Girls’ Day in the Mountains

Gird your loins for a bunch of scenic mountain pictures!

Yep, just like that.

I was absolutely dead on Sunday. Just dead. I am not in college anymore; I can not party for 12 hours straight two days in a row and not feel the consequences. All of my shenanigans caught up with me, and I dreamed of lying in bed all day and eating chips and spooning my cat (or Lisa’s cat Charlie, who, by the way, has forgiven me for locking him in my suitcase for three days. He was all up in my grill wanting to snuggle.)

But, it was my last day of vacation, so something exciting (but fairly leisurely) was in order. Crystal and Dawn suggested taking a road trip to a natural hot springs in Radium, BC about a three and a half hour drive away. Lis and I were initially not the most pumped for a huge road trip, but they were able to talk us out of being losers, and we packed up the car and were on our way.

We basically did the same drive I did on the way in to Alberta from BC, but we stopped along the way for scenic pictures.

lindsey-evanoff

I am so obsessed with the mountains. How beautiful is this? Honestly. It doesn’t even look real.

We took a detour off the Trans Canada Highway and we drove through a canyon that had beautifully coloured rock faces.

We made a quick stop in Radium to pick up some drinks and stuff (non-alcoholic, we dreamed of being hydrated again), and we came across the home of a thousand faces.

It is apparently owned by an eccentric mountain man and wood carver, according to the website. And I think he lives in there.

Here is a picture of the owner.

(I really wish I took this, but sadly did not)

Eccentric? Psh. I don’t see it at all. Do you think that is a dress he is wearing?

The house was pretty crazy amazing.

That wall had about eight doors on it, all with weird things written on them, and none of them opened. We tried.

I guess three-legged dogs are A-okay?

After the crazy house exploring, we continued to Whiteswan Lake Provincial Park. It was so beautiful, but driving was a tiny bit sketchy. We were definitely driving against a mountain, and next to a huge cliff.

Crystal is an excellent driver, so I was not afraid, but I think I would be pretty antsy in my pantsy if I was driving on this beast of a road in the winter.

We drove for several kilometres into the park and eventually found the parking lot for the hot springs. We were so excited! I couldn’t wait to let the hot water seep into my hungover pores and relax my muscles (from all the climbing, you know).

But there was trouble in paradise.

Here is what the hot springs usually look like (I googled a pic):

The top pool is the hottest, and I hear almost unbearable, while the one on the left is medium hot, the one on the bottom is just a little hot, and the river below is freezing. I have not actually experienced this (that’s just what Crystal and Lisa told me), because here is what the hot springs looked like on this day:

The top pool was lukewarm at best, and the bottom two were completely flooded with ice cold (and I mean ICE cold) water from the river.

BC has been experiencing so much rain lately and the water in the river was so extremely high that it flooded the bottom two pools, and also leaked water into the top hottest pool.

It was a disappointment, absolutely. I was so excited for it! But our girls’ adventure was more about the bonding time than the hot springs anyway, and what can ya do? You make the best of the situation. So we went in.

At least it was pretty!

We didn’t go into the ice cold pools though, that would just be crazy. We could barely stand to put our feet in that water.

Our feet are in the lowest pool here. The medium pool is completely flooded to our left. Both Crystal and Lisa said they have never seen it like this, and never heard of it happening. It was a weird phenomenon.

We didn’t stay for very long, but as we were leaving a man told us about Whiteswan Lake, a bit further up the road. He said it was beautiful and perfect for swimming. As soon as we heard that we were immediately down, so we headed on over.

The man did not lie. The lake was seriously awesome. We got right in there.

It was an amazing turquoise colour, unbelievably clear, deep, and surrounded by mountains.

Such a perfect swimming experience. After a group swim-fest, Crystal headed to shore to take pictures of us, and Dawn, Lisa and I put on a little synchronized swimming show for her.

And those would be our legs.

Eventually it was time to start heading back. But we had one more stop to make. Columbia Lake.

We had quite the hike up a steep cliff (hill?) to get to the top to see the view…

But we made it! And ohh man, it was worth it.

I have definitely overused the word beautiful in this post, but really, it was pretty.

lindsey-evanoff

Really, really pretty. It is called Beautiful British Columbia for a reason. Perhaps you can understand why I am vacationsick (the opposite of homesick).

It was such a great day in the mountains with my gals!

It could not have been more perfect. Well, maybe if the hot springs were hot, but let’s not get caught on minor details. We laughed pretty much the entire drive, so that equals win.

The next day was home time! I had a 7am flight and I was absolutely done. Just exhausted. I don’t even know how I woke up in time.

If you missed the rest of my vacation recap posts, here are the links!

16 responses to “Girls’ Day in the Mountains

  1. Wow, what gorgeous photos! And, that was one wacky house. I’d be kinda scared…

  2. I’m super excited that neither you nor none of your friends got deadly brain parasites from the hot springs! Go you!

  3. wait. . . nor none? Awful.

  4. Good pics! Loving our synchronized swimming!! Missing you already.

  5. That “Home of a Thousand Faces” owner looks awesome! Totally on my future friends list.

  6. Pingback: Bala Babes (and Troy) | Happy or Hungry

  7. Pingback: We like to eat a lot | Happy or Hungry

  8. Reblogged this on Happy or Hungry and commented:

    I am reblogging this beautiful mountain post from last year in honour of my good friends Dawn and Emily, who are currently visiting Calgary and our friends Lisa and Crystal. I am so sad to not be there with them. I am going to reread this and just pretend I am.

  9. Pingback: The Weekend of Girl Time (+ Joel time) | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

