Experiences of 2014

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

I stayed in last night for the first New Year’s Eve since probably high school. There were some parties going on (which I much prefer to bars) but this holiday has been so busy I really just wanted to leisure. Evan and I finally saw Mockingjay in theatres (I loved it), and then came home and hung out. It was great.

I’ll spare you the details of my New Years resolutions because they’re not that exciting. Typical saving money, clean up my diet, commit to the gym, all that good stuff. But one secret resolution I had for 2014 was to make travel and experiences a priority. For years traveling was on the back burner for me because I felt like I always had more pressing things I needed to save my money for. School, house buying, rent, car, etc. There was always something. I regret this. I very much regret not traveling when I was younger. I could have saved for it while also in school, but I didn’t. I didn’t make it a priority. However, the travel bug finally bit me in 2013 starting with Dawn’s wedding in Jamaica, and I am happy to report that 2014 was my year best traveled.

Last year for my year in review I did a Top Memories of 2013, so in keeping with my theme, here are my top experiences of 2014.

Favourite Experiences of 2014

I finally saw the Lion King!

img_0074

Jack Johnson concert with Evan.

img_02961

Adventures in Cuba with Evan, Brotherman, Kelly, and her family.

img_0417

img_0505

img_0587

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also getting goosed by a dolphin while in Cuba…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our trip out west to visit my mom and Eric.

img_0752

Including Canada Day with my family on Shuswap Lake…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Doing all the mountain things in Banff

img_1308

img_1252

And meeting up with Lisa and Crystal for Stampede shenanigans in Calgary

img_1600

img_14671

img_1626

img_1568

img_1561

Our girls’ road trip to Boston for a Jays game!

img_2201

And being total Boston tourists for a day…

img_2103

img_2106

img_2184

My wonderful Nana turned 100. 100 years young!!!

img_1706

img_1702

img_1691

So much cheers to her.

Lakeside reunions with my childhood friend Melissa, and our moms.

img_2417

IMG_2361

Camping at the beautiful Bruce Peninsula (and having Bolt with us for this experience!)

img_3084 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Brotherman and Kelly get hitched!

img_2682

img_2844

Emily’s last sail before the veil in Montreal.

img_3574

img_3580

img_3424

Bahamas!!!

img_4060

With my coworkers and their spouses.

img_08501

Emily and I on the Steven and Chris show

img_5047

Redoing the kitchen!

img_47801 img_5542

And a romantic getaway with Evan at Pine Vista resort, which just happened this week so I haven’t blogged about it yet, but it was the perfect ending to my year.

IMG_5853

I honestly did not realize how great my year was until I went looking back through my blog to write this. This is truly why I love blogging. My experiences are very important to me and I really love to share them. Thank you so much for reading and letting me share my shenanigans with you. More to come in 2015!

And if your 2014 wasn’t great, may your 2015 be a million times better. We’ve all been there with the crap years. Don’t even get me started on 2012.

8 responses to “Experiences of 2014

  1. Lovely recap! 2014 was hard. 2015 will be much better. Who knows…maybe I’ll even break out the clay again! 😉

  2. what a fun year for you! love seeing all your adventures and thanks for the advice you sent me this year… here’s hoping to a bright and happy 2015! 🙂

  3. I love following your blog and it looks like you had an awesome year! Random question: where did you get your polka dot dress? It’s adorable!

  4. Thanks so much for sharing your year with us! So glad you had an amazing year and best wishes for an even better 2015!

Leave a Reply

