Chatterpaul’s Birthday Celebration

Good morning!

I never got around to posting yesterday, as I was a busy beaver at work all day and had a date with my high school friends in the evening. And then my internet was being a big jerk when I finally did sit down to write about my adventures in eating last night, so I aborted that mission.

But here I am! And it is recap time.

We had a small meeting yesterday in our office, which I wasn’t in, but instead of ordering lunch, the meeting gang headed downstairs to Druxy’s and you better believe I tagged along.


I mixed up my usual salad order and decided to go for a sandwich. I rave on about Druxy’s salads all the time, so it should be noted that their sandwiches are equally as impressive. I opted for a chicken sandwich on a kaiser with lettuce, tomato, cucumber, green pepper, red onion, swiss cheese, mustard, and a bit of mayo. I also scored a pickle and a small cup of potato salad (which comes free with the sandwich) on the side.


All very yummy. That sandwich was dang good, and reminded me that there is more to Druxy’s (and to life) than just salads.

After lunch, we enjoyed some surprise afternoon cuteness in the form of my office BFF Lexy who dropped by with her baby Hudson.

Hudson is getting so big and is SO. CUTE.

Look at that little muffin. I want to squeeze him for hours.

Lexy is pretty cute too. I love how often she drops by our office. I really miss having her around and it is always great to see her. And of course we all love seeing her baby.

This picture of our boss with that cheeky little cat pretty much killed me.

So cute. They are already buddies.

After work I had a date with my high school homies to look forward to, celebrating my friend Lisa’s 28th birthday!


Joanna and I with the beautiful birthday girl (in the middle). Actually it is her birthday TODAY! Happy Birthday Lis! 😀

We talked about how we are all (sadly) nearing 30, and who is the first person in our group of friends to turn 29. And it’s me. Not for a few more months, but still! It is approaching!

We hit up a restaurant in Whitby called Chatterpauls, which I have never been to before, but I keep hearing great things about. It is a little bit on the expensive side (about $20-$50 per entrée), but I keep hearing that the food is to die for, so I was anxious to try it out.

While we waited for our entrées, our server brought us each a little appetizer to try.

That would be grilled zucchini topped with a bruschetta mix. I am not a big zucchini eater, but let me tell you that will be changing right now. That was the best little piece of zucchini I have ever eaten, and I don’t think it would be tricky to recreate this little appetizer at all. Though mine would probably not be as tasty…

It also happened to be $4.99 martini night, so in a change from my usual beer or wine order, I opted for a Euphoric Sunset martini.

I don’t even remember what was in that (besides coconut and peach schnapps)…but I do remember that it was GOOD!

For my entrée I chose the Chattercake and Greens, which was a crab cake consisting of lump crab cake, vegetables and spices, served atop a mix of fennel, pineapple, tomatoes, pepitas and flax seeds with a pineapple mango chutney.

That crab cake was ridiculous. So, so good. I can’t rave on too much about the rest of the dish, because it really was just a salad (though a good one) and I found myself wishing I ordered pasta or something more substantial than just greens.

Like this dish for example:

White roughy served on top of pasta, which is what the birthday girl and a few others ordered. I had a bite of Lisa’s and it was delicious! I regretted my entrée decision slightly (hate when that happens)…but, that’s what I get for ordering a salad.

After our meals we had birthday cake to look forward to!

Isn’t the cake (and the birthday girl) gorgeous?

One of the prettiest cakes I have ever seen. It just looked like a big ball of deliousness.

And it definitely delivered in the delicious department.

That’s chocolate with whipped cream AND buttercream icing! I was in heaven.

It was a fun evening out with my gals.

We have all been getting together more often lately, and I am loving it.

Gotta go yo, it is work time! I hope you all have a great almost Friday! Hooray for short weeks :).

9 responses to “Chatterpaul’s Birthday Celebration

  1. Restaurants will do that to ya – get you to like a veggie you thought you disliked, and then you go crazy trying to recreate it…

  2. Dear lord that cake… literally my favorite kind! Although I haven’t had cake in years.. I still know that is my most favorite. Chocolate with butter cream= party in my mouth and the addition of the whip cream?! Oh GAWD 😀
    You look so pretty lady, glad you had a fun time!

  3. Omg omg that cake looks so tasty!!! And pretty :). Glad you had a fun night out with your friends! And you don’t look anywhere near 30- I definitely would have thought mid twenties!

  4. WOWZA to that cake!! Amazing!! The picture of the little man and your boss is PRECIOUSSS!!

  5. Um, 1 one of those martinis over here, please and thanks.
    That looks like a really fun night out! All the food looks amazing. I love that about high end restaurants; they intricately style the dishes to look and taste amazing. That cake looks ridiculously good.
    And you definitely don’t look like you’re nearing 30!

  6. Awe, Hudson and I love it when we make it into your posts! He looks so cute in the pictures. I love his surprised baby look. And the picture of him and Doug is priceless! You are so nice with the stuff you say about us. I miss you too.
    Hanging with high school friends is fun.
    The cake looks awesome.
    The little zucchini appetizer is called an amuse bouche at schwanky restaurants. Love going out for a good dinner.

  7. Awww, I see some familiar faces in this one. 🙂 And that cake looks ridonkulous.
    But nothing beats little Hudson. SO. flippin’. cute.

Leave a Reply

