The Non Book Club Book Club (aka the drinking wine and eating club)

You may remember a while ago I was part of a book club and I mentioned that it should just be called the Drinking Wine and Eating Club because that was all we seemed to do. Every time we got together we would spend the first 5 minutes or so discussing the book (remember when we read The White Masai? That was weird), and then we would spend two hours eating, drinking wine, and discussing childbirth (and I have nothing to contribute to that conversation aside from my shocked expression, but it’s pretty entertaining).

Anyway, the book club eventually fizzled out. It was my old office bestie Lexy who started the book club back in the day, so this time she came up with the brilliant idea to have a book club without the books. Enter the Non Book Club Book Club, or the drinking wine and eating club. No obligation to read anything at all.

I think it is a great idea because I am always reading anyway, and sometimes we read weird books that I didn’t particularly have a big interest in reading (see The White Masai…and I think I might have been the only one who finished that book). So I don’t need a book club to keep up with my reading, but I really, really miss Lexy. We saw each other every day for nearly 5 years so I like having an excuse to see her now that we no longer work together.

Lexy and I – the last picture we have of us together, and her child that we are cradling is now 16 months old, so…not recent.

And I like hanging out with her friends and I like eating and I like drinking wine. I even like discussing childbirth.

So last night was the first meeting of the non book club, and wouldn’t you know it, we ended up talking about books and what we are all reading right now or have finished lately. For a good half an hour we talked about books at the non-book club.

And then we spent time eating…

IMG_3936

IMG_3938

And drinking wine and talking about childbirth. So just like old times. I am excited for this new group, even if it does just turn back into a book club.

6 responses to “The Non Book Club Book Club (aka the drinking wine and eating club)

  1. Kind of like how the blogger joggers club turned into the drinking beer and eating club? Maybe YOURE the problem 😛

  2. Awe. I’m glad you enjoyed the non-book club, my friends and the food. We enjoyed you being there!! So excited I made it into a post. We must take a new pic some time. So great to see you! Can’t wait for the next non-book club.

  3. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article
    writer for your blog. You have some really great posts and
    I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love
    to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an email if interested. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

