The 100th Birthday Party

I still have quite a lot of trip recapping I want to do, but I need to take a little break because yesterday was a VERY important day and I want to talk about it while it’s still fresh in my mind. My Nanny turned the big 100. Evan and I headed over to her nursing home in the late morning, along with my family and Nanny’s friends, to celebrate this huge milestone.

Heeeeeere she is!

IMG_1664

Looking so sassy in her white silk blazer and pants. What a birthday girl. She is a minx to the ninth degree.

Note that she does not have to be in a wheelchair, she can walk…but sometimes she likes to walk without her walker, so she had a little fall a couple days ago. Just on her bum, she’s okay, but I guess she wasn’t feeling the best the day before her party and my aunt was like “Well ya better pep up ’cause we’re having a big party for you tomorrow!” And she did. Ohh she did.

IMG_1667

She was so happy to see all of us, and my cousins were there from BC and brought their children, our Nana’s grandchildren, who she cannot get enough of. She was just so excited.

IMG_1706

My cousins Allie and Chrissy

IMG_1679

My Auntie Nancy, the Nanners, and my dad

Seeing her so incredibly happy with all her family and friends brought tears to my eyes. It is bringing tears to my eyes right now as I write this.

Nanny had other reasons to be excited. She got all these letters from very important people congratulating her on her big day. Including her MP (Member of Parliament if you are not Canada savvy)…

IMG_1674

And that bottom quote “laugh as much as you breathe, and love as long as you live” is something my Nana very much lives by.

The Governor General of Canada…

IMG_1675

And YEP, she got her letter from the Queen!

IMG_1669

Well, the Queen’s office. That is official Buckingham Palace stationary, so kind of a big deal. And yes, this is a thing in Canada. The Queen will send you a personalized letter on your 100th birthday, and also for 50th wedding anniversaries. You do have to request it though. I know Nana has been waiting for that letter!

In honour of Nanny’s big day, I made perogies (or pedaha as we have always called them), from her very own recipe that she has been using for years and years. It was my very first time, but they turned out pretty good!

IMG_1683

I will post the recipe, but maaan they are time consuming. They took me two evenings. Worth it though, they are so good and they really did taste just like Nana used to make them. My dad said he couldn’t even tell the difference, which was basically the highest compliment I could have received. I really have to thank the staff at her nursing home because I just brought them in frozen and they boiled them in the kitchen for us and then covered them with butter. Very nice of them.

Evan also made my Nana’s famous salad. He is the only one I know who can get the dressing close to hers (oil and vinegar, you know, the salad). 

IMG_1684

Adding garlic really helps. Nana eventually just added entire cloves of garlic into the salad, surprisingly better than it sounds…but chopping it up is good too.

My Auntie Nancy also made a cabbage roll casserole (Nana used to make cabbage rolls all the time), so it felt like I was eating a meal at Nana’s house.

IMG_1687

For dessert my Nana’s friend made a chocolate mint pavlova, which I didn’t even know that I liked…but it was probably the best thing I’ve ever eaten. I was dying over it.

IMG_1696

Seriously so good. I need that recipe in my life. I want to eat it every day.

IMG_1704

And cookie cake.

IMG_1701

Because my Nana loves her cookies.

And of course we had champagne, which means MIMOSAS!!!

IMG_1691

Does she look good, or does she look good? I don’t know what it means when your 100-year-old Nana probably has less wrinkles than you do. I am hoping that with age they just go away. We were all raving about how great she looked and how amazing her skin is, and she said “Oh, it’s makeup! It’s just makeup!” I’d like to know what kind of makeup that is, ’cause I think it’s magic.

IMG_1707

But it’s more than her physical appearance. She just has a light behind her eyes.

I saw so many people I haven’t seen for a long time, which made me really happy. I especially enjoy spending time with my beautiful cousins, and I am sad they are a five hour flight away. Our visits always seem so short and so far between.

IMG_1710

Even my friends Emily and Corey came out to say happy birthday to Nana.

IMG_1705

Really nice of them. Nana hasn’t seen Emily probably since we were in elementary school, but she remembered her!

IMG_1697

I can’t believe how with it she still is. She was asking about Lisa, my bestie, and wanted to see recent pictures of her. She remembered and was asking about Eric’s girlfriend Kenya and she’s only met her once. She always asks how Winnie is doing.

For every birthday, all my Nana ever asks me for is pictures of me. That’s all she wants. Just pictures of her grandchildren. And so, for her birthday present Evan and I made a photo album of our recent vacation photos. She loved.

IMG_1702

That Nana is so photogenic. She is always instantly photo ready. I feel like this might be where I get that from. Camera is pointing my way? Must smile. My Nans has always been like this, and I found a bunch of pictures of me when I was kid when I was at my mom’s recently, and I seem to have always been like that too.

So the happiest, happiest of 100th birthdays to the Nana.

IMG_1694

IMG_1666

I know that my Papa was smiling down on her (please note she still faithfully wears her wedding ring, even though my papa passed away when my mom was pregnant with me over 30 years ago).

We better be celebrating number 101 next year!

15 responses to “The 100th Birthday Party

  1. So awesome! Happy birthday to your Nana! My grandparents were married 62 years. I wonder if they ever got a letter from the Queen?

  2. Hopefully this doesn’t sound creepy (but it probably does), I have tears running down my face reading this recap. I love how much you love your Nana, and she just seems like a wonderful person. And she does look amazing!!! Makes me miss my Nana….who was a crotchety old woman who lived to be 101. She used to complain that she was still alive and we told her the meaner she was, the longer God was going to let her live. It sounds so terrible now that I type that out but she would laugh and laugh when we told her that. She knew she was ornery. I think maybe it’s the two extremes that let them live so long – super sweet and positive, and super judge-y and grumpy. Anyway, Happy Birthday Lindsey’s Nana!! ❤

    • Oh, this made me laugh. You are right, the old and crotchety ones tend to live a long time as well. I actually think my Nana is pretty ready to go. She doesn’t complain that she’s still alive but she does say things like “I never thought I would live this long!” Her husband and all her friends have been gone for years. That’s gotta be tough. But she’s kinda like “meh, it’s not my time I guesss, I’ll just carry on.”

      Your Nana made me think of the grandma of one of my friends. Not that they were similar but she was extremely crotchety. She for some reason did not like him and blamed him for his parents divorce (because it’s always the children’s fault). She had photos of all of her grandkids up at her house, except for him. So to spite her, for Christmas he got her an entire calendar with pictures of just his face, with a note that said “Is this good enough to be hung on your wall, Grandma?” haha.

  3. She is the cutest! Plus perogies and a giant cookie cake, that’s basically the best birthday ever! Happy birthday!

  4. Grandmas are the freakin’ best!!! Congrats again to yours on a wonderful milestone and all the deserved accolades that went along with it. She obviously is a wonderful family matriarch and it’s nice to see that celebrated on your blog. Gives me the kick in the pants to call both my grandmas.

    P.S. Governor General of Canada? Is that like President-Lite? So sorry, so not internationally cultured.

    P.P.S. YES pierogie recipe!!!!

  5. Love this post and I love everything about your Nana. The best part is that I found out her name! Maria!

  6. This is such a sweet post, and yes, your nana is beautiful! Her skin looks fantastic, so when you find out what make-up she uses you better share! 😉 Happy birthday Nana!

  7. Pingback: Nanny’s Annual Elvis BBQ | Happy or Hungry

  8. Pingback: Experiences of 2014 | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

