Christmas Came Early!

Hello and welcome to THE BUSIEST WEEK OF THE YEAR! In my opinion anyway. I always find this week to be the busiest every year. Trying to wrap up all the work things before the holidays, squeezing in the weeknight holiday parties (our condo’s Christmas party was last night and that was a hilarious evening filled with bad karaoke but good cheese), holiday baking, and trying to get your own house hostable for parties = busy times. And I don’t even have real responsibilities like children.

But Christmas really did come early this year. After the painting party on Saturday, Evan and I got ready and headed to my dad and Mona’s for our annual Christmas dinner. Just a week and a half early. My dad and Mona are going to Florida for the holidays so we decided to bump up our family celebration.

IMG_5426

It worked out well having it early. We also have Christmas dinners happening with Evan’s family on Christmas and Boxing Day, so I personally enjoy spreading out the turkey love. So do my pants. I have a bit of time to recover before round 2 and then round 3.

IMG_5425

My dad made us all drinks when we arrived. He had quite the Caesar bar going on.

IMG_5430

I love that vodka clamato deliciousness.

Ritson was in his festive gear…

IMG_5432

Santa wasn’t quite staying upright, but he looked like he was having a good ride.

And the kids made a fort in the mound of presents.

IMG_5436

I miss being a kid so much sometimes. And sometimes I feel like I would rather hang out with kids than adults.

The traditional order of activities at my family’s holiday gathering each year is drinks + catch-up – dinner – presents – dessert. Dinner was amazing.

IMG_5439

Yes, mashed potato volcano always.

And that was before I added a giant piece of ham that covered everything on my plate (and by the way Mona, Evan and I were talking afterwards how that might have been the best ham we’ve ever had). God I love Christmas dinner so much. I wonder if I would burn out on it if I ate it every day. I don’t know, but if I was on death row I’m pretty sure that’s what I would request as my last meal.

Mona is a big fan of me being safe while I am out at night, so last year she got me a sneaky siren that attached to my purse and I could pull if I was being harassed (never had to use it, touch wood). This year, she stepped it up:

IMG_5444

A megaphone. A real deal, loud megaphone, complete with a siren. Even better than that little one we were taking around with us in Boston. This may be the best gift I have ever received. I am very excited to try it out (I mean out somewhere, I have been trying it out at home on Evan and Winnie all week, they like it).

Speaking of Evan, he got some really fabulous gifts for the kitchen. His gifts were mostly related to cooking which is PERFECT for him and he genuinely loved them. But I thought it was funny that Evan gets all the kitchen gifts and I get fun things like megaphones. One of his awesome presents was this wonderful breakfast sandwich maker.

IMG_5447

I’m pretty sure everyone was jealous of it. We actually tried it out on Sunday morning…

IMG_5472

IMG_5476

IMG_5477

Perfect. It works better than expected. If you’re looking for a last minute gift for someone I recommend that thing for sure. Say goodbye to boring breakfasts!

But back to Christmas. Can you tell my dad’s favourite team?

IMG_5454

Is it the Maple Leafs?!

He’s pretty easy to buy for. I told him he needs to bust out that giant hand while he is watching the game alone in his basement. He loves his Habs.

My stepbrother’s girlfriend Leslie and I with our oranges…

IMG_5467

I do not know why…

And dessert:

IMG_5469

Evan’s grandma’s apple cake made by Evan, cupcakes made my Mona’s daughter, fudge made by Leslie, ice cream. All good things.

We had a such a great night. I am thankful that my dad and Mona are so welcoming to Evan, and I always really enjoy hanging with Mona’s family. Mona’s daughter’s husband (so my step brother in law I guess?) makes me laugh pretty hard with his straight-faced dry humour.

Sunday was Emily and Corey’s holiday open house, or the jingle and mingle. And here we have the best thing about the holidays:

IMG_5482

The food tables. Oh lord the food tables. Emily is notorious for her ridiculous food spreads, and I feel like she even stepped it up for the holidays. I planted myself in front of that table and went to town. And that picture was taken before the Oriental Party Pack from M&M’s made an appearance.

Emily and Corey’s doberman Ace was looking cute in his Christmas jammies…

IMG_5483

Onesies look good on everyone.

Evan did not come with me because that man is busy. Poor guy. I feel like the busiest bitch who ever busied this week, and he seems to have a million more things to do than I do. But after I got home from the party we headed out to the majestic forest, also known as the Ikea Christmas tree lot, to FINALLY get our Christmas tree!

IMG_5484 IMG_5486

Finally! I feel like we are the last ones to get a tree! I really wanted to go out and cut our own as we did last year, but time was not on our side. The trees all looked the same at Ikea, but I feel like we picked a good one.

IMG_5492

And then we busted out the decorations and discovered that we were not very organized in putting them away last year…

IMG_5494

That was a bit of a tangled mess. Like iPhone headphones times a million. But we got it.

IMG_5500

All is well. And I finally feel ready for the holidays to happen.

8 responses to “Christmas Came Early!

  1. OMG thank you for the breakfast sandwich maker idea! I was REALLY stuck on what to get someone and I think that is perfect!

  2. We had Christmas dinner last weekend too (my mom does it 2 weeks in advance so all 5 kids can make it), though we had roast beef, salmon, and scallop potatoes. Delish, but I am jealous of your turkey, stuffing, and mashed taters. Need Christmas dinner to come faster!!!

    also, your tree is very nice! My building doesnt allow real trees. something about pine needles in the elevator shaft.

    • It worked so well that we might start doing it every year! I am pretty jealous of your scalloped potatoes, I have to say. Those are my FAVE.

      Interesting about real trees, I haven’t heard that before. I don’t think we have any rules about it, but I didn’t actually check on that… Ah well.

  3. Thank you for your kind words, it is so special to us with our get togethers!
    Your tree is beautiful.

    Have a great Holiday season!

    PS- we love Evan!!!

  4. You had the Christmas of all Christmases!

  5. Ohhh. All the food!!! And that breakfast sandwich maker is the best! I want one!

Leave a Reply

