Toronto Island & Hanlan’s Point

Gird your loins because it is weekend recapping time, and I have so much to talk about that I’m pretty sure it’s going to take me all week.

So my Bestie Lisa arrived on Thursday night from Calgary and I was so, so, so excited to see her. Just ridiculously. We have known each other for 20 years and we are such good friends that she is the closest thing I have to a sister. I feel like I’m not myself if I go for too long without her hilarious self in my life, and sometimes I feel like I’m at my best wit-wise when I’m with her because we just play off each other so well. Luckily I saw her for a weekend in May when she was here for work…

besties

So it hasn’t been too long, but still, I was ready!

Anyway, I picked her up from the airport, and I was so excited to see her bright shining face that I snuck into the baggage claim area with a sign.

26336_10151573608792972_891746567_n

And I mean literally snuck. There was a security guy standing there, but I was watching him and when he looked down for one second I darted through the doors. I was wearing a bright green shirt (that says What The Pho? with a bowl of pho on it, a tribute to my congealed blood-filled pho), so I don’t know how he didn’t see me. Lisa, of course, spotted me immediately and we basically leaped to each other across the baggage area screaming and embraced in mid-air. It was romantic.

Speaking of romantic, Evan originally brought that sign when he picked me and some of my friends up at the airport after our trip to Jamaica, so I just repurposed it. He actually went all out and also brought us coconuts and Red Stripe beer (not into the airport, just in the car) so we could recreate our trip. Score a pretty huge boyfriend point there. He is such a thoughtful muffin. But I’ll take a mediocre best friend point for the sign.

We arrived back at my place and had a big best friend catch-up session over a bottle of wine. Well, maybe a small box of wine would be more accurate, and I sure was feeling it the next morning. But it was so fantastic to see her and I was pretty much just bursting with excitement.

The next day (Friday) was Lisa’s birthday and we had a big day of celebrating planned. After a leisurely brunch, we met up downtown with Dawn and her friend Erin from Edmonton and the four of us took a ferry over to Toronto island.

IMG_6938

I just love that view. I went last summer with Hannah, Emily, and Joanna, but Erin and Dawn had both never been there, and Lisa had only been when she was a kid. It was fun to wander around with them and see their bright eyes as they took everything in. It’s so beautiful there, and it really does feel like cottage country in the city. We ate lunch on a patio by the water (poutine for me!) and this was literally the view from our table:

IMG_6934

Just beauty.

There are very nice parks and stuff there also. And fountains!

48131_10151574823742972_496661236_n

Fun times. And I never know WTF to do with my arms in photos if they are not around someone. This is why I do not particularly enjoy scenic pictures of just me.

After lunch we decided to take a stroll over to Hanlan’s Point, which if you are unfamiliar, is one of the only two clothing-optional beaches in Canada (the other one is in Vancouver). Obviously we had to check it out, we had a tourist with us! It is a beautiful beach, with a beautiful view.

IMG_6948

And yes there were a lot of people in the nude there, and no we did not also get in the nuddy-pants. It’s clothing optional, so some people were also clothed. No judgment here, but public nudity is not for me. I’ve never seen so many people naked in one place before though, it was quite surprising. I was less surprised that the demographic of the nudity was older men. I felt like I was in Europe! Very exotic.

IMG_6950

I’ll say.

Anyway, we hung out at the beach for a bit and enjoyed the views (of the WATER!) and got some sun (with TAN LINES!) before making our way back to the ferry. One last pic before that happened though.

IMG_0906

Just because it’s beautiful and it makes me love Toronto. Lisa and I brought a change of clothes because we were heading to the Blue Jays game afterwards and didn’t want to be all sandy and gross. Also, I need to mention that Erin is amazing. She makes me laugh so hard. I had only met her once before, last summer at the Calgary Stampede, and she left early so I was not aware of the full extent of her fun. But ohh I am aware of it now. I feel like she slapped me in the face with it, that cheeky minx.

So it was a very good day. The Jays game that night is getting its own post because it was just ridiculous and so many hilarious things happened that I don’t want to leave anything out. Lisa said she had the best birthday of her life!

8 responses to “Toronto Island & Hanlan’s Point

  1. Best birthday ever!!! Nice post! I was hoping you would break up this day as there was too much raw excitement for one. Excited!

  2. Sounds like fun. I mean, it would have been MORE fun if I was there of course. I need to see that city!
    Also, true story. Fabian and I went to a nude beach on our honeymoon in Maui. He went full monty…enough to take a dip in the ocean. I did not. That boy, he is a minx.

  3. I’m famous! Honestly, I’ve never met so many outrageous people before! You my dear, are ACCA-AMAZING! Till we meet again you beautiful Pineapple Express xoxo

  4. Pingback: Island Picnics and Beaching Leisuring (with fake one-legged seagulls) | Happy or Hungry

  5. Pingback: Island Picnics and Beaching (with fake one-legged seagulls) | Happy or Hungry

  6. Pingback: The Boston Road Trip | Happy or Hungry

  7. Hi, who gone type some happy words ! Keep a smile, where hands are.
    I am not unknown, my hands are with you.
    Jim5534@hotmail.com Rv763 Steinkjer

Leave a Reply

