The time I drove 3 hours just to see my best friend

As you may know, Lisa, my best friend since Grade 3 who I grew up with, moved to Calgary a few years ago. As such, I do not get to see her as often as I would like. I haven’t seen her since Christmas! We have always kind of been used to not seeing each other for long periods of time, since her family had a cottage near my house when we were growing up and wouldn’t come up a lot during the winter, but we spent entire summers together and even lived together for about a year. We are so alike and it is no fun being so far away from her.

1149327_10201156447226957_1796435035_o

Besties

Last week she happened to be in Ottawa for work, which while in Ontario is not exactly convenient being a five hour drive from Toronto. But we were determined to meet up. We both had to work during the day all week, but on Thursday we were able to skip out a bit early and we each drove halfway to Kingston to meet for dinner. It ended up being about three hours for me by the time I got out of the city (traffic, boo), so I essentially drove three hours just for dinner BUT…it was so worth it!

IMG_0341

Reunited!

Sometimes you just feel better after seeing your best friend. Like we rejuvenate each other for life or something.

I was telling a coworker that we were both driving that far to meet for dinner and she said “Wow, that’s really nice that you would do that for each other,” and yeah, for sure, anything for love… But I should mention that I also really like driving. I basically just cranked my music and sang at the top of my lungs for three hours straight (and 2.5 hours back). I talked to Lisa about it and she said she also had a karaoke party of one in her car. It’s the way to do solo road trips.

Anyway, we were originally going to meet at Lonestar in Kingston, because fajitas, but when we got to the spot where Lonestar was supposed to be it seemed to be hiding. We couldn’t find it anywhere. So we found a really cute pub by the water and set up shop on the patio since it was nice out.

We were both starving after our respective long drives, so we went a little nuts on the appetizers… We started with flatbread pizza and macaroni and cheese poppers.

IMG_0337

Yeah you heard me. Fried mac-a-frickin-roni and cheese, yes please.

IMG_0338

Definitely the highlight of the meal right there, although I would have liked it more if it had just been deep fried Kraft Dinner. We both also got the special, which included a burger, fries and a pint of Keith’s for $11.99.

IMG_0339

Super good deal but not exactly a stellar burger and I only had a few bites before I called it quits on that. I was basically full from all the appetizers at that point anyway. But I drank my Keith’s and I liked it.

We had such a lovely catch up dinner.

We were right on the Kingston waterfront so afterwards we went for a stroll along the water.

IMG_0356

IMG_0361

I haven’t been to Kingston since I was on a band trip in Grade 9 and I don’t remember much about it aside from the historical aspects, a la Fort Henry (which I remember being fantastic), and the mall. But Kingston is beautiful! We found a ton of cool things along the water. Like this historical train…

 


IMG_0347

And the retired Canadian Coast Guard Ship Alexander Henry, which is now a marine museum.

IMG_0357

I wish we had more time and could have checked that out. But we walked along the waterfront trail and chatted for about an hour or so, and it was glorious. Just so nice.

IMG_0363

IMG_0364

Again well worth the nearly six hour drive. It was so good to see Lisa’s bright shining face. Evan and I are actually heading out to BC/Alberta at the end of June so I will see her again in less than a month…but we just couldn’t wait.

5 responses to “The time I drove 3 hours just to see my best friend

  1. You and your Lisa sound just like me and my Lisa. I love your love!

    So now I feel all special, because you drove 2.5 hours to see me and then I drove 2.5 hours to see you the next day. I’m basically your honorary bestie.

    Tip: Fried mac and cheese is WAY better cold. FF and I got some and we were like, yep, that’s good. Took the rest home. Tried it cold and decided that the next time we get it, we’re just getting it to go and putting it in the fridge. Delish! Totally agree on the Kraft thing. You just can’t beat that powerderd cheese.

    • I know! I think that whenever I read about you and your Lisa!

      Well you should feel special, because that is true. Though I do have to point out that we spent the evening with you guys and then stayed the night, and vice versa… Not that I wouldn’t drive 2.5 hours each way just to see you for 2 hours because obviously I would. Anyway, yes, honourary besties. And Evan and FF can be honourary besties as well.

      Thanks for the fried mac and cheese tip. Yesterday how to get the best seats at concerts, today how to enjoy the best mac and cheese. You are just improving my life one step at a time.

  2. I absolutely know what you mean. My friend Tracie moved away and then she had a baby so she came home much less often. Then she moved from Calgary to Regina for her husband’s work. One Friday off we were emailing each other at 7:30 am and lamenting about how if we were in the same city we’d probably go to Walmart and the bookstore and then out for lunch. Then I went to Google Maps and emailed her back and said “you know, if I threw some shit in a bag, I could be there by 1”. And I left 30 minutes later. I stayed over the night and drove back Saturday. Haha – we still talk about it and that baby is now 11 years old.

  3. I have a deep, deep love for the K-town! It’s so beautiful in the summer, and not too shabby in the winter, either!

    Lonestar is quite silly with their hidden entrances… There is one at the front on Ontario St., but you have to walk between two buildings up an alleyway to get to it from that end… there is also a back entrance which takes you directly onto the patio. If you follow the pathway between the HI and the Merchant, it’s just up on the right. (If coming from Princess). Just a little FYI if you and Lisa ever have a chance to meet there in the middle again! (Or go to Woodenheads… Gourmet pizza… sooo delicious).

  4. My SIL and her boyfriend met in Kingston, so they appropriately named their first dog together, Kingston (and he’s awesome). I’ve never really been to Kingston (just through). We’re actually doing the drive up to Ottawa area this coming weekend. 3 adults, 1 baby, and 1 dog, here we come!

Leave a Reply

