What is Up With the Internets

Bonjourno! It is Friday! Yes yes. I have a couple of internet-related things that I would like to get off my chest before my (mostly) internet-free weekend.

What is up with this new article reader thing on Facebook?

Yes, I would like to read about how Miley Cyrus forgot her underwear. Who doesn’t? Of course I click on it. But then this happens:

Which is fine, except…

Um, no. Noo thank you. Just because I feel like reading about how Miley Cyrus forgot to wear underwear, does not mean I would like everyone I have known in my entire life to know that I am reading articles about Miley Cyrus forgetting to wear underwear.

WTF Facebook/Yahoo? Why do my Facebook friends need to know what articles I’m reading? Sometimes I read things that are not reflective of my geniosity, and it’s embarrassing. This has really been bothering me. I just want to read the article, I don’t want everyone to know! If I like something, believe me, I’ll share it. You gotta be so careful on the internets, man. They are sneaky.

Anyway, whatever, I just go over to Google and type in the headline so that I can continue to read trashy articles safely.

The Oatmeal had a genius comic on this (click that link to check it out).

I was reading it and I was banging my fist on my desk saying “That is exactly what I do!” Ah, The Oatmeal gets me.

And this is why no one likes you, Yahoo. You just continue to suck.

My next item of bitchiness is also internet related. What is going on with Pinterest lately? It was so much better before it got all popular, but now all the idiots have made accounts and are ruining it for everyone (as idiots always do). Just pinning random stupid things that no one cares about, or things that don’t link to anything, or have absolutely no purpose, or pinning things in the complete wrong category (like pictures of kittens in the DIY category)…or people writing me hate comments because I repinned a quote I liked that says it was said by the wrong person.

It’s hard to read, but it says: You say that you love rain, but you open your umbrella when it rains. You say that you love the sun, but you find a shadow spot when the sun shines. You say that you love the wind, but you close your windows when wind blows. This is why I am afraid; You say that you love me too…

That’s not even Shakespearean language, I know this, but I really liked the quote and I couldn’t find another picture of it, so I didn’t care. I have done some googling, and apparently the original author is unknown.

Perhaps I am the idiot here for repinning a quote that is said by the wrong person, but that is not the point. The point is, who cares? People have too much time on their hands. Go police your own pins. I don’t have time to fact check everything I pin, come on now.

So anyway, those are my two internet rants…

And I do have a few things I would like to share:

The Trustworthiness of Beards. I would be okay if people knew I was reading that. It is informative, and also funny.

This major cat fail:

(That made me laugh so hard)

The Grapist:

Annnnd 48 Things That Will Make You Feel Old.

It made me feel pretty old.

Have a good weekend!

20 responses to “What is Up With the Internets

  1. That Steve picture doesn’t really make me feel old. It does, however, make me feel like I want to shower. Gross, Steve. What would Mailbox think?!

  2. Oh. My. Gosh. I do the SAME thing with that dumbass article headline thing on fb. I hate anything that says it will “post in my behalf” and then yes I go google it!
    And lately on pinterest I pin awesome recipes and stuff and ppl r dumbasses and just pin the picture with no link which doesn’t help me!

  3. I have def had the same frustration with that article thing on FB. I just want to read the stupid article. Sheesh. I’ve seen that kitty video and it made me laugh so hard I cried. I like the music addition on this one though, it really added to the overall effect. I could watch it all day probably.

  4. THANK YOU for ranting about those damn Yahoo articles! I have the same issue. I also like to read things that I don’t desire broadcasting to 500 people on Facebook (we all do it), and would like some privacy when I do so. Signing in with an app to read an article is ridiculous. Nowadays, it seems like every company needs to lock you in somehow.

    I stay off of Pinterest for several reasons, only using it to basically “bookmark” recipes. I like that quote, too. No need to get panties twisted over the wrong author {especially when you can’t easily change the name on a picture}.

  5. Because I wasn’t feeling old enough already I just had to go and click on that link. *sigh*

  6. I went and deleted 95% of my pins, because I just wasn’t using it anymore. Honestly, I think it’s addictive at first, but it quickly lost its appeal for me. And I TOTALLY agree with the yahoo/facebook thing.

  7. The Blue’s Clues didn’t make me feel old as much as gross. lol

  8. Haha I never do that FB thing either but mostly b/c it will upgrade me to timeline and I don’t want that (I am a stubborn holdout). I did not note the other disadvantage, thank you!

    And Steve is bald?? Oh my.

  9. I noticed that thing about yahoo articles on FB too and I was super annoyed by it! I edited the settings on that one real quick haha. Hope you have a great weekend!

  10. I always want to read those articles too! But I never do, because I don’t need everything to post to Facebook!

  11. Haha I also saw that Oatmeal comic and thought “yup, I do exactly that.” Poor strategy, Yahoo…. poor strategy.

  12. I feel like that picture of Steve must have been taken out of context. Like. . . maybe salt and pepper made him a particularly wonderful meal or something. Why else would Steve be licking his lips like the star of some Cinemax “After Hours” special?

  13. I noticed that Yahoo thing on FB too. You can change that setting so it doesn’t post. But I say, why not? Why not let people know we’re reading if The Biebs prefers boxers or briefs.

Leave a Reply

