Show Ya Shades O’ Fun

I am a big fan of funny glasses, you may have noticed. I wear them a lot.

I even wore them to “prom“.

And my friends enjoy wearing glasses as well.

And my Nana, she likes the glasses…

Even random people at the bar like to wear glasses!

And people who look important, they wear glasses.

And dogs!

I like to call that look the “condescending glasses,” or the “Jason Priestley expression.”

I have a point to all these glasses pictures, I promise.

May is Vision Health Month, and the Canadian National Institute for the Blind (CNIB) is working to raise the awareness of eye health, with a special focus on protecting your eyes from UV-related damage (no, the glasses I have posted are not going to do ish to protect your eyes, but I needed a segue. And I wanted to post pictures of the glasses).

Everyone is always raving on about how important it is to protect your skin from the sun, and yes, of course it is. But what about your beautiful eyes?! UV rays can lead to permanent vision loss. And not just staring at the sun (everyone knows not to stare at the sun); a lifetime of sun exposure can break down the blood vessels and tissues in your eyes, and is responsible for most vision loss past the age of 60. It is scary!

This is a subject that really hits home for me, as my Nana’s sister (my “Auntie”) was legally blind for the last 20 years of her life. She could sometimes see blurs if they were colourful enough, but she never got to see what my brother and I looked like (which is just a damn shame).

It’s so important to protect those puppies with yo’ UV-protected sunnies. Squinting isn’t very attractive either, so I pretty much live in my sunglasses in the summer.

As part of the Shades of Fun campaign, CNIB is calling on all Canadians (I’m sure you can join in if you’re American, or wherever you’re from) to put on some sexy virtual shades and share your sensual self on Facebook and Twitter. You can do this by going to showyourshades.ca.

If you follow me on Twitter, you will see I have already done this.

I have chosen to channel my inner Top Gun, but there are a ton of options to choose from.

And I will be wearing my real-life shades loud and proud all summer long.

Also, remember: glasses = hot.

10 responses to “Show Ya Shades O’ Fun

  1. It’s a life goal of mine to wear ‘those’ glasses on your blog.

  2. And I’m definitely doing this too haha. Virtual shades are sexy! So is vision though. Vision is definitely sexy.

  3. For some reason, I’m drawn to the dame edna glasses. Great post, Lindsey..I’ve been wearing glasses since I was 7 or 8, so I’ve learned to take my poor vision for granted in some ways…but I definitely don’t want it to get any worse (and my eyes are so sensitive to sunlight, I wear sunglasses on days where there isn’t a chance of seeing sunlight)!

  4. Is that your dog? So cute!

  5. I think you should buy real life Top Gun shades.
    Also, you really have quite the collection of glasses pictures going. Well done!

Leave a Reply

