The Nature Weekend

Ohh how I love May long weekend. It has been a favourite of mine since I was young because to me it has always meant the end of winter. The weather is still a little iffy around this time, but I knew it was going to be gorgeous this weekend so I only had one mission: get outside.

A lot went down this weekend, but I really just want to recap Sunday because it was the most exciting and I have a million pictures.

Evan’s dad and stepmother Loulou live somewhere kind of like I grew up, on a farm in the middle of nowhere (well I didn’t live on a farm, but I did grow up in the middle of nowhere). Earlier in the week Evan suggested we visit them one day for dinner and check out a conservation area near their house first. I was in. They are about two hours away, so on Sunday morning we hit the road.

Well, first we hit up an Asian bakery, similar to the ones in Chinatown that we were too full to go in while we were there a couple weeks ago…

IMG_5719

Buns, buns, and more buns. These buns are filled with different kinds of meat, cheese, and cream and can be either sweet or savoury. You load all your bun choices onto a tray and they will just pack that right on up for you.

IMG_5717

We stopped here before we grabbed breakfast, and being starving we may have gone a little crazy with the buns. We were planning on saving them for a picnic, but then we ended up eating most of them on the way. I don’t think I have ever eaten so much bread in my life. I liked it.

After driving for a couple hours, we reached our destination: Vanderwater Conservation.

IMG_5721

It’s right on the river, and it is very nice. We looked around a bit and then put down a blanket and set up riverside picnic for lunch.

IMG_5726

IMG_5728

I had a bottle of champagne from my Milestones adventures last week, so I brought that puppy along. I thought it would be a good addition to our picnic. Evan had a bit of an accident while opening it…

IMG_5730

As soon as he pulled off the foil the cork just went flying and the bottle kind of exploded everywhere. We were able to save most of it though, no worries, and who doesn’t love champagne berries? It was very good.

It was nice to just hang out by the river and eat the rest of our buns and drink that delicious champagne.

IMG_5723
After being there for a while I realized I had been there before. Evan’s parents live near where my own dad and stepmom had a cottage for a few years, on the same river, and I remember them taking my brother and I here once and swimming in the rapids. That was a weird coincidence.

After our picnic, we walked along the shore and I found a froggy friend.

IMG_5736

I haven’t been frog catching in a while, but I still have the magic touch! I washed my hands in the river afterwards, not to worry.

And then we decided to hike off all our buns.

IMG_5751

This conservation area is really beautiful. I have a bunch of pictures I want to share.

IMG_5737

IMG_5739

IMG_5747

The official flower of Ontario, the trillium

IMG_5749

When I was little and I used to see trees that were all the same height like this I remember thinking that a bunch of people must have all stood together in an open area and were like “3…2…1…PLANT!” and planted their seeds simultaneously so that the trees would grow at the same time. I think I was probably a gifted child.

IMG_5754

IMG_5756

IMG_5758

It was a good time for sure. We didn’t get to hike very many of the trails (one is 8k), so I am pretty sure we’re going to have to go back.

After the hike, we made our way over to Evan’s parents. I really loved it there. They have so many animals!

IMG_5818

This is Jubee. She is a very cuddly bird and really likes to be held.

IMG_5761

And this is her friend Kiwi.

IMG_5816

Kiwi will basically imitate all the sounds you make. It is very funny when he (she? Ahh I can’t remember) will imitate laughter. He also imitates the beeping of the microwave buttons quite well. And he will sing Happy Birthday and ask “What are you doing?” He had me dying laughing, which he then mocks and makes me laugh harder.

There are also four chickens!

IMG_5765

They each produce one egg a day, so Evan’s parents sent us back with a bunch. I am excited for them.

Evan’s parents recently saved this little rooster, Mango.

IMG_5767

Mango lived on another farm and was in a coop with a bunch of chickens that didn’t like him, so they picked on him and plucked his feathers. Bullies. Evan’s dad and Loulou brought him here and are rehabilitating him. Poor little guy. But they’ve only had Mango for about week and he is already looking better!

Speaking of bullies, there is also this gang hanging around.

IMG_5804

Guineafowl. Evan’s dad said they wander around the property in their little group and torment the chipmunks. They also lay eggs.

IMG_5769

And stare at themselves in the mirror.

IMG_5819

Vain little birds.

Evan’s parents also have two horses…

IMG_5775

And my favourite, the donkeys, Zeke and Rosie.

IMG_5791

I didn’t get the greatest pictures of them, but here’s one Evan sent me when he was there on Boxing Day.

IMG_5817

I died when I saw that picture. It was immediately my favourite. I look at it and in my head say “Oh haiiiiiiii.” Donkeys are funny.

And last but not least, this is Sasha.

IMG_5794

My new best friend.

IMG_5797
I LOVED that dog. She was so nice, and she looked so happy she was perma-smiling. I wanted to take her home. The donkeys too. And Jubee and Kiwi could come also. And Mango. Maybe I can start an urban farm…

It was a really fun day, and it was great to meet Evan’s dad and Loulou. They made us a delicious chicken and pasta dinner with my very favourite salad!

I hope you all had a great long weekend! If you are Canadian. If you are American I hope you had a great regular weekend.

17 responses to “The Nature Weekend

  1. Awww, the donkeys are so funny!

  2. This seriously looks like the most awesome day ever. ANIMALS AND CARBS. Hell yes.

  3. *nom* *nom* *nom*

  4. Sounds like a great day!

  5. Now, that is is a proper pre-hike fueling [insert applause].

  6. Jubee! I could definitely get down with all those animals. I mean, not GET DOWN get down. But like, platonically get down. Why am I explaining this?!

    Also, giant bread with meat is genius. I haven’t seen that since I was in Hawaii. I think Orlando needs to get it’s crap together.

  7. Pingback: Dog Whispering & Baby Chicks | Happy or Hungry

  8. Pingback: Roosters and Donkeys and Pigs, OH MY. | Happy or Hungry

  9. Pingback: 31 Reasons Why Evan is the Best Ever | Happy or Hungry

  10. Pingback: The Eating Weekend (aka Thanksgiving Weekend) | Happy or Hungry

  11. Pingback: Three Christmases | Happy or Hungry

  12. Pingback: Easter Weekend | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

