Kitchen renovations and the one time front row seats aren’t good

Evan and I had been talking a lot recently about the impending kitchen reno, and when we were going to do this, and how we were going to squeeze it in before Christmas… Evan and his brother have their own renovation company (I’ve mentioned this before), and they specialize in tile, floors, and paint, so this is their thing. Right up their alley. The problem is they are busy, and everyone I’ve talked to whose spouse is a contractor says that yes, they are handy, but the downside is they are always doing all the renos for everyone else and it is difficult to find the time to get the work done in their own house. I can see this. The kitchen has been in limbo for a while and I know the boys have been wanting to just get it done for at least a year, but they are always completely booked (which, lucky for them!). Anyway, Evan mentioned on Thursday night that they could maybe start the kitchen this week, so on Friday I assumed they would be finishing up other projects. Evan warned me via text before I came home on Friday that the condo was a mess, but “a mess” to Evan usually means that there’s a few dirty dishes on the counter, so I didn’t pay too much attention to that.

I was not prepared to come home to this:

IMG_4891

IMG_4886

For a bit of context that space normally looks like this:

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 8.23.20 PM

So a bit of a difference there.

escalated-quickly

I guess Evan and Brotherman decided that they also needed to redo some pieces of the floor before they laid the new tile down in the kitchen. Some of the laminate was damaged, and they had extra, so might as well replace the bad pieces, and to do that it’s best to replace the whole thing. They had moved all our stuff to the living area and into the office and guest room.

IMG_4889

Surprisingly, my reaction was one of pure joy and not panic. This is probably the only instance I can think of that I would walk into a situation like this and not be worried that we don’t have a floor and that our belongings are in chaos. Evan and Brotherman asked me if I felt stressed about this and I said absolutely not, and I could not be more excited. I am so beyond excited that in about a week we are really going to have a new kitchen, the 70s chevron wallpaper and the dirty vinyl floor will be gone, and our living area will be cleared so we can get a Christmas tree. Plus, I trust Evan and Brotherman. I know they do amazing work and everything is going to look great. I seriously could come home to our entire condo trashed and the walls in a heap on the floor, and I would trust Evan that he would make it okay.

Also, Brotherman brought me flowers. So that certainly helped.

IMG_4888
Such a nice and thoughtful Brotherman.

While the boys cleaned up, I organized so that we could have at least a bit of living space for the week while this is all going down.

IMG_4897

It’s actually pretty cozy in our living area.

IMG_4900

Evan and I said that we feel like we are in a fort.

On Saturday evening we took a break from the reno’s and went out for dinner with our friends Renée and Dustin.

IMG_4909

Oh wait…

IMG_4913

That is more appropriate.

IMG_4915

We went to Boston Pizza and we ate a lot.

IMG_4908

I ordered the 7 cheese ravioli and you’d think that I would be prepared for the amount of cheese in it (7 cheese probably should have clued me in), but it was actually a bit more cheese heavy than I expected. And delicious. It was definitely delicious.

We were seeing a movie afterwards with our friends Dawn and Mark, but we had lots of time and had a leisurely dinner. The movie theatre was next door and we were seeing Dumb and Dumber To, so we assumed it would not be busy because it had been out for a week, and also Mockingjay (which I also really want to see) had just come out, so we thought everyone would be flocking to that. After dinner, we went to the theatre and lollygagged around in the lobby…

IMG_4917

…stood around and chatted for a while, had bathroom breaks, etc, before finally making our way into the theatre just before the movie started. This was a bad call. This time-wasting that we all participated in would prove to be the fatal error of the evening. By the time we made it into the theatre, the only seats left were in the very front row. I have not sat in the very front row for a movie since high school when I saw The Ring, and I forgot how absolutely terrible it is.

IMG_4919

Also Corner Gas: The Movie – who thought that would be a good idea?

 

I am not sure how they can even put seats that close to the screen. It was ridiculous, nearly impossible to watch.

IMG_4921

You had to crane your neck to see anything. Or you could use Evan’s method of lying down in your seat…

IMG_4927

Though I am not sure it worked out any better for him.

And the screen is concave, so it felt like we were in a fishbowl. In the middle of the screen, everything was distorted. At one point Lloyd’s daughter’s jaw was about a foot to the right of the rest of her face. So I do not recommend sitting in the front row. We didn’t see Mockingjay because we thought it would be too busy, but I bet we would have had the same seats. Oh well, lesson learned. And still pretty good times, to be honest…

IMG_4925
I thought Dumb and Dumber To was very funny. I was feeling giddy in general because of the company, the beer at dinner, and whole front row situation, so that may have had something to do with me liking the movie. It was incredibly stupid, no doubt. But several times I was laughing so hard I was crying. I didn’t expect it to be as good as the first Dumb and Dumber (which I will probably quote until the day I die), and it wasn’t, but it was better than I was expecting. Definitely  better than Dumber and Dumberer (but I never finished that movie so don’t take my word for that).

But definitely a fun night. We spent Sunday clearing out the kitchen, tearing down the 70s wallpaper (it smelled like old musty basement), and actually demoing some cabinets, but I won’t bore you with the details. Yet. I will bore you with them eventually.

9 responses to “Kitchen renovations and the one time front row seats aren’t good

  1. I’m so jealous. I HATE my kitchen and complain to hubs about it every day…but he is NOT handy at all. Despite that, we were chatting about it last night and decided we might tackle it to try to have it ready for Christmas. We need to paint the cupboards and put in a back splash. I’d love a new counter, but I don’t think it’s in the budget. I’m terrified of how much work this might be, but so excited to get a new look. Fingers crossed it works out! Can’t wait to see your finished product. I’m sure it will look great based on all the other reno stuff you’ve shown that Evan has done.

    • That’s not so bad, I feel like you could tackle that. However if you need any help backsplashes are Evan’s specialty!
      We are doing our kitchen on the super cheap, so I hear ya. Now we are on a hunt for a microwave hood from Kijiji.
      I can’t wait to see the finished product either!!!

  2. Can’t wait to see the after photo when it’s completed!

  3. Look at that city view fancy pantsy!
    And you are NOT boring me with renovations. I love seeing Evan’s work! BRING IT ON!

  4. Aaaaah, if I ever have to sit front row (or in any way that’s close at all), I will leave the theatre. The last time I sat front row was when I saw 13 Going On 30 and I thought Jennifer Garner had gained a lot of weight for the movie… turns out NOT, lol.

  5. We definitely need details. Lots of them. I’m sure that wallpaper wasn’t awesome in person, but it comes across kind of cute in pictures!

    Unrelated to above, but related to the post, the only time I’ve seen a movie front row was Saving Private Ryan in like late middle school/early highschool. It was.. intense. Never. again.

Leave a Reply

