Bowling, Kitchen Carts and Spanish Tortillas

I don’t know how to tell you this but I feel like my blog is going to be pretty boring over the next few weeks. Not that I think my blog is usually exceptionally riveting or anything, but my big annual event is coming up at work, so January is my super insane busy time and this makes my blog suffer. I’m aiming for three posts a week, so fingers crossed I can keep that up.

We are still doing this Whole30 thing. We are almost at the two week mark and have not cheated at all, so I will have a recap on that coming up (content, yay!) because we are experiencing some pretty good side effects over here. On Saturday we had Evan’s friend Ian over for dinner and this is the first time we have entertained since this lifestyle change we have embarked on. I understand that most people still like to eat grains and dairy (I don’t want to start thinking they are bad either, it’s just 30 days!), so we tried to go with a dinner that would work for everyone.

IMG_6031

Spaghetti squash and Evan’s meat sauce. Ian had regular noodles, and our cheese drawer is miraculously still full of cheese even though I tried to take care of that (by eating it)  before January 1st, so Ian was able to find some fresh parmesan in there. No parmesan on my squash, but that is alright. A few years ago if you told me that spaghetti squash was as satisfying as spaghetti I would have laughed in your face but I don’t know what is going on lately because I like it. I don’t think I was cooking it long enough before because the squash was still on the crunchy side. But if you do it right, spaghetti squash is a good time!

Afterwards we went glow-in-the-dark bowling with 10 of Evan and Ian’s friends.

IMG_6036

Evan after leaving just one pin behind…

I confirmed that I am very, very bad at 10 pin bowling. I wasn’t dead last, but I was pretty close. Sometimes I will surprise myself and pull a strike out of nowhere, but it is a total fluke. I wouldn’t be able to do it again if I was trying. It only happens when I’m not expecting it. It is also too bad I wasn’t drinking, because I tend to get better at bowling the more beer I consume. And mostly everyone was drinking, so I cannot lie, that was tempting. But Evan and I stuck to our water and I was happy about that the next morning.

I also had a moment where I tried to use a ball with finger holes that were too big for me (which was a surprise as my fingers are pretty fat), and it slipped out of my hand when I brought my arm back and rolled behind me instead of down the lane. So that was funny for everyone, of course. It could have been worse.

Bowling PBA Trip
We spent most of Sunday cooking and food prepping. Exciting, I know. Evan and I have been listening to podcasts while we are cooking though, and that makes it kind of fun.

We spent two hours on Sunday morning making this delicious specimen for brunch.

IMG_6044

A Spanish tortilla (recipe there). It is made with eggs, potatoes, onions, garlic and olive oil, so it is Whole30 compliant, which is great. Although the potatoes are sort of deep fried in the olive oil so it is not exactly the epitome of healthy. But it was amazing and totally worth the two hours.

IMG_6045

IMG_6048

It wasn’t overly difficult to make, but it was incredibly time consuming. But I also had it today and yesterday for breakfast, so it is paying for itself.

Also, the best way to cut onions.

IMG_6064

It may look ridiculous but I did not shed a tear!

We also skipped out to Ikea for a bit because we had a $20 coupon to use since we bought our tree there, and we were on the hunt for a kitchen cart. This one specifically:

forhoja-kitchen-cart__38532_PE130363_S4

 

We brought it home and Evan seemed to really enjoy putting it together…

IMG_6054

IMG_6057

Et voila. Kitchen cart.

IMG_6059

 

I love it!! We may eventually paint it, or Evan is thinking of making a tile top for it using tiles that match our turquoise wall. But for now it’s fine as it is. The extra storage space is great, since previously all those fruits and vegetables were just hanging out on the counter.

So that is that. My uneventful weekend. Hope yours was great!

4 responses to “Bowling, Kitchen Carts and Spanish Tortillas

  1. There are three things that I am better at after I’ve had 2 -3 beers: darts, pool, and bowling.
    I love the idea of a tile top for the cart!!
    Goggles are a fantastic idea for onions. I’m the worst with cutting onions. Now for recipes, I’ve discovered that Safeway sells chopped onions. Like a bag of Safeway brand chopped onions in the freezer section. I now use that for recipes that are being cooked. Casseroles, soups, etc.

    • Those are the three things I am better at the more beers I’ve had too!!
      I have had those chopped onions before and they were super convenient…but I felt like they didn’t taste quite the same as fresh onions so I haven’t bought them again. I totally forgot about them though, I may have to pick some up.

  2. Hahaha my dad always wore swimming goggles when cutting onions and all my friends thought it was so weird. Glad to know he’s not alone!

Leave a Reply

