No Routine? Eat All The Things!

I had definitely planned on recapping my weekend by now, but I was feeling a bit lazypants on Sunday and just not really in the mood for blogging, and yesterday I worked for 12 hours, so…did not happen.

Anyway, nothing too exciting went down. I went out with these beauties on Friday…

And these lovely gals on Saturday…

And both nights were a LOT of fun.

But what I would really like to talk about today is how terrible my eating has been lately.

I’m not kidding. Genuinely. No exaggeration here. I have been eating like absolute garbo, and it needs to stop.

Some of this has been documented on here. Actually, I was thinking the other day that when I post about food it is usually on the healthy side, but the last few months it has just been (ridiculously delicious) crap.

Like the ginormous calzone…

(and that was after all the wedding shower food)

The Wonderland funnel cake (and not to mention the poutine)…

And oh God, the froyo

Annnnd the nachos

Kraft Dinner (more than once)…

And kind of a lot of this goodness:

And some other food items that I haven’t mentioned on here, like this basket of amazingness:

And over the weekend I had McDonalds TWICE. And pizza twice. And a huge plate of greasy (but amazingly delicious) Chinese food.

It is not good (but at the same time it is so, so good.)

If I don’t stop this, I am going to RAPIDLY gain weight. I probably already have. I haven’t weighed myself since before Christmas so it’s hard to say, but my workouts have been sporadic as well, and my clothes definitely feel a little more snug than usual.

This kind of eating is unlike me. Obviously I enjoy delicious and unhealthy food fairly often, and I feel that all of the above foods SHOULD be included in even the healthiest of diets. But I never eat this much crap in this short a time, unless I’m on vacation or something. In my regular, every day life, I rarely eat out and I mostly make all my meals myself (you know this if you have followed my blog for more than six months, back when I used to post about what I ate every day). I eat breakfast at home, I bring my lunch to work, and I’m home for dinner. I eat out maybe once or twice a week. And no, I don’t say no to cookies.

But now…meh. I don’t have a routine. I am staying with friends, eating kind of whatever, whenever, and I haven’t been grocery shopping in a month. All my regular habits have gone out the window.

Don’t get me wrong here, I am staying with my friend Sherrie and I LOVE it. I feel like Sherrie is my sister! And her parents are super awesome and treat me like their own daughter. It is the most positive environment ever and I will be forever grateful.

But on the eating front, I’ve completely lost my groove. I can’t say no to anything that is offered to me. And no matter how close you are with someone, and how comfortable you feel with them, making food in someone elses’ kitchen is awkward. Hence my eating out.

Plus I have been out a LOT more than usual, and just generally busy, so this does not help.

And yes, I know I am making excuses here. If I really wanted to eat healthy, I would. But for me, when I’m out of my routine, I just don’t care. I don’t. I just want to eat all the things!

(Credit to Allie from Hyperbole and a Half for her original Clean All The Things drawing)

It does make me feel guilty though. Pretty sure I raved on all Sunday about how terrible I’ve been eating, but then when Sherrie and my friend Lisa asked me if I wanted to go out for dinner I was all “Um, YES!” So, I am le hypocrite (though I did veto going to the all-you-can-eat Mandarin, and we went out for Mexican and my meal was semi healthy).

But as of Sunday, I will have a home base again. I move on Sunday! Into my OWN place with my OWN kitchen, and I could not be more excited. I am just pumped to have my own space (I hate that line for some reason), and to get some sort of a routine going on.

I may still be eating crappily, we shall see. And I may just have to find something else to blame it on. Fingers crossed I will be back to normal though! I am a creature of routine, truly. Though of course I love a good unplanned adventure thrown in.

Hmm…I had an ending to this and now I’ve forgotten what it was. I bet it was funny too. Oh well.

Edited because I read this over and found a million typos.

18 responses to “No Routine? Eat All The Things!

  1. You look like you are handling all that deliciousness just fine! Congrats on the new place!

  2. I went to New Orleans for 4 days last summer and gorged on po’ boys, beignets, egg and sausage breakfasts, etc. I was craving salad when I got home. But it’s good to live a little–I know I would have regretted going to New Orleans and not eating a beignet or going to Montreal two years ago and not eating poutine!

  3. Good luck with your move! I’m moving this weekend, too. But I’m excited to not have to hide my junk food from my roommates anymore.

  4. Don’t feel bad girlie we all get into these types of little funks. I feel like if I atleast eat one healthy thing in my day that I tend to not feel as bad when I eat a few not so great things. All of that stuff looks awesome btw!! Especially the fro yo! My fro yo always looks quite similar!

    • I don’t feel TOO bad…just a little guilty, you know. Yeah, my friends pointed out that I am just in an eating stage right now. Happens to everyone, I know!
      And oh yes, a cookie a day!
      It was my first time getting froyo, so I had to go a little crazy.

  5. I am JUST now starting to rein in my very similar eating habits. Why are all the bad things SO GOOD?

    PS– You may want to credit hyperbole and a half for your tribute drawing before HER hunger monster attacks.

    • I know, it sucks! Mine must be reined in if I don’t want to wake up one day and suddenly be 400 pounds.

      And thank you, good call! I have credited.

      • An additional thank you to you because I just updated my blog for the first time since November, JUST IN CASE my comment caused someone to look at my link. God, I love peer pressure motivation.

  6. I know how you can eat better. Split all those meals with me. You get half the calories and in turn make me a happy girl. Problem solved. 🙂

  7. Well I think all that food looks delish. And you look great, so I say you are good to go. Its all about moderation right? I’m sure all those portions are smaller than they appear. Right? RIGHT? LOL. Can you throw up more pics of that fro-yo? I want to just stare at it. Or make it my computer background.

    • Well merci. It is about moderation, but there has been no moderation here… I would like to say the portions are smaller than they appear, but I think that would be a lie. The wings, for example, it looks like there are only a few…but there is a pound, they are just hiding.

      I think I shall eat more froyo so I can post more pics of it!

  8. Oh, the two-McDonald’s weekend. I’ve been there. It’s always a good time…

    Good luck getting back on track!

  9. #1: From your pictures, you are handling all that KD extremely well! Eat on, sistah friend!

    #2: MUST. EAT. FUNNELCAKE!

    #3: I’m glad I’m not the only one who bypasses the fruit section at Yogurty’s! If it doesn’t have high glucose corn syrup in it, it’s not a topping in my books. 😉

Leave a Reply

