The wet workout that wasn’t, but then was

On Tuesday night I had my third session scheduled with Gillian at the track. It wasn’t until 7pm and I didn’t have to run straight there after arriving home from work, so I decided to leave early and take my sweet time walking over there so as to not tire myself out.

As I was leaving I noticed that it was looking kind of overcast and it felt like it might rain. I was incredibly excited for this actually, because it was so hot and humid all day long that it was insta-sticky as soon as you walked outside and I didn’t think physical activity was going to be a good time in that. I figured the rain might cool things down and make it a bit more bearable, so I was prepared to take it. But I checked the weather forecast on my phone and rain wasn’t even being called for, so I figured it was futile to hope for it.

I got about halfway to the track when it started torrential downpouring. Just sheets of rain. I was soaked immediately. Gillian called me right away and asked if we could reschedule due to the crazy rain, and I said no problemo (because the rain was crazy). I didn’t tell her I was already on my way because I could tell she felt bad about cancelling and I didn’t want to make her feel worse. I didn’t tell her I was actually standing on the sidewalk looking like this:

tumblr_mcum2yptCD1ryi4ij

Except not in a suit.

I turned around and made my way back home. The rain did not let up at all, and by the time I arrived back at my apartment every inch of me was soaked. But it was warm rain, and I kind of felt all fired up and ready for a workout. So I thought what the hell, I’m already wet, I’m going to run. I ditched the purse I had with me, put my iPhone in a state-of-the-art waterproof case that Evan gave me (Ziploc bag for touch screens from the dollar store), and headed back outside into the rain for a run.

I did a loop through my favourite cemetery (didn’t get locked in this time) and ended up running a bit more than 4k before the rain got to me. And I am not sure what was going on but it was the best run I’ve had in a while. I just felt really motivated and into it. I wasn’t even listening to music. It felt really nice to run and it was surprising since my body doesn’t usually like it. I don’t know what happened.

Also, re: cemetery running, I love it in there! I have gotten a bit of side-eye when I tell people about running in the cemetery (Brotherman is very adamant that “Cemeteries aren’t for running!”), but despite my traumatizing moment of getting locked in there and having to straddle a strange man’s head, that cemetery is my favourite. It is not your typical cemetery. The trails are paved and gorgeous, and there are all kinds of interesting things to look at.

IMG_6830

IMG_7321

IMG_7324

IMG_7323

IMG_7325

More things to look at means less time for me to think about what my body is actually doing. I need stimulation when I am running or my mind will start telling me to stop and go home and lie on my couch. So, the cemetery is working.

Sometimes if I am feeling really adventurous I will run through the cemetery and keep running on the trail that leads to Brick Works.

IMG_7319

Brick Works and back is about 7k though, so it has only happened twice since Evan and I went there. Let’s not get too crazy.

I’m meeting Gillian again tonight at her studio for an indoor weights workout, so that won’t be getting rained out. I look forward to not being able to move tomorrow.

13 responses to “The wet workout that wasn’t, but then was

  1. It does look like a very pretty place to run.
    Good job on your run! I love when things come together like that.
    Now if I could just have a similar run sometime soon, I would be elated!

  2. What is your route? Where do you live? I would love this run and i have a feeling we don’t live far apart! Your stories are hilarious! Keep em’ coming

  3. If I wasn’t so insistent about being burned to ashes, I would love to be buried in a cemetery where people run, have fun and be healthy! So much better than in a dark, creepy places where people weep all day. 🙂

    I love your bravado when it comes to working out in the rain. I suppose I would be too if my shoes shoes didn’t get so soggy that I start whining about them feeling like anvils… 😉

  4. You are such a trooper for running in that rain – it was bucketing!

  5. Look at you all running and it wasn’t even because someone was chasing you. You did good.

    Do you watch House of Cards? One of the characters totes gets yelled at for running in a cemetery.

  6. I saw the tunnel on Simcoe (I think it’s Simcoe) flooded again.. Two cabs instead of a Ferrari this time! We didn’t get a drop in the west end!

Leave a Reply

