Cookies and Wine, Oh Yes

Ah, I am so excited that it’s Friday. This week has been a little crazy for me work-wise. I feel like I’ve been saying that on a lot of Friday’s lately, but it is true. My organization has eight championships going on right now so it is BUSY.

Usually I like to paparazzi around the local championships (if you’ve read my blog for a while you may remember me hitting up our Alpine Skiing, Tennis, Rugby, and Baseball championships earlier this year), but right now I had too much going on in the office to make it out.

I also help the organizers do their websites, social media pages, and deal with the media, so it’s a lot of stuff going on all at once. This week I was better off in the office. I was slightly sad because I really enjoy getting out and watching the games, but our football championship is next week and I’ll be there for about 13 hours, so I’m sure that will make up for it. Maybe Dan Marino or Jim Kelly will show up?

Brian will be getting cropped out of some photos, that is for sure.

Friday’s used to mean lunchtime yoga in my office, but we are taking a break from that and have switched it up lately to more of a yummy event.

The Cookie Club!

I am loving the cookie club. I had to miss it last week because I was away at meetings, but I was back today in full cookie-eating force.

Today’s cookie club was hosted by Ontario Volleyball, and Laura (who is in the picture above with her cookies), made two seriously awesome kinds of cookies.

Around 2pm I got this email:

Um, pistachio cream cheese sugar cookies and double chocolate cranberry cookies? Yeah, I was up in suite 304 within seconds ready to get my hands on those babies.

I am pretty sure Laura just needs to move into my house and be my full-time cookie baker (please Laura?). I have to get the recipes from her because I could not get enough of those double chocolate cranberry cookies. I mentioned the other day that I am loving hot chocolate at the moment, and those cookies tasted like hot chocolate in cookie form! So chocolately and delicious. One of the best cookies I have ever tasted, no lie.

It was a great way to break up my day, and I loved socializing with everyone for a bit.

The weather was ridiculously gorgeous today, and I had a great 5k run outside after work. It was 15 degrees and sunny, and I was so grateful to not be on the treadmill that I made a point to enjoy every second of it. It was starting to get dark at the end of my run, but it was still warm enough for shorts and a T-shirt! I was a happy camper.

After a seriously easy and delicious veggie frittata dinner (I trolled my own recipes page when deciding what to make tonight), I am now ready to leisure for the eve. Here is my plan:

I always think it’s funny when they ask me at the liquor store what type of meal I am pairing my wine with (this happened tonight). Um, good question. Who knows? Maybe some chips later? We’ll see how the night goes…

Have a good one!

32 responses to “Cookies and Wine, Oh Yes

  1. That’s got to be a fancy Canada thing…the clerk asking what dinner you’re pairing your wine with. (LOL to chips) The guys that sell wine in Orlando just ask if we’re drinking right out of the bottle and if we need a paper bag. 🙂

  2. LOL!! They ask you what meal you’re pairing it with? My answer would be cookies 😀
    Suuuper jealous of your cookie club! Now I wanna start one…hmmm 🙂
    I also just made some cookies, munched a bunch of them, and I’m running off with a bottle of wine to enjoy at my gf’s house. Cheers to wine & cookies! (I think I may be sugar-high.) Enjoy your Friday evening 😀

  3. Wow those cookies sound amazing!! And winding down with a nice glass of vino sounds like the perfect evening :D.

  4. You guys have a Cookie Club at work?! I think I need to implement that in my office!

  5. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    Oooo a cookie club always sounds like a good idea– sorry yoga.

    Can I just say that I love the impression I get of your work environment? It seems like such an upbeat and positive place!

  6. Double chocolate cranberry sounds amazing; cream cheese pistachio sugar cookies sound intriguing…I’d have been up there in two seconds flat to investigate.
    I always get flustered at liquor stores unless I know exactly what I want and where it is in the store. Otherwise I just stare at all the bottles and wonder if a particular brand/variety is a “good one.”

  7. Cookie club…sign me up. Your office/job sounds amazing. I have just begun reading your blog and am loving it.

  8. Thanks for the kind words about my cookies Lindsey! I’ll be sure to bake them again for the Dec. 8 shindig. I’m so excited to be on your blog – I feel like a Cookie Making Rockstar!

  9. Your frittata has come along at the perfect time. The last few days I have really been craving quiche and I mean the real fatty quiche with the pastry and cream, but I have been reluctant to make it cause it is so high in calories and now after checking out your frittata I have been inspired to make this instead. I knew there was another reason besides the awesome laughs to read your blog.

    Speaking of laughs, your old boss in those glasses is hilarious and that tartan suit – I wouldn’t have been able to contain myself. I know your work can get really busy, but it does sound like a really fun place to work. Is Laura doing a guest cookie making rockstar post?

    • That fatty quiche sounds pretty darn good, but I gotta say, the frittata is an awesome compromise! I am loving them.
      Yeah, he is a funny guy. I have so, so many hilarious pictures of him at our meetings (he’s still on our executive council, so still around). It is a fun place to work, we have a great atmosphere!
      Laura should definitely do a guest post! I’m gonna have to talk to her about that 😉

  10. P.S. your old boss in the glasses and tartan suit are from your Frittata post, just so you don’t think I’m crazy or anything and making stuff up 🙂

  11. Great whether? Lucky you. My last run was a 6km run, at -3 degree Celcius. Mandatory, of course. Damn that PE class.
    Too many hills + mucus + couldn’t breathe + sneezing + no kleenex + need a warmer jacket + darkness (at 4pm!) + cimetery = Complain threshold reached.
    I love that your office has a Cookie Club…I need a job like yours.

  12. I’ll say it again… your office sounds like so much fun! I definitely want to work in an environment like that. Mmmmm… double chocolate cranberry cookies. I’ve never even heard of such a thing, and yet, it sounds so right.
    So does a big glass of wine after a run. I was lovin’ on the warm Canadian weather but I think it’s coming to an end 😦

  13. Ahhhh i laugh about taht too when they ask me what i will be having with my wine? Um well.. “the other night I had raisin bran with it. And tonight I think i will just have an advil on the side for the morning after I drink directly out of the bottle.”

  14. Hi Lindsey! Thanks for stopping by our blog! Those cookies look awesome, I’ll join that cookie club please!

  15. Pingback: Epicure and the “Trailer” | Happy or Hungry

  16. Saw the Metro Bowl on TV last night! I tried to look for you guys but couldn’t see you. Hope it was fun. I’ll have to get out some year.
    So sad I’m missing cookie club. Those cookies sound amazing!
    I think it’s so funny that they always ask you at the LCBO what food you will be pairing your wine with. They never do that with me. Must be a suburban LCBO thing. Or maybe you just look like you’re cooking dinner everytime you come in.

  17. Pingback: Weekday Update | Happy or Hungry

  18. Pingback: Jussssst a Few Things this Friday | Happy or Hungry

  19. Pingback: I like to play | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

