Halloweenie Festivities

Happy Halloween!

Can you guess who I dressed as?

Ke$ha!

Don’t ask me what Andrew is, because I still don’t know. That was a last minute costume for sure. Well, mine was also last minute, as in I decided on Friday (super easy to put together though), but Ando’s costume was last minute as in Saturday at 6 pm, when our party was at 9.

Ah well, he didn’t really wear it long anyway.

Pretty much everyone asked me who I was dressed as, so if you are unsure of what Ke$ha looks like, here is a reminder:

I was specifically going for her makeup look in this picture.

I think it looked pretty similar. It was hard to act like Ke$ha though, as she doesn’t really smile ever and looks pretty out of it most of the time, and I have a hard time not smiling and like to think I look alert (most of the time, not by the end of the night).

She was definitely fun to dress as though, because she is such a hot mess. Also, I don’t think I have ever worn that much makeup. My eyelids felt like they weighed 30 pounds.

We went to a great Halloween party hosted by friends, and there were many awesome costumes in attendance.

From left: figure skater, Dottie from A League of Their Own, Lindsay Lohan (haha), Luigi, Ke$ha, a kitty cat, and a nun.

You may recognize my friends Bri (Luigi) and Leah (nun), who have popped up on my blog several times.

Leah’s nun costume made me laugh pretty hard, the saying on her hat in particular…

halloween

Hehe.

And here are the boys!

From left: ghost-faced Andrew, Mario, Papa Smurf, Polkaroo (best costume ever, haha!), Coach Dugan from A League of Their Own, Priest.

There ended up being prizes for best costume, and guess who won for the females?!

Me! I am not sure how this happened, since seriously no one knew who I was until I told them, but I’ll take it. This means I got a medal (from the 5k) and a trophy in the same day! I think I am going to have to start a trophy room in our house.

Polkaroo won for the boys, and that was definitely who I voted for. His costume killed me (Polkaroo is from a Canadian kids’ TV show in the 80s, so you may not get that reference if you are not from around here or are not around our age).

(source)

(The real Polkaroo)

Yesterday I was not feeling well at all (I assumed it was from Saturday night, but I am feeling even worse today so I’m not sure what’s going on), so I took it easy and had a bit of a scary movie marathon. I watched Paranormal Activity 2 and Scream 4. I thought Scream 4 was awful, and about halfway through I actually fast forwarded to the end just to see who the killer was. Maybe I needed to be watching it with people to get more into it.

I did really like Paranormal Activity 2 though. Ghosts have always been what scare me the most, and ghost stories are my favourite kind of scary stories. I am excited to see the third one now.

Welp, I am off to hopefully feel better. I see a lot of soup in my near future.

I hope you all have a great Halloween filled with yummy treats and funny tricks.

  • What did you dress as for Halloween?
  • Did you do anything to celebrate Halloween, or are you tonight?
25 responses to “Halloweenie Festivities

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Aw I love your costume! I would’ve known you were Kesha in a heartbeat.

    Andrew could’ve always been some kind of jedi from Star Wars?

  2. I frickin love the Kesha costume, its pretty spot on, and I recognized ya right away!! i bet it would be fun though, she really is a hot mess.

  3. I think your Ke$ha is spot on, and that other girl REALLY looks like Lindsay Lohan! I could tell before I even read the caption! haha

  4. You look hot and DANGEROUS!!

  5. Ok, you TOTALLY look like Ke$ha! Love that costume! Maybe people were just expecting the blue lipstick. 😉 You did really good with the eye make up too. We need to hang at the same parties. We could have had a sing-off this year. Hee!

  6. I dressed up as a cat for halloween! Kind of lame but it was cheap and last minute…. however, I did host a fun Halloween party on saturday 🙂

  7. Weee great costume! You totes look like her too, fantastic idea! I was a gold digger for Halloween on Friday 😀

  8. POLKAROO!!!!!!
    Yes, yes, YEEEES and more yes. I want that costume for next year. And your Ke$ha costume is awesome. That eye makeup looks professional! I did not go all-out on my eye makeup, but I did take some inspiration from her for my Ke$ha costume. Not sure if this will work …. but I’ll try it…
    I wore a garbage bag.
    I hope you feel better soon and don’t get upper respiratory death sickness like I did! Soup + scary movies sounds like an awesome night. Scream 4 was absolutely terrible. Insidious is ridiculously scary, so I might watch that tonight.

  9. Hahahaa polkaroo, classic!
    I totally could see you were Ke$ha, and not just could you said you were 🙂
    Hope you feel better, i felt the same way Saturday but i totally blame Friday night!
    We are supposed to see Paranormal activity 3 tonight, hopefully i’ll make it through, 1 and 2 left me traumatized 🙂

  10. I love movies like that. they always get me though. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts. And you did great on the Kesha look.

  11. Gasp! Polkaroo! Coolest costume ever. I love your Ke$ha look too. You really nailed the makeup. I like scary movies, but some realistic ghost movies are just too much for me. (because I kind of believe in ghosts, and no, I’m not 8 years old) I think that Paranormal Activity would be too scary for me. I’ll just stick to zombies instead.

  12. Love your costume!! And I love the nun costume and the saying on her hat haha…that’s awesome :). I hope you feel better soon!

  13. so glad I inspired you. 😉

    you needed the toothbrush and the bottle of jack.. then EVERYONE would have known!

  14. I didn’t dress up but Hudson did as you may have seen his pics on FB. He was the cutest little tiger.
    Mark also went to a party on Saturday night as a “number one dad”.
    Awesome Ke$ha, or Kay-dollar sign-ha as the principal on Glee calls her, costume. You look just like her.

  15. I do not like the Polkaroo costume, as I was targeted by a pedophile wearing something almost identical at the tender age of 7. However, I do enjoy your Kesha costume becase it reminds me of how my mom showed up to my grade 8 graduation, however, your version was a tad less revealing. Thank you for both terrifying and bringing on beautiful memories in this post.

  16. Pingback: We like to eat a lot | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

