So This is What’s Up

I have been wondering how I was going to address this, or if I would at all on here, because the last thing I want to be is a Negative Nancy/Debbie Downer.

(source)

I also can’t staaaaand it when people are fishing for compliments, and I strongly dislike the feeling I get when I suspect someone is feeling sorry for me. It makes me feel awkward (so do NOT, I promise I am fine).

But I have noticed lately that a ton of people have been scouring my blog for details, and actually searching various phrases that might turn something up. I did not expect that to happen, but I guess when you blog about your life and you mention the important people in it and then suddenly stop, peeps be curious. I understand. Totally expected, and I’d probably be the same.

I’m sure most of you have probably already guessed this anyway, and I can’t stand to be cryptic. I think I speak for everyone when I say that this is one of the worst things in the world:

So think twice before you put “Today sucks” as your Facebook status and then don’t include any details. It’s annoying.

So anyway, if you have been reading my blog for a while, you probably noticed that I used to post a lot about Andrew (and various other names for him), and now I do not. This is because we have broken up. It has been a couple months now, and we are currently in the process of selling our house. This is why I was staying at my Dad’s, and this is the main reason why my blogging has been so sporadic over the last several months. I feel like I was in a huge funk for the entire months of December and January. I just didn’t feel like myself. So that’s what’s been going on, and that is all the detail I feel comfortable sharing on the relationship-front.

But I will say this: breakups suck. They just suck. It doesn’t matter if you’re the breaker upper, the break-upee, if it was mutual, or whatever, it sucks. Especially if it was a long-term relationship and you live together/own a house together, because no matter how you look at it, your entire life is changing, and that is stressful. No getting around it.

I am a fairly stress-free person on the reg. I do not worry about a lot of things (almost to a fault actually), because I would rather be happy, and I don’t feel like negative (fairly trivial) things are worth my thoughts. You know, don’t worry about the things you can’t change, don’t sweat the small stuff, and all that jazz. I try to embrace that. I feel like I can handle a lot before I get to breakdown territory (hello, Captain Hook). I am an optimist. My glass is never half-empty. I am truly either happy or hungry.

But even happy optimists have their moments. Everyone has a bad day. Yesterday was mine. I feel like everything caught up to me. Work is a busy-fest, and normally I could handle it, but regular life is a busy-fest too. Dealing with house stuff and apartment hunting… Everything is kind of up and the air and unstable, and that bothers me. My life just doesn’t feel normal to me right now.

But I know this is a temporary feeling, and things will work out. They always do. Always!

So I have been trying to focus on the positive, familiar things in my life. The things that make me feel like me. And then I feel better about things being weird right now.

Let’s talk about those things:

Winnie.

Winnie was born under my friend Emily‘s neighbour’s air conditioner when I was in Grade 6, and I have owned her ever since. She was just a little kitty when I got her, and now she is about 18. I have had her for nearly two thirds of my life! Winnie has come everywhere with me, and has been through it all. She has the kindest, loving, most gentle soul in the world (not just cat soul, all souls), and there is nothing more comforting to me than snuggling with her. She is the best.

She feels like home.

My coworkers.

It is so nice to come into the office every morning and see the familiar and smiling faces of people who genuinely love me (even though they make fun of me constantly). It is the one constant in my life that makes everything else feel normal, because as busy as thing are at work right now, it is still a part of my regular routine. And my coworkers are all so supportive and understanding.

My friends.

I am fortunate to have so many amazing friends. So many of them have offered to help me move that I feel overwhelmed with gratitude, and most of them have said I could bunk with them if I needed to crash anywhere (and I am currently staying with my friends’ Dawn and Mark, and it is the most positive atmosphere ever). Their generosity makes me feel warm and fuzzy. We have also been having a lot of hilarious times lately, so of course that helps quite a lot.

Running.

As much as I used to hate running, when it comes to releasing tension and aggression, there is really nothing like it. I feel soo much better about everything after a run.

Plus, I have a new little running buddy!

Dawn and Mark’s dog Bolt. He is so cute, and a good little runner. I’ve been taking him out with me lately, and he is a big fan.

We are now besties.

This jar of peanut butter that is currently residing in my office and I am eating by the spoonful.

I don’t think it is possible to be unhappy while you are eating peanut butter straight out of the jar.

The cards I found from my Nana when I was cleaning out my basement.

She loves cards, as you may remember from the regifted Valentine’s Day card. She adds stickers, and writes the best messages about my dreams coming true. I love it.

And of course my family has been pretty awesome as well.

And you guys. The most random comments will absolutely make my day. The other day I noticed that someone “liked” four of my posts, and then left a comment and said “I like everything you post,” and I had a little love burst for that person. Made my morning. I noticed later that it was a spambot, and totally a spam comment, but still…the love burst stayed with me. I love that spammer.

So in the midst of suckiness, things are actually quite good. It is important to remember the GOOD things, because as crappy as things may seem, they can ALWAYS be worse. I am thankful for all the great things in my life, and I think we should all be thankful we are not this cat:

(source)

(Just a note: Please don’t comment saying you are worried about me or anything else that would sound like you are feeling sorry for me. I am fine. I just needed to vent and I wanted to do it in a fairly positive way. If anything, tell me how you stay positive when things are a little on the sucky side in your life!)

37 responses to “So This is What’s Up

  1. I wish I could get some happy spam comments. That would make my day also. When I’m feeling blue, I turn up the music in my apartment and Lucee and I have a dance party. I tried to teach her the cha cha slide one time because I thought it would be super cute if she could do it, but alas, there are some things that Lucee cannot do. Love your attitude!

    • This comment was beautiful. Made me laugh. Now that I have seen a picture of both you and Lucee I can visualize this happening! I love a good dance party though, I am going to have to start incorporating Winnie into them.

  2. TAGGEEEEEOOOO

    GOOOOOOO LINDSEY!!!! That was me having a team cheer for you by myself at my desk

  3. Hey lady, I’m so sorry to hear about the breakup. Isn’t it always awkward to talk about on a blog? They are tough, but you’re tougher. Keep on keeping on, Linds 🙂

    • YES. So awkward. And when I read about other bloggers talking about their breakups I always think how awkward it must be… I didn’t know if I would say anything at all, but since people are searching for deets about it, I thought it was best to address it.

  4. I like all of your posts- not a spam bot, just a true story 🙂

  5. Nobody could write a post about this as graceful as you have. Nicely said, Lindsey.

  6. This is your chance to move to Orlando and be my bestie. Just saying. And I think that spammer knew you needed some cheering up. Spammers are people too afterall.
    I’ll have to say, one thing I love about you is how positive you are. I need to be more like that! So come visit me so you can rub some of that positivity on me. If you end up hating me, then you can still go to Disney and call it a day. It’s really a win-win.

    • haha, don’t tempt me, I’ll do it! No really, I am doing it. When it gets a little chillier here I am soo down for a little warm vacation action. And obviously I will love you.
      I have always thought you were an extremely positive person as well actually, so if you’re not you hide it well!

  7. GIRL i am with ya there. im a happy optimistic person and i hate worrying about stuff etc, but shoot it is bound to happen you are gonna have bad days! part of life right?
    on the other hand – you hid it well and even though i am an avid reader of your blog and such, i didnt notice anything major was going on so you did a good job of hiding it! I figured the lack of blog posts was busy-ness of real life! 🙂
    Anyway, i know you will be fine because you’re a badass like that!

    • I knew you were a happy optimist, I can just tell by the way you write. And of course you are, as we are practically twins.
      It is funny, even though things were not the greatest, I was still mostly genuinely happy. But it was hard blogging about my every day life, which I used to a lot more. Much easier to just talk about random things. But yes, lots of real life busy-ness too!

  8. Your new running partner is adorable! Is he an american eskimo? I have one as well and she is an awesome running buddy, however she is getting older and is really more of an awesome sit on the couch buddy! You have a great attitude and I love your blog, your comic posts always make me laugh out loud!

    • He IS an American Eskimo! And he is also an awesome sit on the couch buddy! He has totally sold me on that breed. When I get a dog one day, it just may be an American Eskimo, because he is pretty perfect (he’s a jerk to other dogs a little bit, but meh).

      Thanks Jenn!

  9. I also love all your posts. AND I’m not a spambot. Or a robot. Or an alien. I’m just a person. Well, not “just,” of course. I am many interesting things. Probably I won’t list them all for you here, though. Above all, I am random. You probably wouldn’t have guessed that, though. So I said it. Because I am very subtle.

  10. Breakups do suck. I went through a break up awhile ago, and then we got back together, and I blogged about both…which was weird, but it was a good way to vent.

    Winnie and Bolt are cute!

  11. Boo, breakups do suck. I usually fall into a huge funk but looks like you got a huge support system and other good things going on.

    I love Bolt and want to dognap him. I would even come up to Canada to do so.

    Hang in there 🙂

  12. Nothing better than PB in a jar eaten with spoon.
    What I always do when I am down in the dumps, is think back to other times when I was down in the dumps. Wait, that seems weird right? Not at all. I remember back to those times and reflect on how after a while, it wasn’t sucky anymore. I healed/got over it/moved on…etc… So that will happen with this too. I look forward to the time when it’s not like this anymore, b/c I KNOW that time will come. It always has and it always will. 🙂

    • I do this too! Like the Captain Hook thing, I keep using that as an example, but that day absolutely everything that could have gone wrong went wrong…and everything turned out A-okay! What is honestly the WORST that can happen? Nothing. Things will always get better. It’s hard to believe that sometimes, but it is the truth. And things are already a million times better today 🙂

  13. ❤ ❤ That is all.

    And I totally DO love everything you post.

    (Did I just spam you?)

  14. Breaking up does suck. Once I broke up with a total jerk. I still cried my eyes out. And it still broke my heart. So sorry 😦
    I followed the link to the story about your nana and the Valentine card and oh my gosh that is so precious. I laughed and teared up! What a dear.

  15. Bolt is the cutest thing everrrr. I want to dog-nap him.

    Breakups suck a big one, no getting around that. But I think you have a great attitude about it and thing can only go up from here right? 🙂 And I agree with everyone else. I love everything you post!

  16. Pingback: And Everything is Groovy | Happy or Hungry

  17. I am not a spammer and I love everything you post! I know I can always come to your blog to get a chuckle, thanks! Breakups suck no matter what…it just means that the right man is still out there waiting for you to find him, though. Congrats on the new apartment and your new beginning!

  18. Pingback: We Be Long Weekend’n’ (and I be usin’ poor grammar) | Happy or Hungry

  19. Lindsey, you are the most positive person I know! I miss being around your sunshine. I loved your post. I know things have tough, but you are doing great. I heart you!
    Though, I’m kinda sad that I leave work for a year and I’m now no longer in the co-worker pictures. 😦

  20. Pingback: New Horizons | Happy or Hungry

  21. Pingback: My Year in Review | Happy or Hungry

  22. Pingback: Get Back on the Horse | Happy or Hungry

  23. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources bahk too
    your site? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and
    my usefs would truly benefit from some of the information you present
    here. Please let mee know if this alright with you.
    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

