Chobani Workout Parfait Party

Tuesday evening I was invited to a blogger bootcamp thing at BarreWorks downtown, hosted by my favourite Greek yogurt company Chobani.

And I am not just saying Chobani is my favourite because they invite me to fun events, actually talk to me, feed me, and give me free stuff (like those sensual workout shirts). Wait, yes I am. That is basically the way to my heart. How could I not love them? I think companies need to take note here, because Chobani does the social stuff extremely well, and I believe that is why they are so incredibly successful. Well, and they really do have great yogurt, which is of course helpful.

But seriously, I really appreciate that even though Chobani is an American company, they make an effort to include us Canadian bloggers. We usually get shafted on things like this, so it’s refreshing.

Anyway, I met up with my bloggy pal Stephanie on the subway so we could go over there together. We originally met at the last Chobani Toronto blogger party in June.

We had been blog/Twitter stalking eachother for a long time before that though. I wasn’t sure who was going to be there, so I was excited to arrive with someone I knew.

We know eachother even better now, as we had quite a bonding experience on the way to Barre Works. I was perfectly on time to meet Steph, and I was late for the last Chobani blogger party because I had trouble finding the restaurant, so I was excited to actually be on time for this.

Too bad we walked for 25 minutes in the wrong direction. Neither of us had been there before so we didn’t know where it was, and when we got off the streetcar we walked for about 15 minutes down Queen street. The wrong way. I don’t even know how that happened. I am not the most directions savvy, I will admit, but I had my trusty iPhone (I would never find anything without it) and it has never let me down. But alas, it did. Once we realized we were going the total wrong way, we turned around and started speedwalking back where we came from. And then again, I don’t know what happened, but my silly iPhone AGAIN gave me the wrong location, so somehow we walked about another 10 minutes PAST BarreWorks. Totally missed it.

So, late again. We arrived at BarreWorks technically about 25 minutes late, but only five minutes after the warmup started. It was alright though. We had just been practically running, so we were pretty warm. And I was already sweaty.

Chobani’s instructor Tiffany led us through a pretty intense bootcamp workout. And I do mean intense. Intense as in zero breaks. One thing after another; squats, pushups, burpees, crunches, and exercises I have definitely never even done before. All with balls and bands.

And of course incorporating the bar.

I love that Chobani has hired a workout instructor for their employees. I work in a building full of sports organizations and we don’t even do that. Well, we did have office yoga, but we organized that ourselves.

The workout was super intense and I was extremely sore afterwards. My legs were especially dying. It’s two days later and stairs are still a bit iffy. Tiffany was no joke. Steph even said that she just finished eight weeks of bootcamp and it was nothing like this. I liked it though, the hour flew by and I desperately needed an ass-kicking after all the ridiculous things I have been eating lately.

After our sweat session, Chobani had the perfect post-workout snack waiting for us…

Ah, that beautiful Chobani parfait bar.

I packed my jar with as much deliciousness as I could. I don’t think I could have squeezed any more in it…

And then I went back and did it again. And I took a third jar home with me for breakfast the next morning…

You see?! You see why Chobani is my favourite? Chobani yogurt also has double the protein of regular yogurt, is fat free, and made with all-natural ingredients. So I didn’t feel the least bit guilty about my three jars. Not even about all the toasted walnuts, chocolate chips and dulce de leche I jammed in there.

The event was also catered by The Food Dudes who made some pretty delicious appetizers for us that were Chobani-inspired.

I don’t even know what that is, but there is Chobani in the crust, and it was really, really good.

Two other Toronto bloggers who I originally met at our first Chobani party were also in attendance, Morgan from Life After Bagels and Gillian from Battle of the Bites. Steph and I had fun re-meeting and catching up with them.

The four of us closed the place down!

I also had a really good time talking with the cheeky minx Lindsay from Chobani, and the girls from High Road Communications. I love being included in things like this. Thank you to all of you for having me, I had such a great time! Please come back to Toronto!

11 responses to “Chobani Workout Parfait Party

  1. LOVE IT!! So glad you guys had an amazing time! ahhh, this makes me super sad that I couldn’t make it – WHY was I stuck in Ottawa! I said the same thing on Gillian’s post, but seriously.. HOW do you guys look so freaking amazing after a workout?! Beauties!

  2. Chobani seems like a really cool company. I’m bummed that the taste of it actually makes me gag, BUT I really want to try to find SOMETHING to eat with the plain flavor because it’s got so much protein and it’s filling. I actually like the lemon flavor, but the fruit flavored Chobani have SO much sugar in them and I try to avoid too much of that. What can I eat with the plain one to make it taste like a cupcake? I must know!
    Of course, the plain makes an awesome dip. So maybe that’s the key. Don’t try to sweeten it, eat it with savory stuff.
    Oh, and too cute you make “each other” one word. Hee!

    • I know, I know it’s two words! I don’t care though. Eachother looks better to me as one. I don’t know if I will ever separate it.

      Yeah, plain Greek yogurt is pretty gross on its own. Tastes like sour cream. But yes, yes it does make a good dip. In this case I loaded it up with dulce de leche and it was pretty delicious. Have you tried honey? Sometimes honey works if I add fruit. But I loooooove their flavoured yogurt. That pomegranate is ridiculous. I love it so much.

  3. My hammies are still crying. I made the BF massage them post-Trudeau stalking last night…because I’m awesome like that…and they still barely feel better. Bootcamp be damned, I’m heading to Barreworks the next time I need an ass-kicking.

    Might I add…I think our epic warm-up made us the best students in the ENTIRE CLASS. No one else put in that level of dedication to their warm-up. We should also try to include someone who isn’t directionally-challenged in our travel caravan next time. 😉

    I ❤ Chobani!

  4. aww that looks like it was so much fun!! Chobani rocks!!

  5. What a great event! Food and workout in one? Awesome!

  6. Lindsay sure is a cheeky minx, isn’t she?! So glad you had a fun time!

    Amy
    @Chobani

Leave a Reply

