Labour Day Lake Weekend

My very bestest buddy Lisa is currently visiting from Calgary so I was very lucky to be able to spend the majority of Labour Day weekend with her at her parents lake house.

IMG_3219

Yes, we have Labour Day in Canada, it is not only for Americans. But yes, we spell it Labour, with a U.

I can’t think of anywhere else I would have rather been.

IMG_3210

Beauty, beauty. Lisa’s good friend Corina was with us as well, who I also know pretty well as she was Lisa’s roomie in university and I spent a LOT of party nights at their place. Their uni house will always hold a special place in my heart. Ah the good ol’ days.

girls

The last time the three of us were together…almost two years ago!

IMG_3238

And this time.

Friday evening was pretty low key. We just went swimming, did some hot tubbing, and around 8:30 convinced Lisa’s dad to drive us to a Salvation Army sale that was happening (we could not drive ourselves as we had been drinking in the hot tub). Browsing around was pretty fun, but the sale turned out to be kind of a bust EXCEPT for this pretty sweet game Corina picked up.

IMG_3295

It is called Personal Preference and it is definitely from the 80s. Some of the people in the People category we had to Google because we didn’t know who they were, but it is definitely a good time. Basically you pick four cards in different categories and rank them secretly according to your personal preference. The other players then bet on the order of your preference. Corina already owns it but she has played it so many times with her friends she grabbed it in case one of them wanted it. She said she had been looking online and saw it for about $60 but at the Salvation Army she scored it for $1.99. Pretty sweet deal. It provided hours of entertainment.

Because of our late night trip we didn’t eat dinner until about 9:30pm, but we ate outside with Lisa’s parents (who I like to consider my second parents) and it was romantic.

IMG_3212

I didn’t take a picture of what we ate so I already forget. See, this is why I like a record of these things. But on Saturday morning we woke up to a famous Lisa’s dad’s (or Daddy Brook) breakfast.

IMG_3215

Waffles and peameal bacon. Yes and yes.

We leisured around for a bit until this guy arrived.

IMG_3224

Good thing too, because when I jumped in the lake the day before in my life jacket diaper I was wearing my sunglasses and they promptly fell off and sunk to the bottom of the lake. Not really a big deal, but they are prescription from Zenni and I like being able to see. Evan brought me an extra pair AND he brought goggles and went down and retrieved my lost ones as soon as he got there. That was very nice.

Life jacket diaper picture, for your reference.

IMG_3232

Evan brought Bolt along with him, and he immediately got settled into leisuring as well.

IMG_3234

IMG_3235

Lisa’s parents have a little dog named Roxy, and Bolt has not always been great with other dogs (mainly ones that are bigger than him though) so I worried about how they were going to get along. But after a little first meeting tiff they were best friends. They immediately found a common interest in chasing squirrels and were good with each other for the rest of the weekend.

IMG_3303

IMG_3311

They were so cute together.

We spent the afternoon swimming and hanging around on the dock.

IMG_3239

IMG_3249

And eating.

IMG_3228

Lisa’s mom always has the BEST hotdog and hamburger relishes. 

In the late afternoon, Lisa’s parents took us all on a boat ride.

IMG_3251

I’ve never seen Bolt in a boat before so I wasn’t sure how he was going to react, but he was great.

IMG_3254

He had just gotten splashed here and did not really know what to think of that…

IMG_3259

Much boat ride, so happy.

I loved the boat ride. Lisa’s dad took us all through the locks/channels in the area.

IMG_3262

My favourite was looking at all the lake houses and deciding which one I would like to live in one day. Perhaps this blue one.

IMG_3276

The crazy thing about that blue house is that is the guest house. The actual house is even bigger behind it. But I’d seriously live in a shack if it was on a lake. A tent even.

The entire area is beautiful. All the rocks make me happy.

IMG_3270

IMG_3273

IMG_3272

This was our favourite dog that we saw…

IMG_3263

Can you spot him perched on the end of that makeshift diving board?

IMG_3265

So majestic.

Our ride was about an hour and took us over to the falls and back.

IMG_3267

IMG_3287

Lots of time for doggy snuggles.

IMG_3280

Bolt is so snuggly. He likes to snuggle even more than Winnie, which I wouldn’t have thought possible. She lives for snuggling.

And then we got back and I promptly split my pants…

IMG_3292

They were wet from my bathing suit and the seams did not like that. They’re my favourite cottage pants!!! Sad day.

We had a nice family dinner together.

IMG_3294

We spent more time in the hot tub…

IMG_3326

And we played that Personal Preference game into the evening. Evan was making Lisa, Corina and I die of laughter. I don’t even know what he was doing, but I have said before that I just look at his facial expressions and it makes me laugh hard and I think that’s what was happening.

It was a dream day.

I think Sunday might have been Evan’s dream day though because he got to go sailing with the boys.

IMG_3318

He was pretty excited about that. We girls stayed back and had reading time. And I was pretty excited about THAT. I love my reading time. Every time Lisa and I are together we end up having reading time. We always have. I’d say the only difference in our reading time now and 20 years ago is our choices, but Lisa was re-reading Remember Me by Christopher Pike so it would appear that nothing has actually changed. I remember loving that book so much. I am going to have to re-read it.

Picture of Bolt and Lisa’s mom just because:

IMG_3314

And we had another amazing lunch.

IMG_3330

And then, sadly, it was time for Evan and I to hit the road.

On Sunday night, Lisa and I met up with the girls at my friend Dawn’s. Baby Scarlett slow danced with Donatello.

IMG_3334

And we spent some time catching up in the pool.

IMG_3341

It was really nice to have a low key night in with the ladies.

Perfect last weekend of summer. Just what I would have wanted to do.

8 responses to “Labour Day Lake Weekend

  1. I am just so happy for you and Evan. You seem (and I know you are) so stinkin’ happy. Also, congrats on splitting your pants!

  2. As I have said before, you just have the best life ever 🙂 And you live it, and you love it, and that is an inspiration ❤ You and Evan are made for each other, and I just adore reading about your life together 🙂 Congrats on all of the things!

  3. That Bolt. I just love him so much.
    I think it’s funny that you know when the last weekend of the summer is. Down here, we never know until Mother Nature decides IT’S TIME.
    I need to make some friends with boats. I’m lacking in boat friends.

    • Bebes. I live in Toronto. Found you through somi I think. Keep doing what you’re doing, and I love this post. So happy for you. If I see you on the street, eeks, I’ll stop you and gush how I love this blog. Carry on !

  4. Pingback: Mr. Bolter found his Forever Home | Happy or Hungry

  5. Peameal bacon?! What is this?

Leave a Reply

