Well This Is Just Ridiculous (traveling from Ontario to Campbell River, BC)

Oh my gawwwd, I cannot get over how well everything worked out yesterday. I was traveling for a total of 13 hours, and there were countless things that could have gone wrong, that I even expected to go wrong! But they didn’t! I was surprised, and I feel very thankful for an easy day of traveling.

My cousin Allie is getting married today on a little island off of Vancouver Island (near Campbell River, if anyone knows the island).

Me with my cousins Chrissy and Allie and their beautiful babies last fall. Allie is on the left.

So yesterday morning I made the big trek across Canada to the beautiful British Columbia.

Please note that Canada is huge. HUGE. My flight was five hours long. That is almost as long as it is from Ontario to England!

My brother Eric was meeting me at the Vancouver airport, and he already lives in BC, about a six hour drive from Vancouver. I was a little bit worried about this, as he was taking a Greyhound bus and then transferring to another bus to get him to the airport, and I know, like his big sister, he is not very bus savvy.

Somehow, he arrived at the airport at almost exactly the same time as me, and found me immediately. I was so happy and excited that I started jumping up and down like a four year old in the airport as soon as I saw him.

We picked up our rental car with no hassle, and made our way to the ferry!

We were taking the ferry from Vancouver to Nanaimo, and it was the first time I’ve ever been on a legit ferry (Toronto Island ferry does not count), so I didn’t know what to expect. We were early for boarding, which I was ALSO worried about because it’s a long weekend, so I thought we might have to wait for five hours. But we ended up being able to get on the next scheduled ferry, and we had an hour or so to kill after we parked our car in line, so we were able to peruse the marketplace a little bit. We had some lunch, and I had a taco salad with chicken that was amazing.

And then we noticed the gelato station…

So we had a little dessert. I snagged a cup of chocolate peanut butter while Eric went with cookies and cream.

So creamy and delicious.

And then I saw this amazingness.

Which I’m pretty sure is what Cely‘s dreams are made of.

But I was able to hold back. Though I’m not sure if I will be able to do the same on the way home.

The ferry itself was awesome. The sky was fairly overcast over the mountains so our view wasn’t as good as it could have been, but the sun was out directly over us and it was gloooorious.

And a little bit windy at times.

Vancouver weather in general really made me appreciate our weather in Toronto, where it is just sunny and hot. No surprise clouds or rain. It’s usually pretty beautiful for most of the summer. But Vancouver was extremely overcast, and I know the entire province of BC has been suffering a friggin’ lot of rain lately.

After about two hours, we reached Nanaimo, and easily departed from the ferry. We then made the two-hour drive up Vancouver Island to Campbell River.

Something I definitely noticed is how quickly the weather changes here. It went from sun, to rain, to overcast, to sun, to overcast, to rain, back and forth, our entire drive. It was still quite overcast over the mountains, but we did have some good views.

Ontario is so flat. It’s so nice to drive with mountains!

Once in Campbell River, we headed to Painter’s Lodge, the sister resort to April Point, where my cousin’s wedding is happening and where we are staying until Monday. When we walked into Painter’s Lodge, I immediately wanted to get a picture of the view, as it is right on the ocean and absolutely beautiful.

I thought I was being all sneaky taking that picture, but now that I look at it I see that everyone in it is watching me… They like it.

Painter’s Lodge really was beautiful.

But it was not our final destination. We went down to the dock to take a water shuttle over to April Point, which is on an island.

Our water taxi.

Eric and I arrived on the island, checked in, and headed to our cabin to quickly change before we saw everyone at dinner. Our room is awesome.

Eric gets to sleep on the pullout couch. 😉

The view from our patio is pretty awesome also!

There are whitecaps on the mountains behind the ones in the pic, but it is too overcast to see them. I saw them peaking (literally) out this morning, I’ll have to get a better pic if I can.

I can’t believe we are staying here for the weekend. I am so pumped. I also feel so incredibly lucky to have had our amazing beach view last weekend at Leah’s Bachelorette, and then this view this weekend. I just feel very blessed right now.

After we freshened up a bit we headed over to The Big House for dinner and to see everyone.

The dinner spread was ridiculous.

I was starving and absolutely loaded up my plate.

And we took in the beautiful views…

There are about 120 people coming to the wedding tomorrow, and at least half of them are staying at the resort and were at dinner. Since my Dad and his girlfriend do not arrive until tomorrow, Eric and I don’t know a lot of people, but we made new friends.

Allie and her husband-to-be Keith were both glowing with happiness. They were so excited to have everyone there, and many people made the trek from Ontario like I did. I’m so excited for the wedding later today.

Eric and I were exhausted from our traveling adventures, so we packed it in pretty early. We went on a small walk to explore the island first though, and along the way we saw a deer!

We wanted to get closer to it, but Eric, being a teenage boy, was all loud with his foot shuffling, so I instructed him to stay put and be quiet while I quietly snuck up to the deer.

For about 10 seconds, I was a deer whisperer. The deer actually came out of the bushes and started walking towards me. I thought she was going to come right up to me. I felt like Snow White!

But then I got shafted.

The deer said S’laters and ran off into the bushes.

And then we went home to bed and The End.

On the agenda for today is finding some breakfast (I am now three hours behind), and then Eric and I plan on renting some bikes and exploring the island. We hear there are bears so maybe we will see one! And then of course it is wedding time.

I hope you guys are all having a great weekend!

15 responses to “Well This Is Just Ridiculous (traveling from Ontario to Campbell River, BC)

  1. That looks so beautiful, have a great time!

  2. sisterhoodofthetravellingprof

    Enjoy the wedding Lindz, Penny needs the break. I can’t wait to see you next weekend 😉
    If Eric attempts to creep into your bed, let me know. I’ll give him a talking to.

  3. Don’t worry, there will be more deer. Sometimes I think there are more deer than people on the island! Hope the weather remains decent for you while you’re “up-island” as we say down here in Victoria, enjoy your visit. 🙂 If you have a chance, do the Pacific Buffet on your ferry ride back to the mainland, it’s worth the cost (so. much. food.) and is one of the best places on the boat to watch the scenery.

  4. Have a great time guys! I would love to visit BC sometime in my life! The scenery is beautiful! Enjoy your visit with family, weddings are such a happy occasion.

  5. This post makes my heart ache for BC. I lived on Vancouver Island, where the weather’s better. But the ocean, and the mountains…it’s just so beautiful in BC. Sometimes, if you’re lucky, you can see whales or dolphins from the ferry! Enjoy your trip!

  6. I can’t believe you didn’t eat that. I feel like I don’t even know you anymore.

  7. Pingback: Allie & Keith’s Beautiful Seaside Wedding | Happy or Hungry

  8. LOL to the deer saying “S’laters!” I would have run after that one. You can make some money with a talking deer.
    Also, I will take one of those Reese’s cookies. Hope you grabbed one on the way back.

  9. Pingback: Girls’ Day in the Mountains | Happy or Hungry

  10. Pingback: My Year in Review | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

