The Best Gift Ever

I don’t really have anything exciting to write about this week. The only thing I’ve really been doing is working, and I will save you the OMG I’M BUSY post. You’re welcome for that. But you just may get it next week, no promises.

I have been eating very well lately though, mainly thanks to Chef Evan, and that’s always easy content… but that is a story for another day. Today I want to talk about the Christmas gift I got for Evan.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to start rambling on about a fantastic sweater or something. I think it’s a bit more exciting than that… I got him a personalized whiskey barrel.

IMG_8793

Contrary to popular belief, Evan’s last name is not Evanoff. But I have blurred it to protect his privacy. And Firewhiskey, as you may know, is from Harry Potter.

It is pretty awesome, made out of genuine oak, and you cure it yourself. You can age any alcohol in there. This barrel is 1L, and since the liquid has more contact with the wood than larger barrels,  it ages the alcohol something ridiculous like 10 times faster. So if you left your alcohol in this barrel for one year, it would be like 11 years in a full size barrel. That’s probably more detail than you care to know, but Evan said it was the coolest gift he has ever gotten, so that’s a win. And I think boys are tricky to buy for, so if you’re looking for a gift idea for a guy I’d suggest this. It would also be really good if you need to buy for group of groomsmen or something.

Evan is seriously the most thoughtful gift buyer I have ever known, so for Christmas I wanted to get him something original. I didn’t know what though, so I was googling around for ideas. I stumbled across the website UncommonGoods.com which is honestly amazing and has a lot of really cool things. I originally found the barrels on there.

Screen Shot 2014-01-15 at 10.24.08 PM

Unfortunately these particular barrels from this particular website don’t ship to Canada. Actually, after looking through the website some more, there were many items that were not eligible for Canadian shipping. Bitches. We Canadians always get shafted like that.

But I knew I needed that barrel, so I needed to find it somewhere else. I did some serious internet scouring (ie: I typed “oak barrel” into Google) and I found the Thousand Oaks Barrel Co

Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 9.35.04 PM

Also an American site, but they did ship to Canada (for $20 extra…), but it was actually cheaper than Uncommon Goods to personalize the barrel, by quite a lot, so I guess it worked out in the end. I read a bunch of reviews and actually called them on the phone to make sure they were legit before I ordered. Just in case. But all was well.

It took a while to ship to me, and I was having a bit of a panic attack the weekend before Christmas when it hadn’t arrived yet. But on the 23rd, here it was.

IMG_8794

I added the dark rum essence because I know that Evan really loves dark rum, and I also got him a Canadian whisky one. You can add the essences to any alcohols.

It totally exceeded my expectations, and Evan was so surprised when he opened it. He loves it. He is currently aging some gold rum so I’ll let you know how that turns out.

Also, anyone else buy anything from TeamBuy? It’s like a GroupOn, but they have products as well. Just a warning, I will probably never order anything from them again because I ordered two things back in OCTOBER and one wasn’t here by Christmas. And the item that was here still took a month and a half to arrive, and it was this:

Screen Shot 2014-01-15 at 10.26.42 PM

A USB vacuum, for Evan’s stocking. I was so excited about this find because he really loves vacuums and even vacuuming. I know, weirdo. And then after I ordered it I saw exactly the same product at Dollarama for $2. Exactly the same. I compared them. It does work well though… but I could have saved $7 (+$5 shipping) and some hassle had I just gone to the dollar store first. Oh well.

And that is my Christmas gift guide, one month too late.

Have a great weekend!

13 responses to “The Best Gift Ever

  1. Okay, that barrel is so friggin’ cool. what a great idea!

  2. That’s a pretty awesome gift!

  3. that is way cool! haha love it.
    And I am still laughing about Evan Evanoff

  4. This looks amazing! I’m interested to know how Evan’s aging goes after a year. Wow.. that last sentence is quite interesting taken out of context.

    • Haha, after a year. I don’t think it’s going to make it that long. Apparently you are supposed to start sampling after a week or so, so you can age it to taste. So he has already broken into it. It has a really great oak flavour 🙂

  5. Oooh, this is a seriously awesome gift. I am totally stealing this idea for my boyfriend!

  6. OMG this is PERFECT for my whiskey loving hubby! This will be his anniversary gift for sure….very cool..so glad you shared!

  7. Lindsey, did you buy the 5L..that is the one I am looking at and wondering what you got..thanks!

  8. That barrel is a great idea. If I hadn’t already shopped for my husband’s birthday this year, I’d grab it! But it’s going on my list for next year.

Leave a Reply

