Happy 100th Birthday to my Nana!!!

That’s right, you heard me. My positive, happy, strong, beautiful, most amazing Nana turns 100 today. 100!!!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can’t believe it. She was born in 1914. Can you even imagine all the things she’s seen?

To celebrate her big day my family is heading over to her nursing home for a party this morning. It’s gonna be a good time and you better believe there’s going to be champagne, and you better believe my nana is snagging that 100th birthday letter from the Queen.

Nana

I’m gettin’ my letter.

I don’t even know what to say about my Nana that I haven’t already said before. She continues to be the most positive woman I know, with the happiest outlook and the sunniest disposition. When something is worrying me she still tells me “Don’t worry, you’re beautiful,” and she still tries to take care of me with her “care packages” (last time she gave me a box of Ziplock bags and a bunch of Werther’s Originals). She is the biggest example of enjoying the small things in life, and the two words she uses the most often are “wonderful!” and “fantastic!”

This is why she has lived so long, I know it. She is the prime example of not sweating the small stuff. She has not had the easiest life, and her early childhood years were particularly tumultuous, but she has not let that be an excuse to not be happy. It is so easy to blame circumstances or people for the things that are wrong in your life. But she does not. She just carries on. Even being in a nursing home. It’s not ideal. I’m sure she doesn’t love it there, but she knows it is the best place for her to be and she makes the best of it.

She has been the best influence to my cousins, and my brother and I.

photo (2)

If you are interested, here is some past Nana reading material:

NanaWinnie

HAPPY 100th BIRTHDAY NANA!!!!

11 responses to “Happy 100th Birthday to my Nana!!!

  1. yay!!! Happy Birthday Nana!!! I love all the Nana stories but my favourite might be the diaper. When you mentioned the letter from the Queen, I instantly thought “who sends the letter to the Queen when she turns 100?”

  2. Happiest of Happy Birthdays to your Nana! She really seems like a joy to be around. Her (and your) happiness shines right through the pictures! 🙂

  3. Wow – 100 years! A very Happy Birthday to your Nana! I love reading your stories about her 🙂

  4. Love this :).
    I had a kitty that looked JUST LIKE Winnie! She lived to be 20 years old :).

  5. Happy birthday Nana! I love reading about her positivity on your blog. I can also see your eyes and smile in your younger Nana photo!

  6. So awesome! Happy Birthday to your Nana!

Leave a Reply

