’s grandma’s, and now I am obsessed.) I also had gravy on the turkey, potatoes and stuffing.

I cleaned my plate entirely and I was absolutely stuffed. I could barely move afterwards. I usually try to stop when I am full but not too full when I am eating, but on holidays, I definitely embrace being TOO FULL. It is not very often a holiday dinner like this makes its way onto my plate, so when it does I take full advantage. I love Thanksgiving! And Christmas, and Easter.

After dinner it was time to do the birthday thang.

The Birthday Gang

Happy Birthday to Catherine, Corrie and Taylor! Taylor turned 13! She is officially a teenager, and way too cool to smile for photos now as you can see.

Though that cake looked delicious, I had a big craving for apple pie since my slice on Saturday, so I opted for a piece of that instead.

With ice cream, of course!

It was a great day, and a great dinner. I am feeling very thankful for food, friends, family, and sunshine. And I am thankful that I will be back into my regular eating routine tomorrow, because my pants can’t take much more of this. Bring on the veggies!

What is your favourite holiday dinner food?
Turkey, mashed potatoes and stuffing for me!

15 responses to “Thanksgiving Swag

  1. I am loving this weather too!!
    And that petite Buzz Lightyear just melted my heart. So cute.
    And I feel old. I don’t know what ‘swag’ is or how that is swag. I thought swag was …. like…. cool free stuff? Or is this the kind of swagger that Ke$ha was talking about? I am so out of that loop.
    I’m glad you had a great weekend! That looks like a wicked plate of food. I have never tried or heard of sausage stuffing, but it sounds like it’d be good!
    Make my detox soup 🙂 I am after this weekend, and I’m just doing it for normal stuff-my-face action. I didn’t even celebrate Thanksgiving this weekend. Blaaahness.

    • Yeah, I didn’t know what swag was either…I too though it was when you got free stuff (Stuff We All Get, you know!), but yeah, apparently it’s about being super cool with fishy lips and pointing, or throwing up deuces. Don’t ask me, hehe.
      I just may make your detox soup! I’ll have to check it out.

  2. Those “swag” pics are the best! Hilarious! Dean’s swag is pretty awesome. Who knew! And yes, Sam is only Buzz while in costume. Haha! 🙂
    PS. Love Andrew’s petal pushers. Teehee!

  3. Haha love the swag pics :). And I’m so jealous that you already got to experience all of the wonderful holiday food! I LOVE stuffing and mashed potatoes…and pumpkin pie!

  4. Ha I am loving the swag! Your post sure had me hankerin Thanksgiving food, it’s my favorite holiday

  5. Stuffing. And here’s where I win the “worst-blogger-and-how-can-you-eat-that-processed-crap award”: it has to be Stuff ‘N Such. Homemade stuffing just doesn’t taste as good to me. Ha!

    Oh and pie. Apple pie. Pumpkin pie. Sugar pie. (Yeah, French Canadians are weird. We turn sugar into a pie flavour.)

    Sadly, we just moved across the country and are all alone for Thanksgiving. Since I don’t eat turkey, we just couldn’t be bothered with all of the food prep. We had spaghetti and meatballs instead. Wow, that’s kind of sad now that I’ve typed it out…

    • I loooove stuffing. My mom’s and Andrew’s grandma’s are both tied for my favourite.

      Aw, that is sad. But anything works for Thanksgiving! I would be completely happy with spaghetti and meatballs, and I’m pretty sure you just inspired my dinner tonight 🙂

  6. Happy Thanksgiving to you! I looooove turkey + cranberry sauce. But I also like mashed potatoes, stuffing, and pumpkin pie. I can’t decide.

  7. Looks like so much fun! I love kids’ imagination. And I get the “NO! I’m not ____” all the time from M.

    Favorite thanksgiving food is definitely all the casseroles!!!

  8. Ah! Your Thanksgiving looks so fun! I love the swag poses – the costumes & the table decor!

  9. So fun! And I can relate to the “too full” feeling as well…I felt a little gross Saturday night. I’m a big stuffing girl, and my sister’s homemade bread, and any dessert!

  10. I will say it one last time, yay Thanksgiving and it’s eats!
    Love the buzz lightyear! Mark’s cousin’s kid was batman at our Thanksgivie party.
    The eats look amazing. I too let myself get too full for these kind of occasions. So good! I LOVE turkey with gravy and rolls with butter to sop up the extra gravy.
    We also had a discussion over whether we should have ice cream or cool whip with pie. Thank goodness they listened to me and we went with ice cream. Close one.

  11. Pingback: Ten Ting Tuesday | Happy or Hungry

  12. Pingback: What’s Your Complain Threshold? | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

