Jumping the Gun

Hola! I hope you guys are all having a great week so far.

Mine has been pretty busy, I’ll tell ya that. You may have noticed that I’ve been a MIA minx the past couple of days. I stayed unplugged for most of the day on Sunday and just hung out with Alejandrew, and yesterday I was pretty busy with work stuff.

I think work may be causing me to feel a little bit of sneaky stress, actually. Sneaky because I don’t feel stressed out, but I do have a lot to do and I think it is weighing on my mind, at least subconsciously.

This morning I woke up in a sudden panic thinking I was late for work.

When I looked at the clock, something was blocking the first number so I could only see :21. I assumed this meant I had slept through my alarm and it was 6:21, so I needed to get moving fast! I stumbled into the bathroom, tore off my jimjams, got in the shower, was about to turn the water on, when I thought to myself that something didn’t feel quite right.

lindsey-evanoff

It seemed darker than usual, and I seemed a lot more tired than usual… I remembered that I didn’t see the first number on the clock. I got out of the shower and went back into our room to check the time.

2:25.

I woke up four hours early. Whoops. Jumped the gun a little bit there…

I threw my pajamas back on and got back into bed, excited that I could go back to sleep for a few hours. I was very grateful that I didn’t follow through with my shower, it would have completely woken me up!

Dinner

While I am here, let’s quickly talk dinner tonight.

Les Poisson!

Spicy haddock with sugar snap peas and chow mein. I love fish. This was so good, and so easy!

I will catch you guys later, but in the meantime check out my guest post over at Blonde On A Mission!

28 responses to “Jumping the Gun

  1. Lindsay, your comics are the best! So freakin hysterical! I hate when that happens. I try super hard not to look at the clock in the middle of the night because if I know I “only” have x hours left, I get really antsy and can’t fall back asleep…so I have to just trust that it wasn’t an alarm mess-up.

  2. I love your paint pictures. I’m always charmed by low-tech illustrations. I tried to make some a few times, but mine always look…well…crappy. I’ve definitely been in your shoes (or out of them, as the case may be) and started getting dressed for school or work at 3 in the morning. Ugh. Glad you figured it out before you started the shower!

  3. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Did you draw those pictures on paint? haha I love ’em

    Lucky for you, you were able to fall back asleep. Whenever I wake up earlier than anticipated (ahem, 4:00 AM this morning), there’s no chance of me falling back asleep. Once I’m up, all I’m thinking about is breakfast 🙂

  4. It’s OK to go MIA for a while. Reunited and it feels so good.

    I wake up and get all freaked out ALL the time! More than not, though, it’s when I only have about 2 minutes ’til the alarm goes off. THAT makes me mad.

  5. Haha I love your little comics! They are so cute! I’ve definitely woken up really early and got out of bed thinking that it was time to get ready for the day.

  6. LOL – I’ve actually taken the whole shower before until I realized I was up 3 hours early once. Worst.morning.ever.

    Also, another LOL to “jimjams.” Knowing you call PFs “jimjams” probably means you wouldn’t mind that I call it “pop” instead of “soda” and we can be besties. 😛

  7. Make that PJs. Not PFs. I must be secretly thinking of Chinese food.

  8. This happened to me one morning in high school, except I followed through with the shower. What’s worse is that my mom used to wake me up for school, so when I woke up & thought I was late, but my mom wasn’t awake yet, I thought “I won’t wake her, I’ll get in the shower & when I get out, she’ll be awake.” Of course, when I got out of the shower my mom still wasn’t awake yet. That’s when I thought something wasn’t right & I looked at the clock & it was something stupid like 2 in the morning. So I went back to bed & when my mom came to wake me up I had to explain to her that I could sleep an extra 20 minutes because I showered in the middle of the night!

  9. Your comics are amazing!!! Hilarious!

    I’ve definitely done this before. I’d pop up and start tearing through the house like a maniac. I always went through with the showering though. It was always a bummer when I got back to my room and realized it was the middle of the night!

  10. Le sigh…my life consists of real 2:30am wake-ups. Really, anywhere between 2-6am. Though at least it’s only once per night now.

    • Yowza. But it won’t last forever!
      When I told Doug this story he told me that Martin did this once, and didn’t realize what time it actually was until he got in his car and started driving to work! hahaha.

  11. Where do I begin……Firstly I have to say I get the best laughs reading your adventures, they are always so entertaining.

    Your torturous run sounds like mine yesterday, I hated every single second of it. I laughed so much at your red matching sweatsuits with hoods and the 90’s word – jog. I agree with you, if you run you run (but sometimes I do shuffle).

    OMG!! I could not stop laughing – those Grey Poupon commercials are hilarious. I have never heard of it and never got the Wayne’s World joke, until now. I always thought he said poo pie!!!! The commercials where the glove box opens to reveal the Grey Poupon and then he pulls up at the street lights had me in hysterics and I watched it about 110 times.

    Your running date sounded amazing, so much fun and who cares if you were last, you enjoyed yourself and that’s all that matters. BTW, that milk flavoured tea doesn’t sound very appealing at all. I love the pic of you in the pink stirrup pants! Banana nut muffins are my absolute favourite muffin. There is a Sara Lee (cake, dessert stuff) factory outlet near by and they make the best banana nut muffins – I have banned myself from going there. Another item which I can not have in the house is Nutella – I would love to put it in or on some pancakes, but I just can’t trust myself with a jar of stuff on hand – the whole thing would be gone in 2 seconds, no joke!!

    I have seen that 50 x 5 workout on Pinterest, I’ve repinned it,but have been too scared to give it ago – you amaze me that you can do 10 of those push-ups, I can do maybe 2 before I collapse to my knees and that arc thing at the gym looks deadly – I didn’t fly to Canada and have secretly been stalking you or anything like that, I just googled it, I have never heard of it.

    Your censored pic made me laugh so much I almost Pirates of Penzanced ie peed my pants (Pretty Woman fan). Another thing that made me laugh was “Usually I have a really hard time motivating myself to workout at home, but knowing the pizza was on its way got me through this.” All I could picture was you in fast motion plowing through the workout and then it reminded me of that Friends episode when Ross is trying to flirt with the pizza girl and he starts talking about gas and how it has no smell.

    Enough ramble from me, but I just had so much catching up to do. I only like reading your posts when I have time to really enjoy them.

    P.S. I know how you feel about being the oldest in your group. My birthday is February so I am always older than my friends, but only for a little while 🙂

    • Where do I begin with this comment! Your comments seriously make my day, I love reading them! 🙂 Thank you so much for all the nice things you say.
      Yeah, so I won’t be buying Nutella again for a while… I thought I could handle myself around it, but it turns out I have zero self-control. I have been eating “Nutella fingers” all day long. Whoops.
      If you ever get a chance you should try the arc trainer! You’d probably like it. Once you get the hang of it it’s really easy to use. I’m pretty sure they are in most gyms.
      Also, I love that you laugh at the things that make me laugh, because I don’t know if anyone else is actually laughing at them!
      I loved reading this Jane, thank you for commenting!!!

  12. Love the drawings – they are gorgeous! My work is giving me sneaky stress too at the moment … same thing, just lots on.

  13. haaha. I’ve totally done that before.

    and please, please, please do more illustrations. they’re my favorite.

  14. thats too funny! I think the best feeling in the world ever is waking up in the middle of the night only to see you have hours of sleep left!! (worst feeling is waking up like 15 minutes before your alarm goes off…. boo!) Im glad you were able to get back to bed, i am the same way if I shower I will be all the way awake!

  15. Bahhaaaa i can totally see that and i love your censored drawing, HILarious 🙂 🙂 🙂
    I sooo wish my guy ate fish, your looks yums!

  16. Pingback: Funny Search Terms, Halloween Edition | Happy or Hungry

  17. Hahhahaha. Omg. My life.
    I do this not only at the wrong time, but on the wrong day. I’ve woken up on a Saturday and thought I was late for school and actually got in my car and started driving.
    You’re lucky you caught it before you started showering! I have done that. It’s up there on the list of Worst Things in the World.
    I love these cartoons!!

Leave a Reply

