Just Busyness

Busyness. That is what has been going on with me this week. Just busyness.

My work runs provincial championships for high school athletes (I’ve said this a million times, but just in case you’re new), and we had 10 championships this week (four girls’ volleyballs, four boys’ basketballs, and co-ed swimming and wrestling). Each championship has its own organizing committee, but I oversee their website, media relations, and social media stuff, and I also try to get out to as many championships as I can to take pictures. They’re spread around the province, so I usually just go to the ones that are within a two-hour driving distance so I can squeeze in more athlete action.

Including our alpine skiing and snowboarding championships that were last week, I’ve been on quite a few solo road trips lately.

Not all solo though. On Tuesday I brought our intern Hannah on a two-hour road trip with me to one of the boys’ basketball championships, and she is a good time, so that was a lot of fun.

I always seem to bond with our interns…remember Mary?! I love Mary! She was my partner in crime last year.

(My lover Mary and I, aww)

Anyway, getting out to our championships is absolutely the most rewarding part of my job. Not only is it a great break from being in the office, but it gives me serious love bursts for my work. If I am ever feeling even remotely unmotivated, all I need to do is hit up one of our championships and see the enthusiasm of the athletes and I instantly have a second wind for work stuff. I have a lot to catch up on today, but bring on the extra busyness…I will take it.

Yesterday at basketball, one of the coaches from an inner city school in Toronto was telling Hannah and I that most of the kids on his team had never stayed in a hotel before, so coming to the championship was a big deal. And they all had to get dressed up for the banquet, which they were not used to and did not own ties (the coach brought extras for them). He said his team felt all fancy and important in their formal attire.

I just love hearing things like this. It makes me feel warm and tingly. Not unlike my first sip of wine.

So that’s what has been going on with me this week. Just busyness.

Oh, and also on Monday I had my first experience at Panera Bread!

I only know about Panera Bread because of American bloggers, and I didn’t even know we had this chain in Canada. I’ve never seen it before, so when I hear (or read) people mentioning how delicious and awesome it is, I get jealous. Hannah and I were downtown at a championship on Monday and needed somewhere to go for lunch, and when someone recommended Panera to us we were SOLD! I was so excited to try it.

I had no idea what to order and I was pretty overwhelmed with the menu, but when we were standing in line the employees were handing out panini samples, and as soon as I tasted one I knew that was what I wanted.

I got the Smokehouse Turkey panini, and it was pretty delicious. I had no idea what to get on the side, so I just got chips. Silly Hannah accidentally ordered bread for her side…so she had her bread with a side of bread. I don’t think you can ever have too much bread though.

Well maybe this time

In other news, I am the newest member on the Ontario Wheelchair Sports Association’s executive board, as the VP of Public Relations. It’s a volunteer position, and I’m excited about it because I think the organization has a lot of potential for public relation shenanigans. I am also excited about it because Saturday was my first meeting, I knew no one on the executive (I know one person, and he wasn’t there), and as a surprise they got me a birthday cake!

I am not sure if they were trying to suck up or not (if they were, it worked), but I told them that the cake solidified them as my new favourite people. That cake was awesome!

Aaaaanyway, back to le grind! Catch ya later!

13 responses to “Just Busyness

  1. You are so awesome! 🙂

  2. Lookin’ adorbs in that first pic! I said it. ADORBS.

    And that cake. I don’t know if I’d want to kiss someone or slap them for giving that to me. Looks SOOOOO good.

  3. I used to love Panera when we were down in the states and was quite shocked when I saw it in Mississauaga for the first yet. Funny thing is, I’ve never eaten it here yet! Only in Florida…maybe I’ll just keep it that way lol

  4. I think too much bread is impossible. That cheesy bread looks freaking delicious. And now I’m starving… 🙂

    • Okay, the cheesy bread was delicious…I just was not aware when I was ordering garlic bread (for just myself) that it was going to be an entire loaf of bread. No complaints here, but I think maaaaaybe there should have been a warning about that.

  5. I always get the bread with a side of bread at Panera. I love their bread!

  6. I’ve never been to panera. I don’t think there are many in LA. I guess Los Angelenos are afraid of carbs :/

    and any dessert makes me like people. I think you’re appreciation for dessert is one fo the reasons you’re one of my favorite people.

  7. Next time I’m in Toronto, I’m taking you for lunch at Panera. Because if you haven’t had their tomato soup, then you haven’t truly lived.

  8. What a sweet story about the first time stay at a hotel and wearing ties. Love it! I wish every child could have a chance to try something new and feel so special for a day.
    And that cake looks delicious! Wow, they must be excited to have you aboard.

Leave a Reply

