New Job, Bob

Last week I mentioned briefly that I started a new job. And by the way, sorry to just leave that there and then not say anything else about it for an entire week. The suspense wasn’t on purpose. I felt like I had other pressing things to talk about (friends, eating, you know).

So anyway, yep! New job! I am still in communications and marketing, but I now work for an executive search firm instead of a marketing agency. Kind of a big change, but it feels like a move in the right direction for me.

Now I realize this may be a surprise if you have been following my blog for a little bit, because you probably feel like I just got a new job. Because I did, in November. And maybe you would be surprised because it wasn’t long ago that I was raving on about how I thought that job was my dream job.

I did think that for a couple of months, and the atmosphere was certainly a dream job. How could it not be? The agency I worked for allowed dogs in the office.

linds-ollie

We had beer cart every Friday.

beer-fridays

We had a guac-off.

guac-friends

We had three Christmas parties.

festive-friends

576314_10151570382701038_48636552_n

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With booze.

And our St. Paddy’s Day social turned into a pub crawl.

work-girls

I could go on. I loved the people. The entire office was on a Mac. People swore in meetings and in mass emails. We had a cookie exchange. We had exposed brick in the office (I love that). There was family of squirrels living in the window. I could walk to work.

Those are all great things, and I think it would be difficult not to be jealous of someone working in that environment (my friends hated me). But notice I am not mentioning the actual work here, because actual work-wise, I don’t think the job was for me. I think it would have been perfect if I was 25 and just starting my career, but I was probably in the handful of the oldest people there. Plus I went from an office of five employees to an office of 50, which is a big adjustment, and I think I thrive in smaller organizations because I can be more hands-on in different areas (did not realize this until after I left my previous job). And I went from having my own office to sitting in a big common area with many distractions. Ultimately, something started to not feel right. I started to feel like it just wasn’t the best fit.

Things seem to work out though, because my new job headhunted me through LinkedIn (makes sense since they are a search firm), and after about a two month process of interviews and presentations and 100-day plans and SWOT analyses, here I am. And so far so good, I’m liking it a lot! I’m not going to get all crazy and call it a dream job just yet, but it’s good. It feels like a good fit.

I don’t usually make a point to job-hop as much as this (being someone who doesn’t particularly love change, and having my previous job for nearly five years), but sometimes the opportunity arises. I never would have pictured myself working in executive search, but I never would have pictured myself working for a sports organization either, and that has been my longest job to-date. I feel like if you work in communications you can work pretty much anywhere. Kind of like HR.

So anyway, that’s what’s new.

Have a great long weekend! It is my favourite weekend of the year, because it means it’s finally SUMMER!

13 responses to “New Job, Bob

  1. Well I hope this turns out to be amazing for you, and that you get a family of ducks by your door.

  2. Oh SWOT analysis, how I never thought you would actually turn up in the real world. Good luck on your new job!

  3. Did the gene wilder fellow at the first Christmas party dress that way for the occasion? Or is he usually dressed that way. Looks like a good time

  4. Congrats on the new job! I am sure you will love it! Funny how you can just feel that things aren’t right sometimes, but like every mom would say, “sometimes you just gotta follow your gut feeling” 🙂

  5. congrats! that sounds cool!

  6. Congrats on your new job! And being headhunted too, how flattering!

  7. Congrats on your new job!! Oh SWOT Analyses…I haven’t done one of those since I graduated from my MBA program. I sort of wish my company did more of those….they are sometimes helpful.

  8. Yay for new job! The old job was definitely a great experience and helped point you in the right direction. You belong with small-office-family peeps like us. Glad I could be a good reference. You will always be my first office bestie and have a special place in my working heart. Excited to hear about the new job!

Leave a Reply

