I Ran Yesterday. Someone Give Me a Medal.

Remember about a month ago I posted about how I wanted to start eating better and getting into working out again? I was really hoping that would motivate me to step up my game, but nope. Not really. My eating hasn’t really changed all that much, and aside from volleyball I haven’t been very active. Sometimes I feel like I’m daring my body to see how much weight I can gain.

tumblr_m4itnn6OlN1rwcc6bo1_500

I have had a lot of moments where I felt really motivated to run, so I’m like “Tomorrow I’m gonna run!” and then tomorrow comes and that moment of motivation is gone and of course I don’t run. And then the cycle of not running continues. This is what I’ve been doing since January. But nothing is going to magically change over here unless I put in a conscious effort to change it, so yesterday at work I was all “That is IT. When I get home I am RUNNING.”

And then I got home and I talked myself out of running. I told myself I would start running on Monday. And then I realized I had absolutely no excuse not to run. It’s the only night all week where I’ve had nothing going on, it wasn’t raining, and it was perfect outdoor running conditions. It was sunny but not hot. And I know that when Monday comes around I’ll have some other lame “reason” why I shouldn’t run and I’ll keep procastinating and suddenly it will be another week and I still haven’t gone for a run. And if I keep putting it off until tomorrow maybe I’ll never run again and I’ll keep packing on the poundage and I’ll wake up one morning and I’ll be 700 pounds.

tumblr_mkrv3ciiLA1s2z82po1_400

But at least I’ll be able to do this.

Except I won’t know because I don’t weigh myself, but my pants won’t fit and I probably won’t even be able to get out of bed.

So with that thought, I eventually squeezed myself into my running garb and headed out the door.

tumblr_lsvomgPgl41qc70p7

I have always said that the hardest part of your run is getting out there, but boy was I wrong about that. Turns out I can’t just magically pick up where I left off, and frankly my run sucked. I was really slow and I felt like I wanted to die most of the time. My fastest kilometre was my last and I did it under six minutes but I REALLY pushed myself and afterwards I thought I might actually pass out. I ended up doing 5k in about 35 minutes, which is about seven minutes slower than my best time and pretty much where I was when I first started running. So that’s depressing.

tumblr_l8iggmYqXR1qdbf9no1_400

However, I am not going to get discouraged. I got out there and got it done, and I know my body adjusts fairly easily, so if I keep doing it on a regular basis I’ll improve quickly. I’m hoping this kickstarts some motivation over here. I did feel great afterwards and proud of myself for doing it, so that’s a start.

I also have this really awesome trail near my apartment, and the running conditions there are tres bien.

run

I really like it. It’s like a forest in the city!

Anyway, so that’s pretty much it. I ran for the first time in a while and it wasn’t great but I’m proud of myself. Maybe I’ll celebrate.

ghostbusters-walk-o

I was hoping to magically wake up more svelte this morning, but I’ll keep you posted on that.

Have a great weekend!

17 responses to “I Ran Yesterday. Someone Give Me a Medal.

  1. Good for you – and I love your running trail! How nice to have a quiet little path for running!

  2. Hey, a run is a run! And I feel you on the “gain weight dare”…sometimes after eating bad over a weekend I feel like Kobayashi in the hot-dog eating contest….lovely. Happy Friday!

  3. Good Work Lindz!! I just took up running too (I joined a 5km race in October and 1 in November), but I hope this will encourage you even more so: My fastest km right now is 10 minutes!! It is terrible! And to be honest I would say I don’t run, I “run”. HAHA. I am pretty much at this point just speed walking. But I am hoping my time / endurance ability will improve by October. You have inspired me (yet again!). Keep it up!

    Sam.

    • Aw thanks Sam. That’s awesome that you’re running though! Are you using a program? When I first started I did the Couch to 5k and it worked out really well. It’s so motivating when you notice yourself improving!

  4. Um, 35 minutes for a 5k when you haven’t been running is phenomenal! You should absolutely celebrate. 🙂

  5. Wow, if I were to “go for a run” it would literally be to the end of the block, and then it would become a walk. I am impressed by you!

  6. Bring on the celebration! Gorgeous trail!

  7. Nice work! Starting up again after a few days/weeks/months (that’s me, months. always) off is the hardest part. I need some serious focus, so I just started Jamie Eason’s 12 week Livefit trainer and I actually – shock, horror – enjoy the gym now.

    btw I read all the time but never comment. So, hello.

  8. I have had similar procrastination Lindsey. I always seem to find something that I need to do first because I can always go for a run tomorrow. We don’t have your awesome forest trails in the city but I will be pulling on the joggers and heading off to the open creek side paths tomorrow…umm… TODAY 😉 . Thanks for the motivation.

  9. Good for you! Right now we’ve entered that part of the year where I refuse to run outside. It’s just so hot.

  10. I bet running will come back more quickly than you think 🙂 Congrats on getting past the tough part (getting out the door) and the tougher part (actually running) 😉

Leave a Reply

