We Love the Nana

This weekend was my birthday weekend! On Saturday I turned elderly. Well, 31. It’s fine, it’s fine…3o is the new 16. A handful of people have asked me how I feel about turning 31 and eh, I don’t have a lot of feels either way. People get older, it can’t be changed, there’s nothing to do but embrace it. If I want to put things into perspective I just think of my saucy Nana.

IMG_9678

Who will be 100 years young this July! She is gearing up for her birthday letter from the Queen. And I still think she looks like she’s in her 60s. If I make it to a spry 99 as she has this means I still have nearly 70 years ahead of me, which sounds like a freakishly long time. And way too long a time to spend worrying about getting older. Also, having fun keeps you young.

My cousins Chrissy and Allie are currently visiting from BC, so on Friday I worked from home and took a long lunch so I could make it to the impromptu family reunion in my Nana’s home.

IMG_9677

Four generations of Evanoff

(If you are looking for some light reading I suggest Allie’s wedding post, it is one of my favourites that I have written and one of the best weekends of my life.)

The Nanners was soo happy to have everyone there. She is so funny when you tell her stories because she just says “Wonderful!” and “Fantastic!” and “Beautiful!” She is just the happiest ever. She lives for visits with us, and the kids especially bring her a lot of joy.

IMG_9687

Wonderful!

She had actually been really sick with the flu leading up to Friday, and I guess it was so bad late last week that she contemplated going into the hospital…but then she heard we were all coming so she was like “well I can’t be sick, I need to see everyone!” so then she was just better and no hospital visit required. Pretty good example of mind over matter right there. She is strong for her children and her grandchildren and her great grandchildren.

Even my dad made it out to see the fam.

IMG_9690

Normally I would make some sort of comment about my dad’s attire, but I am pretty sure we’re wearing nearly the same shirt so I’d better refrain…

It was such a lovely afternoon with my family and it gave me a little pep in my step for my birthday celebrations in the evening. We were talking about how we all leave a Nana visit feeling warm and happy. She is such an inspiration.

It was a very good start to my birthday weekend. A very good start indeed. Shenanigans still to come. Hope you had a great weekend!

5 responses to “We Love the Nana

  1. Your nana is so charming. And yep, you’re dressing like your dad, it’s kind of cute!

  2. I love posts about your nana!

  3. Jo-Ann and Harry

    Hi Lindsey,
    Just reading the e-mails now. Sorry we missed the chance to wish you a Happy birthday. Sounds like it was fun and loved the pictures of all of you.
    Have a wonderful and fantastic year.
    Love
    Jo-Ann and Harry

  4. Happy belated Birthday!

  5. Pingback: Happy 100th Birthday to my Nana!!! | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

