Running Business

You may have noticed that I have not been posting very much about running lately (or maybe you haven’t noticed, and maybe you don’t care). Truthfully I got into a bit of a running funk over the Christmas holidays, which lasted until February. I was running maybe one day a week (which definitely isn’t terrible, but I was half-assing it most of the time), usually on the treadmill, because I am not sure I’m really a fan of winter running.

And you know how I feel about the treadmill

It is so hard for me to be motivated on the treadmill.

But I really want to run my first 10k in May, so I figured it was time to get pumped up. To help me out in the motivation department, I downloaded the Couch to 10k app for my iPhone and just started it about halfway through.

(I used Couch to 5k when I first started running, so I can already run that distance…though I basically feel like I have to start over every time I take a break from the running thing.)

So the app is good. I like to have a goal to work towards to keep me into it, and I like that it is easing me into the 10k (a distance I never thought I would be able to run, because I am not a natural runner, as you may remember).

Since I have downloaded the app, I have actually only had to run a few times on the treadmill, as it has been insanely gorgeous outside lately and the perfect condition for outdoor runs!

Seriously, what the hell is this?! I am not complaining, but is this still winter? What is going on? I would be afraid for our climate if I wasn’t so busy enjoying the beautiful weather. (Oh and yes, I use Celsius, because I am Canadian. That is high 60s/low 70s I guess for you cheeky Americans, and it is really rare that it would be this warm at this time of year here. And please note if we Canadians did actually live in igloos they would have melted and we would be homeless.)

I do really like the app, but I’ve noticed that sometimes it just jumps ahead. For example, it will tell me to run straight for 20 minutes, and then 15 minutes in it will tell me to walk for three minutes. And I am torn because I know the 20 minutes isn’t up, but it really would be nice to just walk early…so that demotivates me. Walk time already? Welllll alright, you twisted my arm…

It is “cheating” (myself, I am cheating myself), but it’s hard to resist.

At first I thought this was happening because I was closing the program and changing songs on my iTunes, or using my RunKeeper app simultaneously or something (so I can track my distance), but it does it even if I leave it open and don’t touch it. So I don’t know what is up with that, but I am not a fan.

Otherwise the app is good (but if anyone happens to use that app and has had that happen before, please let me know if there is a way to make it stop).

Oh yeah, and I did also see a typo in the program:

You goal? What is that?

At least it didn’t say “You’re goal”, or I probably would have deleted the app and boycotted the program.

So for the past few weeks I have been running about three days a week using the app, and then one day just 5k straight. I have actually been running so much that although running outside compared to the treadmill makes me feel like this:

I have still been getting bored of my residential route.

So on Wednesday I decided to try something different, and I drove to a path I know on Lake Ontario try out a new running route.

It was quite sexy. Definitely Instagram-able. I really wish I could just walk out my front door and that would be my scenery.

I will just say, going from running not much at all, to running a few times a week, I noticed an immediate change in my body. I felt better about myself almost instantly. I wish I could just bottle that feeling and open it up when I am in a workout funk, because I sometimes forget how good it feels to just move and do things. But it is so easy to succumb to lazinesss. I feel like you are sedentary for a few days and it just snowballs into no exercise for a week. It’s important to keep the momentum, so you can remember how good it feels!

And also, I have said it before and I will say it again, running is the only thing that I find keeps everything “in check” body-wise (snug pants-wise).

Anyway, that’s what has been up with me on the running front. And I have been working on a cartoon post about the worst day of my life (don’t worry, the worst day of my life is now funny and a good story) for a while now, and I hope to post it by next week. It’s taking a while, but I like to take my time on my silly drawings.

I hope you guys have an awesome Friday!

12 responses to “Running Business

  1. Oooooh, good luck lady!!! I hope you decide to post more about your training- I’m training for my first 5k in a month and we both have a really similar attitude about running and training – it’ll be so much fun to keep up with!

    • Thank you! And thank you for saying that. I sometimes assume no one cares about my training because it isn’t a great distance. Most of the running bloggers I read are training for marathons so I sometimes feel inadequate talking about my little 5k run. But it’s all relative! Thank you for reminding me of that, and good luck with your training!

  2. 4 things:
    1) your pictures are so funny! I love them
    2) thank you for translating what 20C is in F. I was about to google that.
    3) that route is beautiful!
    4) you can totally do a 10k! just stick with it, and you’ll be great!

  3. Did you sign up for that 10k in May already? I say just do the walk break. No harm in that! I love me some walk breaks.
    I think long distance running keeps me fatter. I’m always hungry. I hate my pants. (Not the bunny. But my actual pants.)

  4. Treadmill running is the worst. My friend donated me her treadmill when she moved to Italy and it is sitting by my couch, being used as a drying rack for my clothes, as I sit on the couch and watch Modern Family and the Bachelor. I had good intentions of watching my weekly lineup from the treadmill, but that hasn’t happened. I completely get what you’re saying about the endorphin release working out gives you. I’ve recently started eating right again, going to a morning boot camp and being outside with the beautiful weather. It just improves my mood so much and makes me feel better about myself, too. I sort of wish I was in Canada so I could go on runs with you! (I’m not creepy. Well, I suppose I could be, but I won’t show up and want to go jogging…promise.)

    • haha, I feel you. Watching high quality TV (like The Bachelor and Modern Family) makes me want to curl up in a ball on my couch with my kitty…not run anywhere, or do any sort of physical activity. I’m still bored when I am running because I am just thinking about how awesome it would be to not be running and just leisuring instead.

      I wish you were in Canada so you could go on runs with me! I don’t even care if you’re creepy! There’s no way you’re more creepy than the fruit guy, and I’d even let him come along (for refueling purposes, of course).

  5. I am so happy to hear someone also training for a shorter race. I feel silly sometimes talking about my 41 min 5k b/c the majority of the other blogs I read are all like “i just ran a easy 4 miles in 12 min” and I’m like WHAT?!?! I would LOVE to do a 10k this year. I should sign up for one.
    I also love finding typos so much. It’s like this little prize that someone put there on purpose. I know they don’t but its fun to think so anyway.
    And yes, thank you for the C to F conversion. I was going to Google it too. 😉

  6. Pingback: Back in the Saddle | Happy or Hungry

  7. Pingback: Back in the Saddle | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

