Mountain Goats

Monday morning Eric and I awoke at 5:00 am (ughhhh) so we could get an early start on our trip to Salmon Arm. It was a lonnnnnng drive.

The trip took us about eight hours in total, including the two-hour (ish) ferry ride. It didn’t feel that long though. I love driving, and the scenery was so beautiful, so the time sped right by.

Eric was a riveting road trip partner.

Well, I am half joking. He didn’t actually sleep for very long. And I don’t understand how he can fall asleep sitting up like that. That looks soo uncomfortable. Both he and my dad have no trouble falling asleep anywhere. I need to be lying down. I couldn’t even sleep on the plane on the way here, and I tried so hard.

It poured rain our entire drive on Vancouver Island, on the ferry ride, all the way to Vancouver. I was disappointed about this. I was really hoping we would have clear skies so I could fully see the mountains, but no dice. Cloud cover all the way. Tres boo.

We did have some great views on the ferry though, as we approached Vancouver.

Which I took pictures of from the safety and dryness of inside the boat.

And we saw a whale! I wasn’t able to get my camera out quickly enough to snap a pic, but it was so cool to see. I have never seen a whale not in an aquarium. I also completely forgot to mention that we saw dolphins on our first ferry ride, so that was pretty exciting too.

Once we made it out of Vancouver, it was pretty clear for the rest of our journey, and I was absolutely in awe of the views.

Finally some decent mountains! It was breathtaking.

I had my phone out the window snapping pictures for most of the way, and because Eric lives here he was all “It’s just another mountain…” But they excite me!

I was also a little afraid. The speed limit on the highways here is 90km an hour (they’re only 80 in Toronto unless you are on a major highway), and the roads are so windy through the mountains. It seemed a little fast for me, and I am not an extremely conservative driver or anything.

We finally made it to my mom and Eric’s house in Salmon Arm, where my awesome mom was waiting for us with her famous chicken soup.

I die for this soup. Ohh how I have missed it. She used to make it all the time, and I have been dreaming about it for years. I have tried, and I can’t make my soup taste the same as hers.

Eric had some friends over later, so for the rest of the evening we just hung out.

I had told Eric that one thing that I absolutely HAD to do while I was here was climb a mountain. So Tuesday morning Eric, his girlfriend Kenya, his best friend Dixon and I went mountain climbing.

And here is the mountain we climbed:

The Enderby Cliffs, about 20 minutes from Salmon Arm.

We picked a great day for it.

And I am kidding. We picked a HORRIBLE day for it. It poured rain the entire time. And I do mean poured. I have never been so wet while I was fully clothed.

Good thing my camera is waterproof (that’s about all it’s good for, it doesn’t take good photos at all). My hands were so swollen from the cold and rain it looked like I was wearing a fat suit.

But no worries, it was an adventure! And it was actually probably better that it wasn’t blazing hot. Also, there are bears there, and running into one was a bit of a concern. But I don’t think the bears were even crazy enough to come out in this weather. Just us. We didn’t see any wildlife.

It was a fairly tough hike at times. The trail zig-zagged along the face of the mountain, so most of it wasn’t too steep, but it was a pretty steady incline. Some parts were definitely trickier to navigate than others.

This is not one of them. The trickier parts required my full concentration, so no picture-taking. It was really pretty also. This picture is from pretty close to the top where the trail opened into a meadow.

We stopped halfway up to take some pics.

It took us a little over two hours to get to the top, and we were pretty speedy as we were so absolutely freezing that moving was the only way to keep warm.

It seemed to take forever, but we finally made it!

Eric and his girlfriend are so damn cute.

Standing on the edge was a bit scary, I’m not gonna lie. It was a lonnnng way down.

It would have been nice if it was sunny and the view was clear, but what can ya do?

It didn’t take us quite as long to get down, but it was a lot more tricky. The trail had turned into a legit mudslide, and it was really hard to stay upright. Everyone had an almost falling experience (which is always funny), and I actually did fall once. There was one section that was quite a steep incline and it was really slippery with mud, so I tried to step on the side of the trail, but the mud I stepped on started to slide down the mountain! I kind of fell with it, but was able to stay on the side of the trail. It was a bit of a close call, if I had kept falling I probably wouldn’t have been able to stop rolling down the mountain unless I hit a tree. But I was fine. Just covered in mud. And wet. Don’t forget wet. Luckily that was our only incident, and we all escaped the mountain unharmed.

We sat in the car for about 10 minutes with the heat on full blast to warm up. The hot shower I took when we got back was probably the best of my entire life.

The next day was actually sunny and HOT, so we went to the beach and did a little cliff climbing.

But that is a story for another post. I will see you guys later!

7 responses to “Mountain Goats

  1. On Eric’s blog it said only this, “and then my goddamn sister made us hike up a goddamn mountain in the goddamn rain. I’m not kidding.”

    You guys look TOTALLY prepared for inclement weather. . . like outdoor guides or something. . .

  2. http://www.touchofembellishment.com/p/blogger-awards-my-bloggy-friends.html
    Here are your answers to the blog award…from a long time ago. : ) Thanks!
    I think the hike looks….really fun. : )

  3. Pingback: Girls’ Day in the Mountains | Happy or Hungry

  4. You are like, the queen of outdoor exercise recently. Check you out! We have a flat road with some weeds on it that I often like to “hike” around here. And by hike, I mean walk quickly while holding pepper spray.

    • Well this post is actually from last year around this time, but I understand the confusion. And this was in BC, no mountains here sadly. Just tight caves. Maybe you should move to Ocala, and then you could go hiking.

  5. Pingback: Island Times with Eric | Happy or Hungry

  6. Pingback: Hip Hip Hooray for Summer Vacation! | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

