May 2-4 Weekend Activities

I definitely say this every Victoria Day weekend, but May 2-4 weekend is my favourite weekend of the year. I have always associated it with the beginning of summer, and summer is the best. To celebrate May 2-4 I usually try to be outside as much as possible, ideally at a cottage. Unfortunately, spring seems to be taking its sweet time getting started this year, and the weather is kind of being a jerk… May 2-4 weekend is always hit or miss, but this year I think was more miss. It wasn’t very nice out until Monday. And so Evan and I opted out of the cottage and instead had a weekend in the city. Not my favourite, but it was still a good time.

On Friday we were out running errands and decided to hit up East Side Marios for dinner. We were sitting down with our menus and waiting for our server to come over and take our order when Evan said “what are you thinking?” meaning had I decided what I wanted to order. My coworker had gone to the Mandarin last week and had been going on about it at work, so as I was looking over all the pasta selections in my head all I was saying was “Torpedo shrimp. Chicken balls. Lemon chicken. Torpedo shrimp.” And so I said “I think we should have gone to the Mandarin.” And this was Evan’s reaction to that.

bert

DId you say…Mandarin?

He immediately closed his menu, put it down on the table and said “OMGLETSGO.” So we high-tailed it outta there and headed over to the Mandarin. It’s been so long since I’ve been there, and I forgot how sweet their operation is. They have everything imaginable, and it really is all fresh. Three plates of fried meat later I was feeling pretty good about my life. I don’t waste no time with vegetables at the Mandarin. They’re actually probably more calorie-heavy than the meat.

I was full and in bed in a happy fried meat coma by 11pm and it was pretty awesome.

On Saturday we popped over to the Walmart garden centre and picked up some goodies for our urban balcony garden (aka urban oasis).

IMG_0147

Mint, basil, rosemary, oregano and chives. I definitely want to get some more greenery out there, but it’s a good start. I’m excited for all the delicious dishes Evan can make for me featuring our herb garden.

Saturday evening we had our friends Dorothy and Ian over for dinner and a movie night. First barbecue of the season!

IMG_0149

Yes yes yes yes yesssss. Grilled pork, mushrooms and peppers, with salad, warm pita bread, tzatziki, and the Chic to be Greek Dip from Eat, Shrink and Be Merry. It was all delicious.

And for our evening entertainment we watched Ace Ventura, Pet Detective AND Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls.

ace-ventura

Because you have to watch the sequel immediately after the first movie so you have the character depth behind Ace Ventura. Obviously. Though the second one is definitely not as funny as I remember from my childhood. The first one sure made me laugh though. I love the whole Dan Marino laces out storyline.

danmarino

Laces OUT Dan!

Sunday was supposed to be the nicest day of the weekend, so Evan and I planned to go for a hike/picnic at a conservation area near Bradford. I was pretty excited for an outdoor active activity. So we packed up all our picnic gear in the car and headed up north. We arrived and got out of the car, and it poured rain. Just poured. We had to abandon the picnic hike, and that was sad. We ate our sandwiches in the car and then went to a flea market nearby instead (the 400 Market in Barrie if anyone knows the area, and it was awesome).

We ate our remaining picnic items for dinner.

IMG_0153

Evan’s amazing bean dip and vegetables, with homemade perogies we picked up from the flea market.

And on Monday it was ACTUALLY nice out, so I had my first patio beer of the season with my friend Hannah.

IMG_0156

Which was extremely well deserved because it was after discount shopping on Orfus Road, which really just reminded me how much I dislike shopping.

And in the afternoon Evan and I finally got to go for that hike.

IMG_0160

No picnic (not literally anyway), but the hike was nice and it was great to be outside in the sun after this horrid winter. We found a trail near us that isn’t too shabby at all for being a city trail.

IMG_0157

I think that could be a new running route!

So that was my long weekend. Hope you guys had a good one as well. Alrighty then?

alrighty-then

Alrighty then!

5 responses to “May 2-4 Weekend Activities

  1. Nice to see I am still cropped out of the Dan Marino picture. How many old ladies were injured at Mandarin

  2. YES! I love, LOVE that you and Evan have started an “urban balcony garden”. There’s always enough space for something!

  3. Pingback: Island Picnics and Beaching Leisuring (with fake one-legged seagulls) | Happy or Hungry

  4. Pingback: Island Picnics and Beaching (with fake one-legged seagulls) | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

