Eat all the Meat

The other day I went out for lunch with friends in my work building, Rebecca and Claire.

They were both so cute in their Canada shirts in honour of the Olympics. I missed the memo.

We went to a Korean barbecue restaurant called Chako in Markham, and it was my first time ever going somewhere like this. I had been hearing about Korean BBQ for a while from Rebecca though, and I was fully intrigued and excited to try it out.

It was an eating experience, let me tell you.

You barbecue your own food!

Each table has a grill in the middle, so everything you order is completely raw and you barbecue it yourself on the spot. Pretty crazy.

We went for lunch, so the selection wasn’t as huge as it is for dinner, but it was all-you-can-eat, and we still ordered a LOT. A lot of MEAT.

So much meat! Ribs, pork, beef, chicken, calamari (not the best), and white fish. We were honestly eating meat for about two hours. It was soo good.

I was a little worried about cooking it, since it’s raw and I’m not sure how you’re supposed to know if it’s done, but Rebecca was a pro, so I trusted her to be our barbecue master and she did not let me down.

The highlight for me were the ribs, pork, and beef. All the meat was lightly marinated in something delicious, and I love that they were sliced thin so they would cook quickly. And so I could eat more. Eat all the meat!

I have been craving meat ever since. I just want meat, meat, meat. I need to go back!

We also got kimchi, bean sprouts, salad, miso soup, sticky rice, peppers, and zucchini.

But that gorgeous meaty deliciousness stole the show for sure.

If you have a Korean BBQ in your area, and you are not a vegetarian, GO! So good! That’s all I have to say about that.

9 responses to “Eat all the Meat

  1. I hate kimchi something fierce. Fabian likes it. He is dumb. 🙂
    We have a lot of food trucks in our area here and our favorite is the Korean BBQ Taco Box. They have crazy amazing bulgogi tacos that are so good that you would probably be ok with your face melting off afterwards because once you taste it, you know the meaning to life, and there’s no point in going on anymore.

  2. But if you’re a vegetarian, you should still go and support all the employees there who have families to feed. 😉

  3. p.s. That’s crazy! wow… I wouldn’t trust my inept cooking abilities to cook my own meat there … :))

  4. That’s neat. I don’t know if I have enough patience to cook my own meat though.

  5. I have always wanted to Korean BBQ too! It looks amazing. I would want to go with a pro first time like you did, as I have similar fears, even a phobia when it comes to uncooked meat.
    Maybe we can go?
    See you soon! Eep!

  6. Pingback: Actual Gangnam Style | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

