Boston Blue Jays

On Monday evening, after our Boston adventures, we quickly took over the bathrooms in the lobby of the Buckminster (we didn’t have a room anymore, so thank you again Buckminster staff!) and changed into our gear for the Red Sox vs. Blue Jays game at Fenway Park.

IMG_2193

We’re obviously cheering for the Jays!

It was still so incredibly hot and humid (I think the east coast is stealing our summer), so I stayed in my skirt. The thought of trying to encase my sweaty legs in skinny jeans made them feel like they wanted to fall off.

I have only ever seen the Jays at Rogers Centre. I’ve never been anywhere else, and I don’t think the girls had either. So we were excited to be at a real American ballpark!

IMG_2198

And I can’t tell you how fun it is to go to a game cheering for the opposing team.

IMG_2195

I don’t think any of us were as excited as our little Ern was though.

IMG_2189

She is a Blue Jays super fan and pretty much the entire reason we were in Boston in the first place. She made that sweet sign as a tribute to her dad, whose dream it is to see a game in Fenway Park.

The Fenway area was absolutely rammed with people. Mostly Red Sox fans, but we were surprised at the amount of fellow Jays fans that were in attendance. Dawn brought her Blue Jays 1992 World Series Champions flag, and as we walked by people we would lift it over their heads while we sang to them.

IMG_2191

Initially we targeted excited Blue Jays fans, but we got some Red Sox lovers under there as well. They liked it. Red Sox fans were pretty tolerant of us cheering for the opposing team, and we had a lot of fun with friendly heckling. We even made a couple Red Sox fan friends.

IMG_2197

Mother daughter Red Sox fans!

And this Boston police officer.

IMG_2201

Dawn spotted him and was all “we are going to be his friend,” and so we were. Does he not look like the quintessential Boston police officer? When I think of Boston cops, that man is what I picture. We told him he was cheering for the Jays tonight and the man who was taking our picture for us was all “You poor sucker.” Maybe, but he enjoyed. I need to point out that in Toronto, officers usually refuse to get into pictures with us, so that made us love this man even more.

After wandering around the street a bit, we made it into the park.

IMG_2204

Skydome/Rogers Centre it is not, but it was all sorts of awesome in there. It opened in 1912 and is the oldest ballpark in Major League Baseball! So that is pretty cool.

IMG_2212

Yay Fenway

Our seats weren’t far away from the Jays’ bullpen, and Dickey made an appearance.

IMG_2210

Dickayyyyy

Joanna and I were about to stalk him for an autograph, but then we didn’t want to kill his concentration so we were able to refrain.

After we got settled into our seats, I went off by myself in search of a hot dog before I died of starvation. Aside from an ice cream cone I hadn’t eaten since brunch that morning so I was ready to punch anyone who talked to me in the face. My Fenway Frank really hit the spot. While I was waiting for my dog a few 12ish year-old boys came up to me and said “Excuse me, do you live in Canada?!” so I said yes, yes I sure do, and they were like “Good for you!” and all shook my hand. I am not sure if they were surprised that Canada is populated? Or that Canadian people are fairly normal looking? Who knows, but it was funny.

The park was packed.

IMG_2222

I was sitting for a bit with Erin while the rest of the girls went to grab some food and she was like “I don’t think I have ever been so excited for anything in my entire life.” I think she was vibrating.

IMG_2225

I wouldn’t have thought that anything would be able to top my Blue Jays experience last summer, but man, it was a good game! The Jays CRUSHED the Red Sox, 14-1! Cabrera hit two home runs, and one of them smashed a car’s windshield outside the park. We were cheering ridiculously loud for most of the game and obviously the megaphone came in handy. I was expecting people to boo our cheering, but we only got booed by one Red Sox fan, a 10-year-old girl sitting to the right of us. She did not like our cheering and whenever I looked over at her she looked like she wanted to shank us. But the people in front of us actually thanked Dawn and Emily for being respectful fans, so I guess we couldn’t have been too annoying.

There were some kids behind us who were from Tampa and big Rays fans and said they just did not want Boston to win, so we got them on our side and taught them a few of our cheers (“KA-WA-SA-KI” clap-clap-clapclapclap). It was awesome.

IMG_2231

IMG_2233

Unfortunately we did not make it on the big screen, but I think probably because we are Jays fans and may have been booed. When I think about it I don’t recall ever seeing fans for the opposing team on the Jumbotron in the Rogers Centre. So I suppose that is fair.

Immediately after the game ended we made our way out to the street with the crowd…

IMG_2238

Walked back to the hotel where we were parked, got in the car, and drove back to Toronto. We made much better time going home and were back by 9am on Tuesday. Just in time for work, HUZZAH! So not 14 hours, but I’ll let you guess how much fun driving overnight is. Zero. Until near the end when we all hadn’t really slept and we were just giddy with over-tiredness. But well worth it. Such a great quick trip to Boston.

Thank you for hosting us America!!! We love you!

IMG_2120

Oh and the last name of the border guard who let us through as we crossed back into Canada was McWeenie. So that was a beautiful ending to our amazing whirlwind trip.

6 responses to “Boston Blue Jays

  1. YAY BOSTON! I was just there over the 4th of July week/weekend and we also lucked into a game at Fenway. I’m not a big baseball fan, even less of a Boston sports team fan, but that game was probably one of the best experiences of my life. We decided just to cheer for the home team, and they won! I don’t know what the Blue Jay’s stadium is like, but I found it INCREDIBLE how small/close everyone sits at Fenway. That place is probably smaller than some minor-league parks here in the states.

    I want to come up and visit Toronto and/or Montreal so bad, but passport is expired. Too lazy/cheap to renew.

    • Oh I bet. That is awesome. The Jay’s stadium is a lot bigger for sure. Still close quarters, but I think at Fenway I was closer to the people in front and behind me. It’s the smallest park in MLB!
      Come to Toronto!! It is a good time. I’m going to Montreal in September…I haven’t been since I was young, so I’ll let ya know how it is!

  2. You went to work straight after getting back?!

  3. Pingback: Experiences of 2014 | Happy or Hungry

Leave a Reply

