Use What You Have

Hello and also Salut!

I am feeling pret-tyyyy much back to normal today, and my appetite seems to have returned in full force. All day today it was snack attack after snack attack.

My healthy chicken sandwich and carrot sticks for lunch left me wanting a little somethin’ more, so I followed that up with a little soup supplement action from Druxy’s. I then ate an apple crumble VitaTop for dessert, but I still wanted more so I broke into my afternoon snack early (an apple), and continued to snack my way through the afternoon.

My snacks were all pretty healthy (minus the cookies I ate when I got home), but man, I was insatiable!

I have to say though, my mid-morning snack today was quite filling and is quickly becoming a new fave of mine.

Morning Snackage

Vanilla Greek yogurt topped with a mix of frozen berries. Now that it is well into fall, fresh berries are expensive little buggers, so I have been passing them up and opting for frozen instead. Maybe this snack isn’t groundbreaking, but this is new to me and I am loving frozen berries with the yogurt. I put them on top of the yog in the morning and then when they thaw and you stir them up they make the entire yogurt all berrily delicious.

Dinner

The theme of tonight’s dinner was use what you have. I didn’t really meal plan the last time I went grocery shopping and I didn’t pick up a lot of “dinner foods”. This is not good because now I am scrambling at dinner time to find something to make, which can lead to me abandoning making dinner altogether and picking up fast food, and I try to stay away from that.

Originally my plan when I got home was to quickly grab my gym clothes, hit up the gym for about 45 minutes, grab something from the grocery store that would be quick to make, and then head back home to make dinner.

But when I got home I was starving, and I didn’t want to wait to eat dinner, I wanted dinner and I wanted it soon.

I scrounged around in our cupboards and found a can of tuna. That was all the inspiration I needed. I was making tuna casserole.

I have never made tuna casserole before (my bestie Lisa makes a mean tuna casserole), so I googled around for some recipes but I didn’t find any that included the ingredients I wanted to use. I also wanted it to be healthier than the typical tuna casserole. I basically just ended up throwing a bunch of shtuff together and hoping for the best.

Tuna Casserole

Gone are the days of natural lighting (til April…)

It was not the best tuna casserole I have ever eaten, I will say that, but it was still pretty darn good, and it was quick and easy, so that is always a win in my books!

Now I am off to the gym! I’m hoping to put in some romantic time with the arc trainer.

Here is my tuna casserole recipe.

Tuna and Vegetable Casserole

Ingredients

  • half a bag of whole wheat egg noodles (you could use regular as well)
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 can low-fat cream of celery soup (mushroom would be good too, but celery was what I had)
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1 can tuna, drained
  • 3/4 cup water (you could use milk, but I only had almond milk and, well, blech)
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • Mrs. Dash seasoning mix (maybe a tablespoon?)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Spray a casserole dish with cooking spray.
  3. Boil the pasta until done, drain, then transfer to large bowl (or back into the pot)
  4. Add in onion, celery, carrot, and tuna; toss to combine.
  5. In another smaller bowl, mix together soup and water until smooth.
  6. Pour the soup mix into the pasta bowl and add breadcrumbs, Mrs. Dash seasoning and black pepper; toss until combined.
  7. Transfer mixture to baking dish.
  8. Bake for about 30 minutes. Top with cheese if desired and bake for another 3-4 minutes (I left the cheese out – I know, what was I thinking?!)

It has a lot of steps, but I promise they are easy.

Have a great night!

7 responses to “Use What You Have

  1. Oooo I love tuna casserole, but I’ve never made it myself. Yours sounds good!! I’m glad you are feeling better 🙂

  2. I haven’t had tuna casserole in forever! My mum used to put crushed crisps on top, mmmmmmmm 🙂
    Glad to hear you are feeling better even if the snack monster attacked!
    Oh and i love frozen berries, they taste awesome when they have thawed just a little bit into the yogurt!

  3. I’m going to try the frozen berries idea! Thanks for posting that. I love yogurt, but it gets a little boring sometimes. This will spice it up!

  4. I just can’t do tuna. Can’t get over that smell!

  5. I love that it’s pink! And I buy all kinds of frozen produce, especially for frozen berries so I can microwave them and pour it over french toast. I’m going to try them in my yogurt now too.
    It’s kind of funny, I guess, but I can eat raw tuna sashimi, but I can’t eat tuna from a can.
    And I hate that dinnertime is getting darker now 😦

  6. I really need to meal plan for the week. I’m really bad at just seeing what’s around. It leads to bad meals and laziness.
    I love my mid-morning yogurt snacks. I have mine with trail mix to get some nutty goodness.

Leave a Reply

