Busy. That is all.

I’ve kind of been avoiding the whole blogging thing so far this week because I don’t really have much to talk about besides how busy I’ve been. And I always think that no one wants to hear about how busy you are, because life is just busy, everyone is busy, and complaining about being OMG SO BUSY all the time is annoying to other people who are also busy. And really, I have no kids or responsibilities aside from my cat, so how busy can I possibly be? I practically live a life of leisure most of the time, so being a little more busy than usual doesn’t give me the right to complain.

But alas, here I am. This is the post where I talk about how busy I’ve been lately.

It’s been a bit overwhelming. I have been working very long hours, and by the time I get home from work I feel like I am brain dead and I can’t possibly concentrate on one more thing. Sometimes at work when I hear my email ding, I am instantly annoyed without even knowing who it is. I’m like “OMG how DARE you email me, don’t you know how BUSY I AM?!” (I still really like getting emails, so the initial annoyed feeling usually turns to excitement).

So the reason for all the busyness is my work is putting on several (four) events and I am planning them. They are pretty big events (I think…they may just be big in my own mind), and the four of them all happen within three weeks of each other. Two are across the country, so throw in all the travel logistics as well and that makes things a little more hectic. I have also never really planned an event before (just a little tradeshow, but it was nothing like this), and I had no idea the amount of detail that goes into event planning. No idea. I know some people really love planning things, but not me. It’s never been my thing. I am more of a go with the flow, “hey, let’s see what happens”, hope for the best, fly by the seat of my pantaloons type of gal. So the details that go into event planning worried me. Like I might let some things slip through the cracks. I do not have a Type A personality AT ALL and my brain does not like extraneous detail.

So all the planning that has been involved has been a learning experience for sure. And I have to say, I have surprised myself. I kind of like it. I think I am more planning-oriented than I initially thought. Once I got into it, I found it almost felt natural to focus on all the little details, because if I didn’t things could potentially go to hell, and then whose fault would that be? Mine.

My first event was on Monday and it went well and way more smoothly than I could have hoped for. I felt very proud of myself afterwards. It was really rewarding. And now that the one event is over, the other three seem less daunting. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel (I couldn’t see this light early last week and I nearly had a meltdown). It won’t be crazy busy forever. I will leisure again one day!

Plus I get to travel next week, so that’s pretty exciting.

Oh but don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to be a full time event planner or anything. I only like it right now because there is an end date to the craziness.

And I have to say I have really loved living with Evan during this busy time. I’ve been getting home late every night and he has had dinner ready every day! If I still lived on my own I would probably just eat a sandwich or English muffin pizza or melted cheese on toast with garlic salt (I really love that combo). He has just been a dream with all his cooking and looking after Winnie. One evening I got home late and I asked if I could help with anything (even though I was thinking in my head “if one more person asks me to do one more thing I will punch somebody in the face.”), and Evan just said “Sure, you can be on wine duty.” So I just had to pour wine. Best chore ever.

So it’s been good. More on that later though.

Oh, and William Shatner had an event next to ours on Monday, so I caught a few glimpses of his bright shining face. He looked exactly like this:

867359-shatner

It’s possible he was wearing a shirt though. I only saw him briefly and I don’t fixate on the details, remember, so who knows.

My blogging will probably continue to be sporatic for the next little bit (not like that’s a new thing or anything). Hope your week is going well!

One response to “Busy. That is all.

  1. i totally get what you mean. basically why i didnt blog all summer because all i felt like i had to say was “hey im super busy” haha. I hope you survive all your events, but that sounds pretty fun really!

Leave a Reply

