12 Days of Christmas

Jenny at Peanut Butter Jenny started a 25 days of Christmas blogging challenge and I have been wanting to talk about a bunch of random Christmassy things so I am just going to hop right on that bandwagon.

challenge

I am a bit late to the party, but the questions are pretty short so I’m going to do days 1-12 right now, since today is December 12 (and also my mom’s birthday, happy birthday mom!!!)

Also, I should tell you now that I probably won’t end up doing the rest…

1. Favourite Christmas movie

christmas-vacation_o_GIFSoup.com

Christmas Vacation, hands down. I watch it every year, usually twice. Gets me every time.

Honourable mentions include Home Alone (1 & 2), Elf, and Love Actually (which I wish I could watch for the very first time all over again).

2. Your 2012 Christmas wish list

I never know what I want for Christmas, but this year I really want a tablet mouse.

wacom_bamboo

I didn’t think of this until after I gave my parents my Christmas list though, and I haven’t actually told anyone I want this, soo…it may be a gift to myself on Boxing Day.

3. When/how did you learn that Santa wasn’t real?

I can’t remember exactly what age I was (probably around 8), but I can remember the exact moment it happened. It was just before Easter and I went to look in my parents closet for something and saw it jam-packed with Easter goodness.

I was so confused. I didn’t know what was happening.

tumblr_lqqwgj0pTV1qgj19io1_500

unsee

So naturally I began to wonder. I recognized a few types of chocolate that ONLY the Easter Bunny brought me every year. I tried to think of reasons why the Easter Bunny’s presents might be in my parents closet…but I didn’t have a logical explanation. I had to question my mom, and eventually she broke down and told me the truth.

I didn’t even care that much about the Easter Bunny, but I assumed if the Easter Bunny wasn’t real, that probably meant Santa wasn’t real either. So I had to ask about that. And my mom confirmed my suspicions. Sad day. Sad, sad day. I was devastated. I didn’t want to believe her!

2qcm5jd

I don’t think I ever completely got over it. I’m still sad that there isn’t a Santa to bring me a tablet mouse.

4. Favourite Christmas song

O Holy Night. It makes me feel all warm and tingly. Also “All I Want For Christmas Is You” by Mariah Carey. And the Christmas Vacation theme always puts me in an amazing mood.

5. Best gift you’ve ever received

I did an entire post on this, but the absolute BEST Christmas gift I ever received was my new pink bike when I was 7. I woke up in the middle of the night and I saw it beside the tree and I was so so so excited.

tumblr_lwp75stvSp1r6ycrio1_250

I curled up next to it on the floor and fell asleep until the morning.

6. Favourite tree ornament

I can vividly remember busting out all the Christmas decorations when I was younger and playing with them all under the tree. My very favourite was a little skating penguin figurine. I loved it so much.

7. Most memorable Christmas

I have been trying to think about this, and I don’t know! My childhood Christmases all blend together. Probably all of my childhood Christmases combined.

8. Post a picture of Christmas decor

tree

The tree in my work building. It made our entire building smell like pine for a week. I loved it.

9. Easiest person to buy for

My Nana. All she wants for Christmas is pictures of me.

10. Favourite holiday scent

Ohh so many. ALL THE SCENTS! Gingerbread, cinnamon, pine (love love love the smell of Christmas trees). Anything that smells even remotely like Christmas, I love it.

11. Favourite Christmas tradition

Christmas dinner with my family. And stockings. My mom (or “Santa”) used to make the best stockings ever. They were filled with fun and useful things that I would never think to ask for. She really put a lot of work into them. And the bottom always had an orange and a loonie.

Oh, and opening one present on Christmas eve! I would spend the entire day analyzing the presents under the tree and decide which one I was going to open.

12. Wrapping paper or gift bags

Wrapping paper if I am opening, way more fun. Gift bags if I am wrapping. So sorry, so lazy.

Feel free to answer any of these questions in the comments!

12 responses to “12 Days of Christmas

  1. I remember the day I found out Santa wasn’t real. I don’t even know what possessed me to ask my mom and she was all “yeah, Santa is fake” with no hesitation! So sad.

  2. haha love this. i think i need to do this…ya know in the spirit of christmas and like… all that 🙂

  3. I watch Christmas Vacation in July. I never get sick of it. I will quote it whenever applicable. And sometimes when not applicable. My parents were never too strict with what we could and couldn’t watch, so we’ve been watching this movie since I was, like, 6. My cousins and I would quote it without even knowing what half of it meant. “Merry Christmas! S*****r’s full!” Good times.

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MERLE!!!

  5. Stockings were always my favorite part of Christmas, Lots of little things to unwrap, full of surprises. Man, I miss Santa stockings. Now that we spend Christmas at my inlaws house our stockings are full of ridiculous things. My MIL giggles the entire time we open packages of spam and cotton balls.

  6. Fun! I’m going to post my list tomorrow.

  7. YAY I’m glad you decided to jump on the Christmas blogging bandwagon 🙂 I use any excuse to talk about Christmas so this is the perfect challenge haha!

  8. Love buying the stocking stuffers! This year i make stockings for Lisa, Heather and Brent. Boys are harder to buy for and I had to go to places in stores I never go (like hardware). Who knew you could buy duct tape with little mustaches on it?

Leave a Reply

