Eating Adventures at the Calgary Stampede

Last post about my vacation and then I will shut up about it, I promise.

I need to talk about the food at the Calgary Stampede, because whoa. I am still undoing that damage. The Stampede is really a lot like the Toronto Exhibition, only with cowboys and rodeos. In the food department it is very similar in that it is one of those “let’s see how crazy we can get” type of deals. Like cronut burgers and such.

IMG_1592

Who doesn’t want a hand dipped double bacon corn dog? I actually did have a hand dipped jalapeno cheese corn dog and honestly I ripped all the corn off and just ate the dog, so I am not sure what that says about me. Probably it says I was inebriated because that happened late Saturday night.

There was food EVERYWHERE. Everywhere you looked. All the food. And just when you thought it couldn’t get any weirder, along came pizza on a stick. And chips on a stick.

IMG_1518

Those Wiggle Chips were GOOD though, they were Evan’s dream!

And deep fried Philly cheesesteak (I almost wrote chilly pheesesteak)…

IMG_1512

And all of the items on this list:

IMG_1514

Why did I not get the chocolate covered bacon?! WHY?!

And then there was all your typical carnival/fair type fare as well:

IMG_1517

IMG_1508

IMG_1507

IMG_1506

There were a lot of different kinds of foods, and sadly I can’t eat everything, so I had to choose wisely. Here are the things I remember eating:

Pulled pork from the 3 B’s, which was delicious.

IMG_1586

I love a good pulled pork from a legit barbecue joint. I could have gone for more sauce on there, but that’s alright. You can’t have everything.

Taco in a bag!

IMG_1520

Which is crushed Doritos topped with all the taco fixins (ground beef, cheese, lettuce tomato, salsa, sour cream). That actually may have been one of the greatest things I’ve ever eaten. I never wanted that goody bag to end.

IMG_1523

Deep fried cheddar cheese…

IMG_1516

Which was also amazing. Just a crispy nugget of melty cheddar. Love.

Deep fried avocado…

IMG_1521

And I would say deep fried avocado is not as good as it sounds, but I don’t even know if it sounds good… We should have stuck to the deep fried pickles ’cause I KNOW that is goodness right there.

And of course…

IMG_1595

Yep and yep. Deep fried Oeros…

IMG_1599

And deep fried Pop Tarts.

IMG_1598

#fitfluential #jerf #betruetoyou #nourish

The Pop Tarts were surprisingly good. The taste was pretty much bang-on deep fried Pop Tart. If I didn’t know beforehand what I was eating, I would have been able to guess it. HOWEVER, they did have a weird kind of sogginess to them that I didn’t really enjoy. Not sure what was up with that.

The deep fried Oreos were obviously dynamite. You can’t go wrong there.

All the deep fried things reminded me of when I used to work at Dairy Queen in high school and we would experiment with the deep fryer and try to fry everything. Like processed cheese. And cones. And the ice cream itself (deep fried cone with ice cream is SO good). And one time someone accidentally dropped a drive thru headset in the deep fryer. It actually still worked afterwards, but it was greasy forever after.

Anyway. I washed all the amazingness down with sweet, sweet lemonade.

IMG_1524

And beer.

Good times. And you know what, I didn’t even gain any weight while we were away because we walked so much. So that is a win. Though, every time I go on vacation I seem to gain 10 pounds the second I’m off the plane somewhere new…and somehow when I’m home again I’m back to normal. Weird, right?

Have a great weekend! EAT LOTS!!!!

6 responses to “Eating Adventures at the Calgary Stampede

  1. love the hashtags on the deep fried pop tart! too funny!

  2. I have had chocolate covered bacon and it is actually fabulous. I got it at the christmas market in the distillery district a couple years ago #fitfluential

  3. I love that lemonade even though it’s SOOOO simple.

    Also, I want a deep friend chilly pheesesteak – it sounds amazing 😉

  4. I want to try all these food things!

    I used to go to the CNE just for the food building 🙂

    I would totally want a hand dipped double bacon corn dog – and those pop tarts….yum!

    Although I would probably have one hellva stomach ache after

  5. WHY DO THEY NOT HAVE FOOD LIKE THAT OVER HERE??? Oh i am so jealous! At our fairs/carnivals etc. we have Corn Dogs but not like that! (And we call them Dagwood Dogs over here)

Leave a Reply

