Warsaw Cave Spelunking

On Sunday Evan and I went spelunking. Spe-whatting, you might ask? (I did) Spelunking. It means caving. Exploring underground caves. It was pretty overcast while we were at the cottage on Sunday, so to make the most of our day we were looking for things to do and we stumbled across the Warsaw Caves, which aren’t too far from the cottage.

Neither of us had ever really been caving before, and it seemed like it would be pretty interesting. We also figured if it rained we’d be in the caves so it wouldn’t be a big deal.

Now I assumed Warsaw Caves was using the term “spelunking” loosely. I thought it would be amateur caving. Like we would just leisurely walk through a giant cave. When Evan explained how he pictured the caves, he said he pictured it like this:

stock-vector-illustration-of-isolated-cartoon-cave-on-white-background-59261491

Like a cartoon cave. I agreed. We didn’t have high expectations for anything elaborate.

Nope. Nope nope nope. Wrong. It was one of the most insane, intense experiences of my life and I have never done anything like it.

We arrived at Warsaw Caves Conservation Area and saw they were selling headlamps at the gatehouse to the park. We only had a handheld lantern so we asked the girl who was working if a headlamp was necessary, or if we would be okay with our lantern. She looked at the lantern and said “Oh that’ll be fun!” and we thought she said this seriously but in hindsight I’m pretty sure she was being sarcastic. It was a “Oh, that’ll be fun! You won’t be able to see anything, and you’ll definitely need to use both your hands, so a handheld lantern sure does sound like a good idea!” But we did not pick up on this. We didn’t buy the headlamps, and we just went on our merry way with our stupid lantern.

warsaw-caves-ontario

Excitedly though. We were excited. We took a guidebook and noticed there were seven caves in total, and it was when I started reading about each one that I realized we may be a little unprepared for this caving experience (but at least we weren’t in flip-flops).

We arrived at the caves.

IMG_6663

The white marker on the tree above marked cave #1, but it looked flat to us, so we were all “where’s the cave?!”

According to the guide book we could “easily enter the cave by either of two large openings,” so we went over to check it out.

Here are the two “large” openings that we had to descend into:

IMG_6664

WTF is that and how exactly are we supposed to get in there? Obviously I made Evan go first.

IMG_6666

It was pitch black in there, and he needed both of his hands to get down. It was really scary because it had rained the night before and the rocks were very slick (VERY slick), and you had to kind of lower yourself while frantically scraping your feet around to feel for some sort of foothold. Basically you just hoped when you lowered yourself into the darkness that you weren’t immediately going to slip on the rock and fall. Or that some sort of supernatural being living in the cave wasn’t waiting to get you (I’ve seen The Descent, unfortunately). It seemed dangerous, but I told myself it was a touristy area and they wouldn’t let children in there if it was unsafe, so I followed him in. We made it.

IMG_6681

It was crazy. The chamber we descended into was maybe three feet high and I could touch all sides around me. I DO NOT recommend this if you are claustrophobic. You will panic. I kept saying to Evan in the first cave “This is not what I was expecting, this is not what I was expecting, why are we doing this, WHY DID I THINK THIS WAS GOING TO BE FUN?!” I try not to use profanity on my blog, but honestly I lost my shit for a minute.

warsaw-caves

I know I look like I am really enjoying myself in that photo, but I can’t help but smile for the camera. Just can’t stop myself. I don’t know what else to do with my face. Also, white shirt? Bad idea there. I got ridiculously dirty from the rocks. It was impossible not to rub against them. But I made it back out safely.

IMG_0870

I should mention that all seven of the caves connected to each other underground, and although we checked all of them out, we did not get to each one underground, because to do that you had to BELLY CRAWL through a tunnel. Belly crawl. Underground. Surrounded by dripping wet rock and probably spiders. In shorts and a t-shirt. No. No no no. That would not be happening. Just getting in there and exploring was enough for me.

If I thought the cave opening for cave #1 was bad, they pretty much got progressively more narrow after that.

caves2

After the first cave I got more used to the idea of the whole spelunking thing and I loosened up a little bit, but getting into the caves was still not easy. Well, it was not easy for me anyway, I should speak for myself. Certain, uh, areas of my body liked to get caught on things. But Evan seemed to have no issues.

IMG_6671

IMG_6673

No fear in that one.

IMG_6679

Guess who’s not claustrophobic in the least? Do you want to hear the first line of the description for the cave Evan is entering above? “You will have to wiggle your way into cave #4 feet first.” Sounds like a good time. Oh wait, no it doesn’t. There was also a giant spider at the entrance here (my number one fear), but Evan was on spider removal duty so he took care of that and it was all good. We made it in there.

cave-1

Seriously, how crazy?

cave

This was probably my favourite cave because the cavern was the largest and it was really cold in there. I’m pretty sure it was hovering around zero, I could definitely see my breath. It was muggy and gross outside, so this was a big relief.

IMG_6684

Apparently there’s ice in here also, but I’m pretty sure you have to belly crawl through a tunnel to find it, so again, not happening. The most annoying thing was that I had to squat and I do not like to do that for long periods of time (who does?).

Though this was my favourite cave, I had a bit of a moment in here. We were squatting around and reading the guidebook and it was so dark and I started to think about what I was standing (/squatting) on, and how much rock was above me, and if I needed to get out right at that moment, how was I going to do that? I started to get just a little panicky, but I shimmied my way back over to the entrance area and I was okay.

I think I might take the squatting over the legit planking we had to do in the next cave though. That was awkward.

cave-planking

Again, smiling like a maniac while I’m probably holding in a meltdown.

Cave #5 was the most open and spacious cave, and you could almost stand in there.

warsaw-caves-1

There was quite a vertical ascent to get out right behind Evan, so the plan was to climb out there. Keep in mind the rocks are extremely slippery.

IMG_6702

I was going to follow him up, or try to, as I’m not sure if I would be able to pull myself up, but then I saw the biggest, dirtiest spider of all time on the rock beside me just after I took this picture. So…

tumblr_inline_mi2as0f3ua1qz4rgp

I quickly ran back to the entrance we had come in. Can’t deal with the spiders.

But here’s Evan with his conquest.

IMG_6703

There were a few people in the area, but not many people actually went in the caves. As we were leaving we came across a group of people who were clearly from the city, wearing flip flops, carrying purses, and had no lights (not even handheld lanterns), and their plan was to take on the caves. Evan and I did not think this was going to work out well for them, and we told them that straight up. They, like us, didn’t know what they would be getting into, so they appreciated the advice.

I realize a lot of this post is a nightmare city for many people, so even if you don’t want to go in the caves here, it’s still pretty to explore! We did some exploring after the whole cave thing.

IMG_6670

warsaw

IMG_6689

IMG_6692

IMG_6711

And if you don’t get caught in a downpour like we absolutely did, you can have a picnic by a very nice lake that is in the park.

IMG_6715

We were exhausted and dirty and absolutely soaked by the time we finished our adventure, but sweet baby Jesus what an adventure it was.

IMG_0879

Oh, and I had scrapes all over my legs from the rocks…

IMG_6718
No biggie though.

So, the big question. Would I do this again? Yes. I actually think it’s kind of addicting. But I feel like the website was kind of misleading and didn’t convey that this is really real, serious caving. Or at least it is for someone who has never been caving before. It was not a walk in the park. If you’re planning on going here, I have some tips for you:

  • Get the headlamp. Bring your own or buy one from the gates, but it is very necessary so your hands are free and you can see what you’re doing.
  • Don’t carry anything (umm, like a camera…or sunglasses, I don’t know what I was thinking bringing those)
  • YOU WILL GET FILTHY. It is unavoidable. Wear clothes you don’t care about. Probably don’t wear white.
  • If I did this again I’d definitely wear pants and long sleeves so that you don’t mind brushing against the rock as much. Pretty sure serious spelunkers wear elbow and knee pads.
  • If you are at all claustrophobic, don’t go in the caves. I really am not usually at all, but a few of them really affected me.
  • Watch out for the spiders. If possible, find someone who is not afraid of spiders to be on spider-removal duty.

Anyway, that’s all. It was a crazy experience but I’m glad we did it!

24 responses to “Warsaw Cave Spelunking

  1. Oh my gosh. I am claustrophobic so just reading about those caves almost made me have to do deep breathing, haha. Good job at staying cool when you were in them (for the most part)!!

    • I was just telling my manager at work about our adventures, without pictures, and she was similar to you with the deep breathing. Claustrophobia is really common! I can only think of maybe three of my friends who would be okay doing this. The rest would be the “nope nope nope nope.” squid.

  2. If I had done this, the “Nope Nope Nope” gif would have been posted right under the picture of the large cave openings. No way jose.

  3. That is definitely crazy and I want to do it! You guys are brave for finishing your adventure despite your sunglasses and white T-shirt!

  4. I wanna do it!!! that would be so intense!

  5. Oh wow that looks so intense! You are brave for doing it and sounds like you are glad you did now! I would probably try it but get freaked out with the small spaces too!

    • I found it really hard to focus on anything when I was in those small spaces. I can’t imagine being a miner or trapped in a cave-in or something. That would be so terrifying. It was just such a weird feeling in there.

  6. I’m fine with the small(ish) spaces… but small spaces with spiders in them?!? Oh H to the NO!! I am severely arachnophobic – to the point that I can’t even look at a spider on TV – so to see a huge spider on a rock next to my face?!? No way. NopeNopeNope. There would have been new exits created in those caves! Does look like a really cool adventure, though!

    • Oh – and thank you for not taking/posting pictures of the aforementioned spiders. I would have been too heebie-jeebied out to finish reading about your adventure! 🙂

    • Haha, I’m with you!!! I’m not quite that bad, but spiders are my #1 fear for sure! This was what I had the biggest trouble with. I don’t think there were spiders in most of the caves though, as it’s too cold for them. But around the openings was basically their dream location, so they were pretty frequent there. I really did have Evan on spider-removal duty. Another reason why I wish I was wearing pants and long sleeves.

  7. I’ve been to Warsaw to swim and go down the rapids nearby but never went into the caves. I did have an opportunity once, but when I got to the entrance I had a giant spider crawl over my foot, had a complete freak out and ran for the car screaming “GO AHEAD WITHOUT ME.”

  8. That sounds like, a step away from being buried alive. I’d probably still do it, but omg, I would freak out with the “what if I have to get out of here right away” thinking too. And then I would need a beer. Or eight.

  9. Glad you had fun! I could never do that. Hate small spaces. I have been in a few cave tours but they all involved caves large enough to drive through. Those I am okay with.

  10. Pingback: Flood City | Happy or Hungry

  11. Sounds really fun and interesting however i am completely in the claustrophobia boat. If i stay too long in the shower i start hyperventilating because of the steam and walls all around me. That could have stemmed from the fact that growing up i had my own (half renovated) bathroom, which was basically a large room with a concrete floor and a shower head sticking out of it.

  12. Pingback: 2013 in Review | Happy or Hungry

  13. Pingback: Bruce Peninsula: Indian Head Cove and Grotto | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

