Jamaican Me Hungry

Alrighty, last Jamaican recap post. Let’s talk about the FOOD!

I was a bit apprehensive about the food, because I have heard stories of resort food not being the greatest or making you sick (like in Cuba). Just about how it’s cooked differently and can be bland tasting, and the sauces sometimes aren’t great (and this was a concern for me because I eat things for the sauce a lot of the time). This was not the case in Jamaica at all, and the food for the most part was amazing. And you can drink the tap water! That was a huge relief. I had no worries food-wise, and I was never hungry. Usually I was way too full.

The Buffets

Though we had unlimited a la cartes at our resort, we sometimes went to the buffet for dinner if we wanted to save time, or if we didn’t want to be too full (because the a la cartes left me feeling so full I thought I might actually explode). And we did the buffet for breakfast every day and usually lunch also. Good times in the buffet.

IMG_0029

(I need to take a second and just mention how much I loved all the adults on the trip, as they were usually more intoxicated than we were and they were absolutely hilarious.)

The selection in the buffet was insane. They had an entire section dedicated to CHEESE (we found Dawn and Leanne in the buffet after the catamaran trip eating plates of just cheese with the buffet tongs – they know how to do it right). The buffets basically had every food imaginable, including pizza, assorted meats, fries, sushi, fish, and a pasta bar. I discovered the pasta bar late into the trip and that’s pretty much all I ate for lunch and dinner for the last three days because it was SO GOOD, I couldn’t get enough.

I apologize for my buffet pictures because I tended to just load my plate up with random stuff and it just looks like a mess.

IMG_4345

That would be a giant salad of random goodness, pizza, curried potatoes, some pasta, and roasted vegetables.

This is an example of a lunch salad bar. I would maybe start with a salad (heavy on the cheese)…

IMG_4297

And then load my plate up with random goods.

IMG_4216

Bean salad, tomatoes and mozzarella, ham, steak, cheese, pizza, rice, fish. That was probably x2. I need to mention also that they had the BEST bread. Ohh how I wish I was still eating that bread. So good.

And after I found the pasta bar…

IMG_4327

That is a mess… This one is better.

IMG_4374

Ah, that bread!

For breakfast nearly every morning I had a perfectly made omelette…

IMG_4368

And I really enjoyed their bacon and hashbrowns. LOVED the hashbrowns. They also had cereal, pancakes, french toast, fruit, ham, scrambled eggs, potatoes, yogurt, and you could get your eggs done however you wanted. They also had assorted juices and a smoothie bar, and their frozen banana with milk smoothie was definitely my favourite there.

The only thing I would usually steer clear of was the breakfast ham and the hotdogs…both were just not made how I was accustomed to and I wasn’t really a fan.

For dessert I usually was too full to have anything besides fruit.

On the third beach, Sunset Cove, there was a little shack that served authentic jerk chicken which was pretty amazing…

IMG_4236

Served with seafood rice. You had to be careful while eating your chicken though, because they just chopped up an entire piece of chicken with a large knife and it included the bones.

Also, in the sports bar they served hamburgers, hotdogs, quesadillas, pizza and nachos until 7am every single night. It was fabulous. The quesadillas were the BEST.

The a la Cartes

We went out for several group a la carte dinners.

group-dinner

This was in Poseidon, the seafood restaurant by the third beach. We started with the salad bar and soup here, and then for my appetizer I had muscles…

IMG_4306

With shrimp as my main course.

IMG_4310

I had several rounds of the salad bar, so by the time I was done my dinner I was so full I thought I might die, so I couldn’t even do the dessert thing.

The next restaurant I really enjoyed was the Mexican restaurant (though several people said it was their least favourite, but I don’t think they really liked Mexican to begin with). Our table had chips, salsa, and guacamole on it for everyone, and I wanted more of it so I also got it as my appetizer.

IMG_4244

I had soup as well. And for my main I chose fajitas, because I just love them.

IMG_4252

I thought they were really good, so props to the chef.

IMG_4242

I was also able to manage dessert here…

IMG_4260

I do not remember what that is, but I do remember that it was good.

And my favourite a la carte restaurant was Reggaetoni, the Italian restaurant. We started with the salad bar… 

IMG_4355

Again, lots of cheese…

For my appy I had the bruschetta…

IMG_4357

And for my main I chose the spaghetti bolognese, and HOLY. I was blown away.

IMG_4362

It was amaaaazing. I loved every last bite of that thing.

I was again too full for dessert, so I just had some fruit, but I got a pic of Joanna’s and it looks pretty delicious…

IMG_4366

That’s it for the a la cartes for me, but they also had a Indian, Asian, and a steakhouse and I heard they were all really good.

Also, just want to mention the airplane food, because we flew Canjet and I’m pretty sure it’s the only airline that still actually serves meals. Our breakfast on the way there was not good (in my opinion), but lunch on the way back was pretty decent!

IMG_4390

That pasta was not too shabby at all, and continued my three-day pasta binge. I also really enjoyed the bean salad.

Welp, that’s it! Jamaica recaps be over, mon! I hope you enjoyed. If you missed any of my others you can check them out here.

10 responses to “Jamaican Me Hungry

  1. So glad you tried authentic jerk chicken. The mussels and shrimp look great too!

  2. I can’t even remember the last time I ate pasta. l never order stuff at restaurants that I can make at home. And let me be clear…I cannot make most things. But spaghetti I can make. I also never order rice just because it fills me up too fast and I have no control. Face plant in the rice.
    However, the hodge podge salad bar thing. That I can get down with. And no dessert? It’s like I don’t know you anymore.

  3. I would just like to say that I am kind of sad that your recaps are over. I have enjoyed every minute of reading them and they just make me want to go back to Jamaica so bad!! I’m so glad you had such a great time. 😉

  4. I’m dying. I am literally salivating. All that food looks and sounds so amazing! Oh man. I NEED to go there.
    I just wanted to let you know that because i think you’re amazing and i love reading your blog, that i have nominated you for the “Very Inspiring Blog Award”. If you choose to accept it; you must post the award to your page, state seven different things about yourself, and then nominate some other bloggers.

  5. OMG. I just gained 5 lbs reading about all the deliciousness. Insane!! Must go must go must go.

  6. Pingback: The Deer Run Inn | Happy or Hungry

  7. Pingback: How’d You Get Here? | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

