The Hot Diggity Dogger and Guess the Bum

We had been planning for a few weeks for this past weekend to be the BIG GRAND OPENING at the cottage with Evan’s family, but sadly it did not end up happening. When we were checking the weather for the weekend we noticed it was supposed to dip to 1 degree C on Saturday night, in Toronto. Up north it could potentially be significantly lower, so below freezing. Meaning things would freeze. It would probably not be good to turn the water on and then have the pipes freeze so, postponed. I was disappointed because COTTAGE! I have missed this view!

img_6624

I had also signed up for a 5k on Sunday morning with my childhood friend Melissa (the friend I blew across the lake with – and if you’re looking for a good story I suggest you click on that link) and I was really looking forward to it, but I cancelled my entry when I found out about the cottage weekend (it was a free race so no big D). And then when the cottage was cancelled I thought it was too late to try to get back in. So I missed out on that. I may have been able to get back in but I’ll be honest I didn’t try very hard… BUT it was our friend Mark’s birthday on Saturday night, so I was happy to be able to attend that. Big Mark’s big b-day was hosted by these two party animals…

10154488_10100871284651579_4504567016292735034_n

Dawn and baby Scarlett. I barely saw Scarlett though as Evan and I arrived at 8 and that is her bedtime. I thought for sure she would wake up at some point while we were there, since she is a baby and I hear all the horror stories of babies pulling all-nighters (and I very vividly remember my brother Eric and his collicky all-nighters, those sure were the days) but she is already sleeping through the night! Apparently she started this at 6 weeks. Parents, is this normal? I am not the most baby savvy but I feel like sleeping through the night at that age means little Scarlett is a dream.

And I’ll tell you what I am savvy about and what was also a dream…the food table.

IMG_9945

IMG_9944

Salty and sweet and all the good things. If you look to your right in the above photo you’ll notice Eat Shrink and Be Merry’s salmon cheese ball that I made (it is REALLY delicious, recipe here!) And I must tell you that Evan brought the Hot Diggity Dogger for everyone to enjoy. He was really excited about it. He was all “this is PERFECT for Mark’s birthday!” and it was. Have you ever seen one of these?

IMG_9943

You put your weenies and your buns in the slots and pop it down like a toaster, and it perfectly cooks your hotdogs while toasting your buns. It’s very well designed. It was the first time I have actually tried it and I really have to admit that my hotdog was delicious. Emily (who is demonstrating her excitement in the above photo) said it was one of the best hotdogs she had ever had, only second to barbecue. Agreed. I think we will be toting the Hot Diggity Dogger around to all the parties this summer.

Dawn made some pretty beautiful cupcakes…

IMG_9946

I guess they stuck in the pan and got all mangled, so she posted a photo of them on Facebook the night before and I immediately commented and said “just slap some icing on those babies as-is, I’ll eat them.” And I did. The taste was not affected by their imperfect appearance. Still good.

Evan and I found the male version of the birthday cake ring toss game that I had at my birthday (and Sherrie had at her birthday) so we have that to Mark as part of his present (which also included a card that said “Happy Birthday to our Dad”) and I think he was pretty excited about it.

10175961_10100871284506869_4286696096368331421_n

Happy Birthday Dad

So with Scarlett safely tucked into her crib and her baby monitor all set up we were ready for a good old fashioned house party.

IMG_0661

Slightly toned down as we are grown-ups, but the usual shenanigans ensued.

IMG_9957

The boys were happy, as they could all get caught up while watching the hockey game…

10157157_10100871284317249_4435313872337078301_n

And the girls and Khalil and Joel played a really awesome drinking game with a deck of cards specifically made for the card game A**hole (aka President, but I have never ever heard anyone call it that). The cards were a regular deck of playing cards, but they were huge and each one had a different bum on it. 52 bums in total. There were big bums, small bums, male and female bums, bums of various ethnicity, and even dog bums (for the jokers). We did actually play A**hole for a while, but the BEST game we played like Ride The Bus, but called it Guess The Bum. Basically before you saw the card you had to guess if it was going to have a male or female bum on it, and then we flipped the card over to check. If you were wrong, you drank, if you were right, you gave out a drink to someone at the table. If it was unclear whether the bum belonged to a male or female (sometimes it was difficult to tell), we turned to Judge Julie who would make the final call.

IMG_9951

Is this a male bum or a female bum? Serious deliberation going on here.

If Judge Julie couldn’t make a proper decision whether the bum was male or female, we yelled SOCIAL!!! and everyone drank.

We also took Guess the Bum one step further and turned it into Guess The Celebrity Bum. Same rules, but instead of stating a gender you had to say a celebrity that you thought the bum might look like (before seeing the bum). So if you said, for example “John Goodman” and the bum looked like it might have belonged to Rihanna, you had to drink three times (we had different categories to judge, age, gender, size, etc.) Some people weren’t drinking so we kinda just customized as we went along, but I tell you what, that game was hours of fun.

This was the first time there has been a big group of us together since the birth of Scar-Scar. We are missing a few gals in the below photo who left earlier, but it was so nice to catch up with all the ladyfriends. 

IMG_0662

And Bolt and Miyou. And Donatello the Ninja turtle in a cardigan.

And of course, happy birthday to Mark!

6 responses to “The Hot Diggity Dogger and Guess the Bum

  1. Guess the bum was my fave game ever!!

  2. that hot diggity dogger is a dream come true.
    literally, i’ve been dreaming of getting one for years.

    my friends always say they’re gonna get me one for a birthday gift…and here i am, hot diggity dogless.

    maybe this year will be the year!

    i’m so glad to hear it gets a great review 😉

    • It does get a great review, you need to get your hands on one! Evan actually got his at a yard sale in Edmonton, ha. BUT it was still in the package (with the receipt) and originally from the West Edmonton Mall. I saw it on Amazon but apparently there are none in stock so I have no idea where you’d find one. Good luck.

  3. Um, I would have LOVED guess the bum!!! That game is what my dreams are made of! Good call making Julie the judge. she is firm, yet fair.

Leave a Reply

