Proud to be Canadian!

The winter Olympics are my favourite, and in 2010 I was pretty much glued to my TV the entire time they were on. It was the most I have ever tweeted (sometimes I forget about Twitter, I’m not the best at tweeting), and I have never been so proud to be Canadian. It could have something to do with the Olympics being in Vancouver. I felt like our entire country was buzzing with excitement. I also worked in a building with all Canadian sports organizations at the time, so there was definitely a lot of Olympic fever happening in there. We even had bleachers and a TV set up in our lobby so people could come and watch the games.

Screen Shot 2014-02-13 at 9.37.04 AM

I was significantly less excited for these Olympics. Mostly because of where they are located, Putin and his ridiculous views on gays, and the news surrounding Russia in general. And then with the whole #SochiProblems cropping up (which I actually thought was pretty unfair), it just seemed like things were not going to go very well.

But they are. And I have once again never felt so proud to be Canadian. Not just because of how well we’re doing…

medal-standings

Though that is nice.

But it is the stories coming out of the games that are really getting to me. Buzzfeed already beat me to this with an excellent article on the heartwarming ways Canada has already won the Olympics, typical, but I have been collecting my own articles that have been making me happy and I don’t care if it’s a repeat.

First of all, Alex Bilodeau. He made me cry in 2010, and he got me again in 2014, that sly minx.

1558576_10202485326808116_321015652_n

Alex is obviously a great athlete, but it is clear he is just such an altruistic human being, and the stories about him have been warming my heart. His kindness and thoughtfulness radiate through how he treats his brother (dedicating his medal to him), his teammates (Kingsbury in particular), and even his other competitors.

He’s just my favourite.

anigif_original-9978-1392220762-8

enhanced-3083-1392087445-1

I have never seen anyone look as happy as Frederic does in this photo. And the happiest people are the most beautiful people.

Moving on, I love the Dufour-Lapointe sisters as well.

fTp5Evb

When Justine shed a tear on the podium as our anthem was playing I just about lost it.

Justine-Dufour-Lapointe

I can’t imagine what that must have felt like for her. Ahh I am such a sucker for a nice story.

And then there was the story about the Canadian coach that came to the rescue of a Russian athlete with a broken ski (article here).

Sochi Olympics Cross Country Sprint
ku-xlarge-1-620x350
ku-xlarge-620x350

So nice. THIS is sportsmanship!

I was very impressed when Toronto City Hall put up the Pride Flag to show its support of the games, and much less impressed when our own mayor protested against it and put in a formal request to have it taken down. But Jim Watson, Mayor of Ottawa, restored my faith in mayors again:

Screen Shot 2014-02-13 at 9.22.33 AM

Best response ever. Jim Watson has my vote! Can we switch mayors please?

But I am impressed with Toronto City Council. This morning I heard that they are putting forward a motion to have Toronto bars open earlier (like 6am) during the Team Canada hockey games because they are broadcast so early due to the time difference. Of course this would be a concern of ours. Must have beer for our hockey.

And on that note…

Screen Shot 2014-02-13 at 9.25.08 AM

A beer fridge that opens only when you scan your Canadian passport. How amazing is that?

So I think it is safe to say that no matter how well we end up doing in the medal department, we have succeeded in showing the world our Canadian spirit, and as a very proud Canadian, to me that is the most important.

sport-friends(pic from the Olympic Heroes Parade)

So, GO CANADA!!!

Now tell me your favourite Olympic story! I have been concentrating on the Canadian ones, but I am sure there are many heartwarming tales from around the world.

7 responses to “Proud to be Canadian!

  1. All great stories for sure. But let’s give credit to our American friends too. The Canadian ski coach that gave the Russian skier some assistance, is an American guy. He is a coach of the Canadian ski team and is married to Becky Scott (Canadian skier), but he is an American….and it is still a great show of sportsmanship

  2. There is another story from these olympics- our favourite for the 1000 metre speed skating event FELL in the pre-trials and didnt make the Cdn team for that event (but did for other events so he was in Sochi and on the team). However, the guy who did make it chose to step down to give this guy a chance to skate in his place…and then he won silver!

    http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2014/02/12/denny-morrison-olympics-speed-skating-silver_n_4774247.html

  3. GREAT post! This made me feel warm in my heart! I could watch the GIF of the Bilodeau brother hug all day…What a happy time for us Canadian hosers!

  4. That is the sweetest ever! (Alex Bilodeau).
    I love how the Australians practice over here because we don’t have snow most of the time! If you watch this YouTube it will show you – it’s pretty cool. And it’s less than two minutes 🙂

Leave a Reply

