I Love Your Blog, Dawg.

I need to clear something up, as many of you asked in my last post. Poutine is fries covered with cheese curds and gravy. Apparently it is only a Canadian thing (and possibly a New Orleans thing?) which I don’t understand at all, as it isn’t exactly difficult to come up with. It’s fries. With cheese and gravy. I don’t know why this is such a foreign concept.

If you have never tried it, you’re missing out. It’s amazing. Just so delicious. And absolutely terrible for you, so I only have it a couple times a year. You can make it with shredded cheese too, but cheese curds are better, in my opinion. The cheese gets all melty and perfectly stringy.

Anyway, glad that’s out of the way…

Not much is new over here. My Wonderland and prom adventures are basically all I’ve been up to this week besides work stuff. And sometimes my work is exciting, but not so much right now. Right now it’s just busy. I have been glued to my computer for the past few days working on my organization’s magazine, which is a time consuming little sucker. But I do love it when it’s done and all glossy and fab looking!

So not really doing anything = I don’t have much to talk about. But thankfully a couple of my fellow bloggers tagged me in an award! This means I have things to talk about AND I don’t have to do a lot of thinking. Win-win.

It was two different awards actually, but they are basically the same thing: talk about your favourite blogs. There are a few other rules, but I am choosing to ignore them. I read a lot of blogs (usually, I have been slacking lately), so I just want to tell you about the illustrated blogs I have been loving lately, and maybe you will love them too.

Here they are:

Touch of Embellishment

I don’t remember how I discovered Erica’s blog, probably from Stephanie (who I will get to in a moment), as I seem to discover all my new blog lovers from her. But the first post I read was called Dirty Fruit Man, and it lured me in immediately.

She is a story-teller like moi, and she beautifully illustrates her posts. The facial expressions of her characters really make me laugh, and her stories remind me of my own! We have a kindred spirit for sure. Weird things definitely happen to us both (my friend Beth always tells me that she thinks weird things happen to me because I can take it, and Erica, I think you can take it too!)

Erica herself reminds me a lot of my friend Catherine (who also has a blog, Kitten The Cat), so I immediately sent Catherine the link to the dirty fruit man post and we laughed about a similar story we have from when we used to work together at Dairy Queen (I will illustrate it one day, so I can’t tell you about it just yet).

Upon discovering Erica’s blog, I read through the entire thing. I couldn’t stop. She just kills me! I talked to Catherine about it later, and she mentioned she did the same, went back and read every post. So yeah, I think Erica is awesome, and I can’t get enough of her stories. Go read her blog. Or at least this post.

Clay Baboons

I love Stephanie. I followed along with her first blog, Love Life Project, and I loved her then. I really liked that she called herself a happy-living blog, because I think I am kind of a happy-living blog as well, so I could relate. And then she started her new blog, Clay Baboons, and I cannot rave about her enough. She is ridiculously creative with all her clay figurines, and she puts so much effort into her posts.

(source)

She also may be one of the nicest people I know (and yes I do feel like I know her, it’s funny how blogging works that way. Plus, we are Facebook friends, so of course that means we are real-life friends). And she makes me laugh. That is very important.

Blunder Construction

I will be honest, I just discovered Hailey’s blog two days ago. She sent me an insanely awesome tweet about how she thought that I was funny, and then she instantly became my favourite.

Just so you are all aware, if you tell me I am funny, I will love you for life. It’s my favourite compliment. It’s even better if the person who tells you that you are funny is also funny, because it makes your funniness more legit since they are funny, and funny people should be able to recognize funniness when they see it. It is a cycle of funniness. So I went over to Blunder Construction to see if Hailey was funny so I could fully bask in the glow of her funny compliment, and oh man. She is funny.

First of all, she has an awesome cat, so we share that in common…

(That is her cat, Jelly)

She has an entire page devoted to Jelly (and she loves him so much she recently made him a cat birthday cake, and I’m probably going to copy that recipe), she has probably the best bio I’ve ever seen (and I’m probably going to copy that also), and then there is the Blank the Kitty section.

Effing genius. May also copy.

Thank you for tweeting to me Hailey, and saying that I’m funny! I’m excited that I found you.

Creative Devolution

Violet just kills me with hilariousity. I don’t even know what else to say about her. I laugh out loud every time I read her (but not LOL, I don’t do that). She is so funny and her illustrations are awesome.

This is another blog I read almost in entirety when I discovered it. And I am so impressed with how often she posts, because I know how long those drawings take! She’s amazing. And I am just in awe of her creativity. I’d like to kidnap her brain.

And I really need to give a shout-out to the beautiful Eden from Eden Eats Everything.

Her blog is not illustrated, but I love her, and she always makes me laugh. She is going through an extremely difficult time right now, as her father has a fatal brain tumour and things are just not good there… But even in the midst of dealing with that, she still makes me laugh! It has really put my own life and problems in perspective, and makes me never want to complain about anything again. If she can still find a way to be positive despite all the crappiness (understatement and a half) in her life, so can I. For sure.

So please send Eden some love. I am sure she could use all of our positive thoughts.

And I hope you enjoy the rest of these amazing bloggers as well!

15 responses to “I Love Your Blog, Dawg.

  1. Thank you! I’m going to send this post to all my family and friends because you said such nice things about me that I want to make sure and point it out to all those I know so they can fully appreciate my talent. Hahaha! Just kidding. Sort of. I am really going to send this to my family.

  2. thanks for sharing! hailey def has the most awesome bio EVER! haha

  3. Can I print this out and hang it on my fridge?! I am so flattered!! Please copy everything you want to, because I want to copy your illustrated search terms. That’s what originally got me hooked on your blog – utterly hilarious! So happy we connected 🙂

    • Oh it should definitely go on your fridge, just for Jelly! That picture of him is amazing, I died when I saw it. Totally doing that to my own cat and putting it on my own fridge. You have given me so many ideas re: my cat!

  4. Thank you for this Lindsey. I totally love you. I’m so honoured, especially coming from you, because you KNOW that I’m one of your biggest fans. (Spam alert?) And someday we’ll eat beautiful, beautiful poutine together. Except – and I have to say this, because I’m French – poutine in Quebec is better than poutine in Toronto. So maybe I’ll pick some up on the drive West.

  5. ok a few things…
    Now that you describe Poutine it doesn’t sound as horrible as it originally looked. All of those things are delish, so might as well put them together? Works with most things prob except for maybe brownies and nacho cheese. Anyway
    THANK you for all the links!! I love the funniness and I think you are hysterical so if you like these then they MUST be good! I’m off to stalk.
    AND I agree with you, being called funny is one of the best compliments IMO. And I will give you a love burst today b/c I think are you super super funny and thank you for making me laugh!! 😉

  6. This post is amazing!

    I cannot wait to start reading all the other blogs that I did not know about that you mentioned!

  7. I love Erica and Stephanie’s blog, so I’ll have to check out the others you listed.

    I like fries, gravy, and cheese, so I’ll have to give poutine a try!

  8. Erm fries, gravy and cheese is a HIGE thing in the UK 🙂 sooo tasty. They also do it with curry sauce instead of gravy!

  9. Pingback: I like to play | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

